If you fly WestJet on a regular basis or even if you fly them once a year, you’ll want to learn more about their loyalty program known as WestJet Rewards. What many people don’t realize is that it’s a cash back type of rewards program so it’s easy to understand. There are no blackout dates or redemption schedules to worry about, you just claim your WestJet dollars on whatever you want which is why WestJet Rewards is one of the best travel rewards programs in Canada

Redemptions start at just $15 WestJet dollars so it’s easy to use your dollars right away. What’s even more impressive is that WestJet has consistently made improvements to their rewards program. This is a huge deal since most loyalty programs devalue what’s already available. Clearly WetJet is trying to lure away some Aeroplan users. Read my WestJet Rewards review now and find out how to maximize the program.

westjet rewards review

How to earn WestJet dollars

When travellers spend money on WestJet flights, WestJet vacation packages, or cars and hotels booked on westjet.com, they’ll earn 0.5% – 8% cash-back in WestJet dollars depending on their tier. This may sound complicated, but it’s pretty straightforward since everything is tied to tiers.

Tiers are structured around how much you spend within a 12-month qualifying period. The more you spend, the higher your tier status becomes. The higher your status is, the better your rewards are.

  • Teal status earns you 1% in WestJet dollars up to $2,999 in spend
  • Silver status earns you 3% in WestJet dollars from $3,000 – $4,999 in spend
  • Gold status earns you 5% in WestJet dollars from $5,000 – $7,999 in spend
  • Platinum status earns you 8% in WestJet dollars and kicks in one you spend $8,000

One of the major improvements to the WestJet Rewards program is that you now maintain your status for the following year. You do need to maintain the qualifying flight spend in each successive year, but you no longer reset to teal like before. See the below chart for a full breakdown of the different status tiers.

WestJet Rewards Tier new

Additional benefits with WestJet Rewards

With the expansion of WestJet Rewards reciprocal frequent flyer agreements, you can now book flights with Delta, Qantas, Air France and LKM on select routes through WestJet’s Member Exclusive Fares. This new benefit allows members to claim their WestJet dollars on select Delta, Qantas, Air France and LKM flights to over 50 destinations. The only “catch” is that you must have enough WestJet dollars to cover the entire flight (before taxes), so you can’t claim say just $200 for a flight that costs $600 and pay the difference. You can also earn WestJet Rewards when flying with one of their partners.

To be clear, having enough WestJet Dollars to cover the entire flight only applies to select routes via Delta, Qantas, Air France and LKM. If you’re booking a WestJet operated flight, you only need $15 WestJet dollars to make a redemption. 

Don’t worry if you’re short on WestJet dollars, you can purchase as few as $25 and up to a maximum of $3,000. The cost to purchase WestJet dollars starts at $29 for $25 but prices decrease if you need more. 

Naturally, Silver and Gold tier members get the first right to any seat upgrades, but they also each get some extra benefits that are quite valuable.

Additional Silver tier benefits

  • Two checked bags free
  • 4 airport lounge vouchers
  • 4 advance seat selection vouchers
  • Priority check-in and bag drop
  • Zone 2 boarding
  • Canada-wide companion voucher (when $4,000 spend is reached)

Additional Gold tier benefits

  • Two checked bags free
  • 10 airport lounge vouchers
  • 6 advance seat selection vouchers
  • Priority check-in and bag drop at select airports
  • Priority security screening at select airports
  • Early access to purchase upgrades to premium seating
  • Zone 1 boarding
  • Higher priority for complimentary upgrades to premium seats with the purchase of EconoFlex fares
  • No fee for same-day flight changes at check-in

Additional Platinum tier benefits

  • Three free checked bags
  • Unlimited advanced seat selection
  • 10 airport lounge vouchers
  • Zone 1 boarding
  • Priority check-in and bag drop at select airports
  • Priority security screening at select airports
  • A dedicated support number
  • Highest priority for complimentary upgrades to premium seats with the purchase of EconoFlex fares
  • No fee for same-day flight changes at check-in

Honestly, that’s a comprehensive list of benefits. With their focus on customer service and rewards, I wouldn’t be surprised if they announce more benefits in the future.

Earn more with the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard

You can increase your earn rate by applying for the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard. Cardholders earn 1.5% in WestJet dollars on everyday purchases and 2% on WestJet flight and vacation purchases. That means you could earn up to 10% in cash-back in WestJet dollars as a Platinum tier member.

The additional benefits and features of the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard are as follows

  • $250 WestJet dollars welcome bonus
  • Annual round-trip companion voucher starting at $119
  • First checked bag free for the primary cardholder and up to 7 additional guests
  • Comprehensive travel insurance package
  • Save 3¢/L on fuel and always earn 20% more Petro-Points when you link your WestJet RBC World Elite MasterCard 
  • Membership access to over 800 airport lounges worldwide with Mastercard Airport Experiences by LoungeKey (fees apply for lounge access)

With these benefits, it’s not hard to see why the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard appeals to people who frequently fly with WestJet. The annual companion voucher alone is worth it as you normally wouldn’t get one until you reach Gold tier status. The $119 annual fee may turn some people off, but considering you’ll get $250 WestJet Dollars as a sign up bonus, there’s really nothing to complain about. As for the free baggage, you get that benefit as long as you’re a cardholder. As in, you don’t even need to pay for your flight with your WestJet Mastercard to get free checked bags which is why this card is one of the best airline credit cards in Canada. If you prefer something with a lower annual fee, check out the WestJet RBC Mastercard.

 

Final thoughts

It should be obvious that my WestJet Rewards review is positive. While most airlines use a points system that can be difficult to make an actual booking, WestJet Rewards has a simple cash back system. If you’re a frequent or even infrequent flyer with WestJet, you should sign up for the program since you only need a minimum of $15 WestJet dollars to make a redemption.

WestJet Rewards Review

75 Comments

  1. Harry on July 20, 2017 at 7:47 AM

    Hi Barry,

    Do you know if you are able to cancel a West Jet Card and then re apply to earn the bonuses for a second time? If so, is there a time period for doing so?

    Thanks for the great posts!

    • Barry Choi on July 20, 2017 at 8:03 AM

      Hi Harry,

      As far as I know, the WestJet RBC World Elite MasterCard does not have a once per lifetime signup bonus so you should be able to reapply for this later if you want. Generally speaking, most cards require 6 months to pass before you can reapply.

    • Bry on August 1, 2020 at 4:10 AM

      That would put a hit on your credit that would make you cringe. Probably not recommended

  2. […] that Air Canada is pulling out of Aeroplan prompted this review of WestJet’s customer loyalty […]

  3. Krista on August 16, 2017 at 8:33 AM

    The WJ rewards program is pretty good value, especially if they’re your preferred carrier. I looked in the RBC card, which has good benefits and pretty terrific travel insurance coverage with one gaping hole: baggage delay and loss. If your free checked bag goes missing while you’re traveling, you are (bleep) out of luck.

    • Barry Choi on August 16, 2017 at 9:09 AM

      Krista,

      Hmmm seems odd that the free checked bag which is a benefit of being a cardholder is not covered by your baggage delay and loss insurance. I need to look into this.

  4. Maxp on August 16, 2017 at 9:10 AM

    I have been WJ gold for years. It’s not as great as you make it. They never upgrade you because their system does not have the capabilities for most routes. They barely have any lounges. – check the list. I’m sitting writing this a day after flying WJ where they could not even accommodate me sitting together with my spouse when we booked the same ticket together. Gold “agents” were not even able to fix this problem for a gold client. The good – cash vs points. Companion tickets. Free 1st luggage.

    • Barry Choi on August 16, 2017 at 9:15 AM

      Maxp,

      Interesting to hear your personal experience on the matter. I wonder if this is a consistent problem? The lack of lounges is definitely an issue, their partners are limited. It would be great if they were able to partner with all Priority Pass lounges in the future.

      • TMC on February 11, 2019 at 3:22 PM

        Not happy at all with the changes. Have been gold for years with platinum spend. Now there is unlimited access to lounges, however I only use the lounges when travelling personally with friends, now I am limited to 2 lounge passes for guests. I had 20 unused vouchers for the lounge, now I only have 2, they actually took away my vouchers for the new program. I only choose my seat when flying personally, again, they took away all of my seat selection vouches. I now have unlimited seat selection personally, but this doesn’t help me when I’m flying with others. If you are flying with others your status means nothing in regards to complementary upgrades as they will not upgrade you if the other passenger is not gold or platinum. I fly Westjet for work because it was a benefit for me personally, now I am researching Air Canada’s rewards. I think if you spend as much as I do on flights you should be happy with the rewards to some extent and I am not.

        • Barry Choi on February 11, 2019 at 4:44 PM

          TMC,

          I can see your frustration. I think WestJet’s intent was to provide more access to their members and their families. For people who like you preferred to use their lounge and seat selection vouchers on friends, the changes negatively affect you.

    • Bry on August 1, 2020 at 4:15 AM

      Hmm they usually only have a issue moving someone to sit with there spouse when you don’t ask at the gate till the very last minute. I get upgraded on every flight that’s not fully booked

  5. Kristen on August 16, 2017 at 12:19 PM

    This is not entirely related to Westjet’s loyalty program. Bit I thought it was worth sharing a slightly different way to earn points.

    In partnership with the federal Public Health Agency of Canada, multiple provincial governments, and other sponsors (e.g., charities), a new and FREE rewards App rewards you financially to improve your health. Talk about the ultimate nudge!

    So in conjunction with other loyalty programs and card, the app helps you:
    –> keep track your daily steps taken,
    –> gives you monetary incentives to walk,
    –> sends you health tips and trivia along with points transferable to dollars via your Petro Canada card, Scene card, or Aeroplan card.

  6. William on August 16, 2017 at 1:49 PM

    How do the rewards program and credit card work together? You make them sound like separate entities.

    • Mary Whyte on August 16, 2017 at 4:34 PM

      Yes, can you earn Silver/Gold status with your credit card spending? (On regular items, not just travel – when we signed up, I was led to believe this was so)

      • Barry Choi on August 16, 2017 at 4:46 PM

        Mary,

        Your credit card spending does NOT apply to silver/gold status unless you’re making purchases on WestJet flights, WestJet vacation packages, or cars and hotels booked on westjet.com.

    • Barry Choi on August 16, 2017 at 4:45 PM

      Hi William,

      The credit card gets tied to your WestJet Rewards account. They’re technically separate, but they work together.

  7. Rudy Sedlak on August 17, 2017 at 11:58 AM

    Annual fee is going to $119 starting Nov 2017, FYI …

  8. Chad on August 18, 2017 at 4:19 PM

    The only problem is… you have to fly WestJet. Yuck.

  9. Ninvic on August 19, 2017 at 9:38 AM

    One drawback to RBC Westjet card, is that for checked luggage fee to be waived, primary card holder has to travel. So if your spouse is not the primary card holder and they travel alone (without primary card holder), they have to pay the fee, even if you have two cards. ($149 per year I think for 2 cards).
    So one downside to the “free checked luggage”.

  10. Cindy on October 14, 2017 at 9:51 AM

    Does anyone know if I need to book my flight with Westjet directly for free baggage or can I use sites such as Expedia.ca? I frequently book WJ one way and need to use another airline for the return so this works for me.

    • Barry Choi on October 14, 2017 at 10:06 AM

      CIndy,

      If you use the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard to book your WestJet flights or have Silver status, then your first checked bag is free regardless of where you booked your ticket.

  11. Jo lee on December 23, 2017 at 5:44 AM

    Can we earn points booking with west jet thru a travel agent also?
    Thanks

    • Barry Choi on December 23, 2017 at 7:26 AM

      Hi Jo,

      Yes you still earn WestJet dollars when booking through a travel agent as long as it’s a fare that can be booked by the public.

  12. gjgjhj on January 22, 2018 at 6:05 PM

    thanks !

  13. Suzanne on February 6, 2018 at 8:01 PM

    Pretty late to this conversation but here’s a question. If I have a companion voucher, and do not use it, will I get another voucher after that one expires? Specifically, I am interested in what is considered an “annual voucher”.

    • Barry Choi on February 6, 2018 at 8:05 PM

      HI Suzanne,

      Usually the companion vouchers are good for one year, so yes, if you don’t use yours, you would get a new one. Annual usually refers to annual date of when you signed up for your credit card.

      • Suzanne on February 6, 2018 at 8:07 PM

        Thanks for the quick response!

  14. Martin P on February 8, 2018 at 12:37 PM

    Be aware and very careful with your WestJet rewards system! I just found out that my account was canceled in 2014 due to the anti-spam legislation yet I have taken WestJet flights every year before and after this date and given them my account number. I have no email proof that it was canceled and have lost at least 20 return flights worth of travel. Please go into your account and cross-check. My account was flagged as ‘for information only’…clever, they kept my info but un-linked my account number. Is that even legal?

  15. Dc on February 24, 2018 at 2:05 PM

    If I book for family of four do I get all west jet rewards or do we all need a reward card?

    • Barry Choi on February 24, 2018 at 4:02 PM

      DC,

      From the WestJet website

      “No. WestJet Rewards is an individual traveller program. Eligible spend will only be applied to the account belonging to the person whose name and WestJet Rewards ID matches those appearing on the booking. This also applies for bookings made for children. To earn WestJet dollars, each individual traveller must join WestJet Rewards and have their own WestJet Rewards ID.”

  16. alan on March 17, 2018 at 2:07 PM

    After trying to contact Westjet on 3 separate occasions on this question- without the courtesy of a reply – I will ask you Barry.

    In regard to the companion fare, if I book an outbound flight and wish to leave the return leg open – as I am unsure of the time away-can this fare be applied ?

    • Barry Choi on March 17, 2018 at 2:14 PM

      Alan,

      Based on the terms and conditions, I would say no (see below). YOu’re not technically booking a roundtrip ticket which is why I don’t think the voucher would apply.

      Valid for one (1) round-trip for the primary cardholder and a companion of their choice travelling on the same itinerary; these vouchers are non-transferable. Maximum one companion voucher may be used per booking.

      Primary cardholder may use the companion voucher only once on their choice of either A) round-trip travel in Canada and the continental U.S. for a $99 base fare B) round-trip travel to/from Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean and Hawaii for a $299 base fare or C) round-trip travel to/from Europe for a $399 base fare. If one-way travel is booked, the full base fare will be charged, the voucher will be deemed fully used and the return portion of travel is forfeited.

  17. lawrence West on March 25, 2018 at 6:08 PM

    How do I GET MY WESTJET dollars summary? I GO TO THE wwwwestjet.com/creditcard and it doesn’t seem to want to show me the balance.

  18. Diane on April 22, 2018 at 1:31 PM

    My husband is the primary cardholder, and I have a card on the same account. It appears to me that my spending is credited as miles to my husband’s account, as the primary cardholder. I do get the companion voucher for one flight a year, but how do I earn westjet miles on my account to spend toward other flights?

    • Barry Choi on April 22, 2018 at 2:51 PM

      Hi Diane,

      You’d have to get your own card to earn WestJet dollars for your own account.

  19. Steve on May 14, 2018 at 9:46 AM

    Hi Barry,

    I travel for work quite a bit and I use the Westjet rewards program over Air Canada as it’s much easier to redeem dollars and 5% Earn rate for Gold status is pretty good plus the perks are good for me like same day flight changes for free, seat vouches, 2 free bags, priority boarding etc.- I also get randomly upgraded to Plus seating fairly often which is a nice surprise.

    I am coming up on my qualifying year at the end of June and I’m only short $153 of the $6K qualifying spend to maintain Gold Status but I’m not planning any travel before July. Do you know if I can book a flight and pay for it and not take it or do I have to get on the flight to have the flight count as “qualifying spend”?

    Or is there any other way to get the qualifying spend like renting a car using my Westjet number?

    Thanks,

  20. Jodie on May 27, 2018 at 6:22 PM

    Hi Barry,
    If I am a westjet mastercard credit card holder AND have silver status, am I allowed 2 free checked bags?

    • Barry Choi on May 27, 2018 at 8:04 PM

      Hi Jodie,

      I suspect the answer is no since both the silver status and WestJet Mastercard state that only the first checked bag is free.

  21. momo on June 18, 2018 at 5:09 AM

    Thanks for this! I’ve been reading around trying to get details on the rewards of this card and your website is the most comprehensive.

    One last piece that I can’t seem to get a straight answer on: is the qualifying spend on WJ flights, car rentals, etc only or is it for any money I put on the card?

    For example I want to travel to Hawaii next Apr and ideally use the companion voucher for my son’s ticket. So both of us flying together at the same time. If I sign up for the card now, in June, and spend $6000 in groceries, gas, bills, whatever else I normally put on a CC, will I be eligible for the companion voucher as soon as I hit $6k? Or does it have to be $6k in WJ flights/car rentals?

    Thanks!

  22. momo on June 18, 2018 at 8:26 AM

    Thanks for the ultra prompt response Barry! And that companion voucher is good for anywhere WJ flies and not just within Canada?

    • Barry Choi on June 18, 2018 at 8:28 AM

      Momo,

      yes anywhere but I believe it goes up to $199 for the U.S. and $299 for international. Still a VERY good value. You get this companion voucher every year so it’s worth hanging on to the WestJet card just for that reason.

  23. J on July 5, 2018 at 10:50 AM

    If my spouse and I both sign up for the card (different applications) would be both receive the $250 WJ dollars and companion voucher? If so, it may be a good option for our family (planning a holiday to the US next year with two adults, two children).

    • Barry Choi on July 5, 2018 at 1:57 PM

      Hi J,

      Yes, you and your wife could both sign up for the card separately and get the companion offers.

      Also note that the RBC Visa infinite currently has a promotion where the first year is free and you get 25K points ($250 value) after your first purchase. Those points can be transferred to WestJet dollars.

      https://www.moneywehave.com/the-best-travel-credit-cards-in-canada/

  24. Gus on July 20, 2018 at 11:09 AM

    Hi. Is the companion ticket issued based on calendar year or anniversary of your card signup after the initial one? Also, if the annual companion ticket goes unused during the first year do you have two to use there to use and so on as years go by or do they expire?

    • Barry Choi on July 20, 2018 at 12:33 PM

      Hi Gus,

      It goes by your anniversary date and does not carry forward. So you basically have one year to use them.

  25. Pierre on July 20, 2018 at 12:59 PM

    Hi. can i use my Westjest dollars (i am the primary card holder) and book and pay a flight for my spouse using these dollars.

    • Barry Choi on July 20, 2018 at 2:55 PM

      Hi Pierre,

      Yes you can use your WestJet dollars to buy your wife a ticket. You just need to put the ticket under her name.

  26. LD on August 14, 2018 at 10:07 PM

    I don’t think it’s that great a program. The problem is they don’t count the majority of their ticket purchases towards their points – only those in a certain fare class. So, it’s not at all easy to get to gold status if you travel a lot. And who books full fare on a discount airline, corporate or personal? I’ve not been impressed, I personally did 8 trips back and forth to eastern canada and the eastern US (from Calgary) in the last calendar year and it wasn’t enough to reach silver status. I’ll stick with Delta for Can/US travel, their point program is better.

    • Barry Choi on August 15, 2018 at 3:51 PM

      Hi LD,

      The way the WestJet Rewards Program works is that it is a dollar qualification for tier. You reach Silver at $3,000 spend and Gold at $6,000.

      Note that only the base fare counts (not taxes). The only fare that doesn’t count towards tier qualification is Econo (lowest) which is similar to AC’s Basic fare and is only available on very select routes.

      Air Canada requires the same ($3,000) qualifying spend for 25K PLUS 25,000 Qualifying Miles or 25 Qualifying Segments. In other words, it’s much easier to earn status on WestJet compared to Air Canada.

  27. Hue on August 20, 2018 at 6:49 PM

    As a frequent traveler with WJ Gold, I have no issues on the free benefits accumulated as you go, basically you get what your tier level states, such as free first 2 checked luggage, Zone 1 boarding, priority check-in, free lounge hours, WJ dollars, even first class seat with choice of drinks/food at no extra charge. Yes you will need to pay the annual fee depends on the WJ credit card you have.
    Compared with AC, the only downfall for WJ is so far WJ doesn’t have a whole lot international routes to choose and redeem your WJ dallors, but I believe they are working on it and expect it happen not just for the business point of view but benefit the diverse members from different origins,

  28. Hue on August 20, 2018 at 7:02 PM

    One most important thing with WJ Gold I forgot mentioned in my previous post, you can change to any flight whenever you need as long as they are in the same date, let’s see when you are late for checking they will resign you to another late flight at your choice whenever available, it happened to me twice and it’s my own fault but simply no hassle they will get you there.
    Am I saying correct, Barry?

    • Barry Choi on August 20, 2018 at 7:56 PM

      Hi Hue,

      Yes, everything you stated about WJ Rewards is accurate which is why it’s one of the best airline rewards programs out there. WestJet has indeed ordered larger planes so they’ll be able to fly to more destinations in the future.

  29. Archie on August 28, 2018 at 9:28 AM

    Hi Barry,

    I am a bit confused by what I can do with WestJet Dollars. Can they only be used towards member exclusive deals? Or can they be used to partially pay regular travel as well? I would like to use the $250 (and some WSD I have earned over the years) to cover my base fare and use the companion voucher to cover my partner’s base fare so I can only pay cash for the taxes and fees. Would this be possible?

    • Barry Choi on August 28, 2018 at 9:33 AM

      Hi Archie,

      Your WestJet Dollars can be used to pay partial fares (not taxes). So yes, you should be able to use your WJD to cover your base fare + companion fare and then pay in cash what’s due.

  30. Valerie on October 9, 2018 at 12:48 AM

    Hi Barry, I’m wondering if you can answer a question re “first bag free” for RBC WestJet Mastercard and up to 8 travelling companions. I have 5 other people that will be traveling with me on an upcoming trip. I spoke with 3 different people at WestJet and got 3 different answers – first said I needed all people on the same reservation to get the free bag, second person said I couldn’t get the free bag for anyone because I used the companion voucher, third person (when I finally booked) said I just have to show my WestJet Mastercard when I’m at the airport and it didn’t matter when they made their reservation as long as they were traveling with me on the same flights. Are you able to confirm? I’m confused.
    Thank you.

    • Barry Choi on October 9, 2018 at 7:51 AM

      Hi Valerie,

      The RBC WestJet World Elite Mastercard terms and conditions states the following.

      “Valid for primary cardholders of the WestJet RBC World Elite MasterCard and up to eight (8) additional guests travelling on the same reservation; not valid for companions when travelling on a group booking (10+ guests on the same reservation). Eligible member’s 9-digit WestJet Rewards ID must be on the reservation at the time of check-in. Valid on itineraries marketed and wholly operated by WestJet; not valid when travelling with WestJet’s code-share or interline partners. ”

      In plain English, this means if you booked the tickets of the 5 other people all on the same itinerary, then they would also all get their first checked bag free. The companion voucher is also included assuming it’s booked by you and on the same itinerary.

      If you booked all the 5 tickets separately, only you would get your baggage free (and your companion voucher if it’s on the same itinerary)

  31. Cindy on November 14, 2018 at 2:23 PM

    Hi Barry,

    Can you advise if you get the free checked bag if you travel on a Delta flight that is operated by WestJet?

    Thanks very much.

    • Barry Choi on November 14, 2018 at 3:00 PM

      Hi Cindy,

      No, only flights that are fully operated by WestJet qualify for the free baggage.

      • Cindy on November 14, 2018 at 3:01 PM

        Thanks very much.

  32. Meena on December 6, 2018 at 7:23 AM

    Hi,

    I was wondering if it’s possible (as the primary cardholder) to book a ticket under someone else’s name and use the voucher on the same itinerary, even though the primary carholder is not travelling? For example booking the tickets for my wife and daughter on my credit card and I pay for it on my statement?

    • Barry Choi on December 6, 2018 at 7:26 AM

      Hi Meena,

      The terms and conditions say it’s only for the primary cardholder.

      Valid for one (1) round-trip for the primary cardholder and a companion of their choice travelling on the same itinerary; these vouchers are non-transferable. Maximum one companion voucher may be used per booking.

      Primary cardholder may use the companion voucher only once on their choice of either A) round-trip travel in Canada and the continental U.S. for a $99 CAD base fare B) round-trip travel to/from Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean and Hawaii for a $299 CAD base fare or C) round-trip travel to/from the rest of the WestJet network for a $399 CAD base fare. If one-way travel is booked, the full base fare will be charged, the voucher

  33. Lise Trudel on December 10, 2018 at 1:14 PM

    Hi Barry, What will happened to my accumulated WJ dollars if I cancelled my credit card Elite MasterCard RBC? My condition changed and I am not travelling enough anymore. Will I be still eligible to a companion voucher for the last year of being a credit card holder?

    • Barry Choi on December 10, 2018 at 1:31 PM

      Lise,

      The WestJet website states the following:

      “Most WestJet dollars no longer expire, but some still will. You can keep tabs on expiry dates, as applicable, by visiting the Expiring WestJet dollars page in your WestJet Rewards account”

      In regards to the companion voucher, typically you lose the voucher when you cancel the card. That being said, if you book a flight and then cancel your card, you would not lose that redemption even if your flight takes place after your credit card cancellation.

  34. Judy on January 6, 2019 at 1:49 PM

    Barry, can I book a flight for my daughter using my Westjet Rewards card so she gets 1 check on luggage free I have done this in past years but this time they say the cardholder name must be the same as the passenger.

    • Barry Choi on January 6, 2019 at 2:05 PM

      Hi Judy,

      The free checked luggage only applies to the primary cardholder and up to 7 additional guests who are booked on the same itinerary. In other words, your daughter would not get her luggage checked for free unless she’s travelling with you under a single reservation.

  35. Judy on January 6, 2019 at 2:22 PM

    Thanks Barry for your quick response

    Judy

  36. cuneyt urkun on March 17, 2019 at 9:11 AM

    Hi Barry, thanks for all this information. I have two questions:

    1 – How many dollars is one westjet rewards point? (I was converting my RBC rewards points and it converted 31,000 RBC Reward points to 321 Westjet Reward points. So I want to know what that means.)

    2- if I apply for the elite card, I get $250 welcome dollars, $299 for a Central America flight, one bag free every flight… I travel once a year to Central America. So I make 250 + 299 + 25 baggage fee = $575 if I get one. I make 575 – 119 (annual fee) = $456 in one year !!! I could even cancel and reapply the following year I guess. Is my calculation correct?

    thanks, john

    thanks,

    • Barry Choi on March 17, 2019 at 10:29 AM

      Hi John,

      WestJet Dollars is a cash back program so they don’t use points. With RBC Avio, you can transfer 1000 avion points for $1 WestJet Dollar. I’m not sure why you get $321 for 31,000, but there may have been a promotion.

      Your calculation is a bit off. You get $250 WestJet dollars as a signup bonus and checked bags are $30 each way. The companion voucher to Central America is $299 + taxes. For argument’s sake, let’s say the taxes are $75. That means you would pay a total of $374 for your flight. If the normal cash price for that fare is $600 then you save $226.

      That means in the first year you would get $250 + $60 + $226. That’s a total of $536 – the annual fee of $119 = $417. This doesn’t factor in the WestJet dollars you would earn on your regular spending and the free baggage you would get for any other flights.

      You could cancel and reapply the following year, but you would only gain $131 but doing that since you still need to pay the annual fee. At a minimum, you’d have to wait 6 months before reapplying so you’re losing out on the cash back you earn on purchases. That to me is not worth it. You’re better off just keeping the card.

  37. Barry McIntosh on July 30, 2019 at 1:40 PM

    Why is Alaska air not mentioned. With Alaska a “mile” does not need to be converted to money. It is a currency on it’s own. 15,000 “miles” take one anywhere in the USA regardless of the fare in dollars

  38. Larry Penner on December 26, 2019 at 3:24 PM

    If I am short $100 on qualifying spend, can I make a direct cash purchase.

    • Barry Choi on December 26, 2019 at 7:21 PM

      Hi Larry,

      I don’t think that’s possible.

Leave a Comment