**This post may contain affiliate links. I may be compensated if you use them.

**Note that this review was written in 2015 and has not been updated since. I have NOT tested Roam Mobility since then. Many users have reported multiple issues with service recently. I personally now use KnowRoaming for my data needs when travelling now.

Canadians for many years have been complaining about the cost of data charges when travelling to the U.S. If you didn’t purchase a roaming package in advance and started using data when travelling, you would have been hit with massive charges when you returned home.

Well after many complaints from the public, the major telecom companies introduced reasonably priced roaming charges, but there are even cheaper options available. You’ll need an unlocked phone, but the rates Roam Mobility offers to Canadians travelling to the United States and Mexico really are the cheapest options. See below for a breakdown of the service, my Roam Mobility review.

Win a roam mobility sim card

What is Roam Mobility

Roam Mobility is a wireless network that you connect to by purchasing one of their SIM cards for just $9.95. Getting a SIM is pretty easy since you can order it online or purchase it in store from a variety of retailers. Once you have the SIM, go online to RoamMobility.com to activate it and you’ll instantly be assigned a U.S. number. You now own that number so you can re-use it every time you travel.

Talk, text, and data plans are purchased in advance online directly from your account. Just pick your start date and you’ll be connected as soon as you reach your destination. Enjoy long-distance calling to Canada, global texting, and data at one low price.

The price of the plans are as follows:

  • Text + Data – $1.95 per day – 2G data speeds
  • Talk + Text – $$2.95 per day
  • Talk + Text + Data – $3.95 per day – 4G / LTE data speeds

Plans are just $1 a day after the first 14 days. Regardless of which plan you pick, Roam Mobility offers the cheapest roaming data rates for Canadians visiting the United States and Mexico. As mentioned your phone does need to be unlocked – which can be done by your carrier for a small fee. If you prefer to have a separate travelling phone, you can purchase unlocked handsets directly from Roam Mobility.

Although their coverage is quite good in the United States and Mexico, you still want to check their coverage map to make sure you’ll be covered in the areas you’ll be heading to. Long-distance calls to Canada are free, but you won’t be able to make international long-distance calls.

My experience with Roam Mobility

Before my recent trip to Chicago, Roam Mobility sent me one of their SIM cards to test out. I already knew their rates were excellent, so I was more interested to see how easy it was to get it set up, and how reliable the service.

Activating my SIM card, and selecting a plan for my travels took just a few minutes. I prefer to have faster data speeds so I went with the Talk + Text + Data plan which cost me about $16 total for my 4-day trip. I mentioned that Canadian cellular companies offer roaming data plans which are reasonably priced, but they don’t offer it to all customers. You need to have a specific plan with your home carrier to get access to roaming packages, but with Roam Mobility, it doesn’t matter what plan or what carrier you use; everyone gets charged the same rates.

Once I landed in Chicago I simply set my phone to use Roam Mobility’s network and I had instant access to the internet.  Overall I had decent coverage, but there were times when my data speeds decreased. I suspect that was most likely due to the fact that the area I was in had limited cellular coverage e.g. inside buildings with lots of concrete so to be fair, it was probably no fault of Roam Mobility.

Once I returned home I simply swapped my home SIM back in and was back on my own network within minutes. Since the Roam Mobility SIM can be reused, I just put it away in a safe place so I could use it again the next time I travel to the U.S. or Mexico. The SIM card does expire after 365 days of inactivity, but by purchasing the cheapest plan once a year for a day, I can keep my account active.

I was quite happy with the service provided by Roam Mobility and I would recommend it to other Canadians who travel down to the U.S. and Mexico.

21 Comments

  1. Ken C on November 26, 2015 at 8:44 AM

    I know Wind Mobile has only a small part of the cell phone market. Depending on where you live in Canada, it is an excellent option for your mobile carrier. You can’t beat their $15/month add-on for US Roaming. When I travel to the US, I simply add this feature to my account. Then I enjoy unlimited voice, text AND data (while keeping my own phone number)! $15 flat rate for entire 30 day period. No other company can come close to beating that!!!

    • Barry Choi on November 26, 2015 at 9:04 AM

      Ken,

      Yes Wind has some great plans since you can add on the US roaming at a reasonable price compared to other companies.

      The Roam mobility SIM is perfect for people who are making short trips to the U.S. or use a network besides Wind.

    • Jordan on September 8, 2019 at 7:19 PM

      Roam mobility worst customer service ever. Put in a ticket in July it’s not September and still haven’t yet to be contacted them. I’ve cut up my SIM card and will just leave the services with my Canadian phone company when I cross. Was trying to avoid paying the high prices daily from the phone company but have been given no other choices.

  2. Les Leader on January 24, 2016 at 3:05 PM

    do you know of any comparable plans for use in Europe (especially UK and Italy)?
    Do you perhaps plan to do such a review?

    • Barry Choi on January 24, 2016 at 3:07 PM

      Les,

      You won’t be able to get anything that cheap in Europe, but that being said you’re better off getting a local prepaid SIM card when you land from one of the major providers, or to use Know Roaming.

  3. Peter on August 3, 2016 at 9:33 PM

    I am now in Portland, Maine, and my data plan doesn’t work. Explanation from roam mobility : i need an LTE phone for that area. They cant tell me if this will append in other area. I will not use this company next time.

  4. Maureen on December 18, 2017 at 9:58 PM

    This is the 3rd year I have used roam mobility. I will not use them if I go to Arizona again very sporty coverage at best really disappointed.

    • Barry Choi on December 18, 2017 at 10:01 PM

      Another option to consider is KnowRoaming.

  5. Sarah on July 14, 2018 at 2:07 AM

    This service is shit ! I bought a sim and a month plan off a referral from someone who used it a few years ago. Their website isn’t clear to the average phone user about if you will have service with them. Got the card, got a plan, did two hours of trouble shooting (no live agents available btw, so all off their dumb website), finally got an email back saying my phone doesn’t work on their network in that area. The person spoke to me like an idiot also, just kept stating the same reason over and over. They refuse to refund the $40 I spent on a service that was doomed from the get go. They are obviously struggling to stay afloat! Use US mobile if you can, they are great! Stay away from Roam

  6. iron claw on October 13, 2018 at 7:28 AM

    Sucks ass . Didn’t work worth a shit , No connection I have a note 8 . I went to Costa Rica same phone I got a sim card there works great 3G no problem . roam didn’t work in the USA Michigan ,once it came up with E .
    What a fucking joke waste of money

  7. Patricia W. on January 15, 2019 at 6:04 PM

    I bought the 6 month snowbird plan and I’m staying in Yuma Arizona. I know of 3 other couples using roam mobility and we all agree it SUCKS. It either cut s out when you’re on the phone, the internet is extremely slow, we cannot get service inside some of the buildings here, the worse part of all of us have consistently at least 3-5 times a day getting automated telemarketing. We even used the site to stop the spamming within 30 days and the calls might have dropped down to 2-4 a day.
    I used at&t last year when we came here, although its a bit more money , I definitely will be going that route next year.

  8. Janet Nentwig on March 25, 2019 at 2:25 PM

    I do not recommend Roam Mobility. I purchased two gigs which are used only for a few emails and a brief Internet search. Everything was turned off that could be turned off to ensure I would not accidentally incur extra bites. Within a day it was used up. I issued a help ticket. I purchased another two gigs so I could see their reply. I am now a week in and still no reply despite reminders. My second two gigs was used up in a day. I do not understand why. There is no phone number for customer service. I have now spent $60 for maybe 10 emails and five minutes on an Internet search. I am a Canadian traveller in the US.

  9. Kevlin on March 27, 2019 at 10:55 AM

    Roam mobility is a completely robber. I purchased three days data but no internet connection at all. I then emailed them and they admitted that there was data outage during those days. But guess what? they said sorry for the inconvenience, but refused to refund me, although it’s their fault.

    • Keith on April 3, 2019 at 1:31 PM

      Was it around February 15?

  10. Bryan A. on March 29, 2019 at 12:48 PM

    NO Customer Service: No customer service number, No email response
    It works but the customer services is none existent. I recently got the talk and data plan for my trip to the US. I had to top up the data and paid more to data but as soon as I got the data all the calling features were cancelled. This happened on the second day of my trip. I lodged an online request to fix the issue. The only response I got back from them that they would get back to me within 3 days. I’m back in Canada and I still haven’t heard from them. $60 wasted. It’s better to pay a little more per day and get proper service. I’m not a big fan of the big telcos but at least they have customer service.

  11. Keith on April 3, 2019 at 1:29 PM

    I have used Roam sims in the US several times with no problem.
    Until last time. I went on a trip to the States in February with my family. Got 4 sims total. They didn’t work for the entire week we were there. Took 3 days to get an email response from support. They said it was a problem with their US “partners”. I did receive a refund but had to pay extra for using my Canadian data.

  12. Jim Irwin on April 25, 2019 at 10:39 AM

    Apparently the Roam service has deteriorated since this article was written in 2015. Have a look at Yelp. Almost nothing but 1 star reviews and that is only because you can’t give 0 stars. In my own case, my wife is currently stuck down in that States with no phone and the status of her account on the Roam activation website is stuck on “pending”. I have opened a ticket and I received an email stating that they try to respond within 3 days. What a joke! Their customer service is essentially non-existent. Save your money. Go somewhere else.

  13. Mudwomp on July 22, 2019 at 8:34 PM

    I have to agree with the people that have experienced poor to NO service. I purchased the 2-pack and neither SIM worked in Nashville. I tried to contact support but after 3 days without them getting back to me, I went and purchased a local SIM.

    I’d never recommend this company to anyone, ever.

  14. zhi on August 27, 2019 at 4:07 PM

    don’t waste your money in this company. I bought 4days plan and new sim card heading to Montana,since first day I enter the USA till I left, my phone always shows “No service”. I sent the company a ticket, so far it is already 6 days, I got no answer. No customer service, No email, No phone call. If you can use it in the USA, you are lucky. But I don’t suggest the first time user to try your luck on this company. Don’t believe in the coverage map they provide on it’s website. Garbage.

  15. Holy Moly on September 28, 2019 at 7:39 PM

    Roam Mobility is excellent at taking your money without providing much in return. Heed the reviews her, on Google, Reddit and Yelp. They have a beautifully laid out website. The SIMCard will arrive quickly. The activation process is easy and quick. The USA coverage map is reassuring.

    Then you cross the border and it probably will not work. For other reviewers nothing at all. If your are very lucky it might work. For me I paid upfront for 7 days with data and it worked for a moment on day 2 and day 6. No Data, just 2 bars that allowed me to squeeze out text messages that we are alive to our families.

    Avoid unless you enjoy disappointment.

  16. Joe on October 14, 2019 at 4:48 PM

    Wow, I just read all the reviews and they are not good! We purchase a snowbird package earlier this year. I echo many of the comments. The most important of which is Customer Service. It is practically non-existent. No phone number. No response time. I put in a request and a ticket several months ago and still no response. These are serious comments. I will definitely shop around this year. I hope you are listening Roam Mobility. Does anyone know if they are still in business?

Leave a Comment