**This post contains affiliate links

If you’re a frequent WestJet flyer, then the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard is a must for you. To simply put it, WestJet Rewards is one of the best airline loyalty programs out there and the WestJet Mastercard allows you to earn WestJet Dollars at an incredible pace.

In my WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard review, I’ll go over all the details of the card including why it’s one of the best travel rewards credit cards in Canada and if it’s worth applying for if you don’t fly with WestJet on a somewhat regular basis.

WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard review

WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard benefits

  • $119 annual fee
  • $350 WestJet Dollars sign up bonus after your first purchase 
  • Earn 2% back in WestJet dollars on WestJet flights or WestJet Vacations packages
  • Earn 1.5% back in WestJet dollars on everyday purchases
  • Receive an annual round-trip companion voucher starting at $119
  • Save 3¢/L on fuel and always earn 20% more Petro-Points when you link your WestJet RBC World Elite MasterCard
  • Free first checked bags for the primary cardholder (up to 8 bags on the same reservation)
  • Some travel insurance included
  • Purchase security and extended warranty insurance
  • Mastercard Airport Experiences provided by LoungeKey

As you can see, the WestJet World Elite Mastercard comes packed with features that easily rivals any of the best travel credit cards in Canada. What makes this card different is the fact that you earn WestJet Dollars as opposed to points. If you’re a WestJet frequent flyer, then this is an incredible value since you’ll consistently be earning WestJet dollars on your everyday purchases. Remember, with WestJet Rewards, there are no blackout dates or seat restrictions. Plus, you only require $15 WestJet dollars to make a redemption which is nice.

But how about those people who don’t fly WestJet on a regular basis, does the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard still makes sense for them? Well, it depends, if you have an upcoming flight and WestJet is an option, then let me explain why applying for the WestJet Mastercard can be worth your while.

First off, the $350 WestJet Dollars sign up bonus easily offsets the $119 annual fee. Then you get your first checked bag for free for the primary cardholder and up to 8 additional guests on the same reservation. For a family of four with everyone checking a bag, that’s a $200 savings. PLUS, you get that companion voucher which can also save you a fair amount regardless of where you’re flying to. Add that all up, and you’ll quickly realize that signing up for the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard is worth it even if you only plan on flying WestJet once.

There’s also the annual companion voucher that starts at $119 CAD for flights within Canada and the continental U.S. which is an incredible deal since flights from Toronto to Vancouver could easily be $600 a person. With the companion voucher, a couple might pay closer to $850 total instead of the usual $1,2oo.

The 1.5% earn rate on all other purchases is also impressive since many other travel credit cards only offer a return between 1% – 1.5% on other purchases. With this card, you’re restricted to using your Rewards with WestJet and their partners which technically gives you fewer options when it comes to redeeming travel. I personally prefer the points structure of the American Express Platinum Card and the SPG American Express card, but this is a personal preference. That being said, if you’re a frequent WestJet flyer, this is likely the best travel credit card for you.

WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard travel insurance

  • Travel medical – $1,00,000 for 15 days / 3 days if you’re 65 or older
  • Trip interruption – up to $5,000 per person / $25,000 total
  • Auto rental collision / loss damage – 48 consecutive days / $65,000
  • Hotel/motel burglary – $2,500
  • Travel accident – $500,000

Although the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard provides you with some excellent airline benefits, the travel insurance on this card is below average which is why it doesn’t make my list of the best credit cards with travel insurance.

You get travel medical no matter what, but you’re only covered for 15 days if you’re under the age of 65 or 3 days if you’re over 65. Obviously, if your trip doesn’t run longer than 15 days and you’re under the age of 65, you’re good, but it’s not idea for everyone.

What’s really lacking in terms of travel insurance is trip cancellation. Yes, the card comes with generous trip interruption insurance, but you get nothing for trip cancellation. I personally think trip cancellation is one of the most important things available as there are many reasons you may need to cancel your trip after booking it.

You also get hotel/motel burglary insurance up to $2,500 which is better than many other cards. The travel accident gives you $500,000 in payouts, but that’s something you never want to collect on.

Maximizing your WestJet Rewards

What really makes this WestJet World Elite Mastercard review positive is the fact that you can stack your rewards based on what status tier you have with WestJet Rewards. Take a look at the table below to see what you earn for being a Teal, Silver, Gold or Platinum member.

As you can see, Platinum WestJet Rewards members actually earn 1% back in WestJet dollars when they charge their WestJet flights or WestJet Vacations packages to their WestJet World Elite Mastercard. Gold, Silver and Teal members aren’t doing too bad either since they would earn 8%, 5% and 3% respectively in WestJet dollars when they charge their flights to their WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard.

Obviously, reaching those status tiers can be difficult, but if you look at the details, it’s easier compared to other airlines. Your tier is tied directly to how much you spend on WestJet flights and WestJet Vacations packages. With some other airlines, you need to worry about how much you’ve spent, how flights you’ve taken, and how many miles you’ve flown. WestJet recently made improvements to WestJet Rewards so it’s easier to reach Silver and Gold Status. That’s a pretty big win for consumers.

Final thoughts

My WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard review is positive. Even if you fly WestJet just once, this card is worth getting since you get a great sign up bonus, free checked bags and a companion voucher. Those benefits alone could be worth over $700 which is clearly more than the $119 annual fee you would pay.

WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard Review

227 Comments

  1. […] your first checked bag free is quite valuable even if you’re an infrequent WestJet flyer. Read my review of the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard […]

  2. Rosemary Lanni on December 2, 2018 at 11:38 am

    We are interested in opening up a westjet RBC world elite mastercard. Just want to confirm the following please:
    we can book up to 8 people per trip to the US for $99 each plus taxes and the first baggage for each is free. Th eannual card is $39.00.

    • Barry Choi on December 2, 2018 at 12:24 pm

      Rosemary,

      You get ONE annual companion voucher which starts at $99 CAD (within Canada and the continental U.S). You get the first bag free for up to 8 people who are booked on the same itinerary. The annual fee of the card is $119.

    • Matthew Kolb on April 6, 2019 at 3:01 pm

      Recently had to cancel a flight 2 weeks before departure due to a dear friend passing away suddenly after a long-standing battle with cancer. The woman I spoke to on the phone had no compassion and was of little help. I asked for only our westjet dollars back or even a credit on my account, which I would put towards another flight – this request was denied. I’ve had a westjet mastercard for over 5 years and use it as my primary card every day. I have nothing good to say about it or the staff. I am full of regret spending thousands of dollars with this card as it goes straight into the pockets of heartless capitalists. I can’t believe in a time of true hardship and loss, they couldn’t bend the rules and give me a credit which in turn, I would be spending with on their airlines. I am truly disappointed and will be cancelling my card immediately and spreading word about this horrible event.

      • Barry Choi on April 7, 2019 at 10:52 am

        Hi Matthew,

        Sorry to hear about your loss. Unfortunately, airline refund policies are quite strict and depend on the type of fare you purchased and how many dates out you’re from your flight. It’s unlikely any other airline would issue you a refund in a similar situation.

      • Jason on February 25, 2020 at 10:13 pm

        Your right this is what happen to me to they just lie about insurance cancellation of flights.

  3. David on December 7, 2018 at 12:08 am

    Can I use the WestJet dollars towards any ticket within the airline network, or only on WestJet specific flights?

    • Barry Choi on December 7, 2018 at 6:17 am

      Hi David,

      You can use your WestJet dollars on WestJet flights and any of their codeshare partners. You’d just have to book it through WestJet

  4. john on December 18, 2018 at 3:12 pm

    could ;you use your West Jet dollars for booking Swoop Airlines which is part of Westjet?

    • Barry Choi on December 18, 2018 at 3:15 pm

      John,

      Last I checked, you couldn’t use your WestJet dollars on Swoop flights.

  5. Bruce on December 31, 2018 at 10:18 pm

    ?? so what is the annual interest rate on this Elite card? Thank you

    • Barry Choi on January 1, 2019 at 9:30 am

      19.99% on purchases, 21.99% on cash advances

    • Steven on February 8, 2020 at 11:06 am

      Does anyone know if you can receive an annual companion voucher if your spouse has secondary world elite card.

      • Barry Choi on February 8, 2020 at 12:50 pm

        Hi Steven,

        Only the primary cardholder gets the companion voucher.

  6. Eric on January 4, 2019 at 7:44 pm

    Can I use the $250 sign up bonus towards the full fare and the $99 companion voucher at the same time?

    • Barry Choi on January 4, 2019 at 8:04 pm

      Hey Eric,

      Yes, your WestJet dollars can be used in conjunction with your companion voucher.

    • Brad clarke on March 2, 2019 at 5:33 pm

      hi I received my card a couple days ago and I have made a Purchase already. If I wanted to book a trip right away can I use my annual companion flight now or do I need the card for a certain amount of time before you use it ?

      • Barry Choi on March 2, 2019 at 7:31 pm

        Brad,

        It usually takes 6-8 weeks for the companion voucher to post to your account.

        • Sean on March 6, 2019 at 9:42 am

          We are a family of four. If my partner and I signed up for cards separately, could we both use our companion flights to fly with our two children?

          • Barry Choi on March 6, 2019 at 9:55 am

            You sure could, you’d just have to make separate reservations.

            If you both apply, I would be grateful if you used my referral link.



  7. Kaila on January 6, 2019 at 4:12 pm

    Is the $250 a one time offer or is it offer annually?

    • Michelle L Schiau on January 6, 2019 at 4:39 pm

      Kaita,
      It’s a 1 time offer (a “welcome” bonus).

    • Barry Choi on January 6, 2019 at 4:48 pm

      Kaila,

      Michelle is right, this is a one time offer.

      • Joseph Gasparini on July 14, 2019 at 11:32 am

        The RBC Elite is a very good card if you fly with WestJet and check baggage. We use the card at March Break and take advantage of companion pass and checked bags which saves us money at a pick time plus you can use accumulated WestJet dollars.

  8. Michelle L Schiau on January 6, 2019 at 4:37 pm

    Kaita,
    It’s a 1 time offer (a “welcome” bonus).

  9. Michelle L Schiau on January 6, 2019 at 4:42 pm

    Barry,
    I have just switched to this card! But I cannot find information on if there are any additional benefits to having an additional user card – other than there being a $60 fee! Could there be an additional companion coupon if I’m paying an additional annual fee for a 2nd card for my husband to use?

    • Barry Choi on January 6, 2019 at 4:47 pm

      Hi Michelle,

      No additional benefits for your husband if he’s a supplementary cardholder. The only benefit is that the spending on both accounts goes to a single user. To be realistic, it’s probably more beneficial for you to both apply for the card so you can get 2 travel vouchers per year and free checked bags regardless of who is travelling solo.

      • John on February 21, 2019 at 12:46 pm

        Are companion vouchers one 1 per year for a 1 way flight or does it apply to a roundtrip flght?

        Also, just to confirm, there are no lounge passes on this card but the ability to purchase lounge passes?

        • Barry Choi on February 21, 2019 at 4:47 pm

          John,

          The companion voucher is an annual benefit that applies to roundtrip flights. I don’t believe you can buy lounge access with this card, but I also haven’t looked into the details of WestJet lounges before.

          • John on February 21, 2019 at 4:56 pm

            Thanks Barry

            So if a rt flight from toronto to Vancouver is 600. Then the total cost would be 600 plus 100 plus taxes?



          • Barry Choi on February 21, 2019 at 7:13 pm

            John,

            Correct.



      • Jacky on October 17, 2019 at 11:24 am

        Hi Barry,

        Does this mean if my wife (supplementary card holder) books a flight with her card, she does not get the baggage fee waived?

        • Barry Choi on October 17, 2019 at 12:38 pm

          Hi Jacky,

          That’s correct, she wouldn’t be able to get free baggage unless you’re there and her ticket is on the same itinerary. Instead of getting a joint card, you could each get your own card which would give you each a companion voucher and free baggage regardless.

  10. Moria on January 6, 2019 at 5:55 pm

    Does the 250.00 bonus have an expiry date?

    • Barry Choi on January 6, 2019 at 6:51 pm

      Moria,

      The majority of WestJet Dollars including the ones you get from the credit card do not expire. Generally speaking, only WestJet dollars from a promotion will expire e.g. a few weeks back, WestJet gave everyone $50 WestJet dollars to book a flight but it had to be within 48hours or so. Once that time was up, anyone who didn’t use the $50 lost it. They technically didn’t lose anything though since it was a promotion.

  11. Nicole on January 7, 2019 at 11:11 pm

    How does the ‘comprehensive travel insurance’ compare to something I would get through BCAA, for example?

    • Barry Choi on January 8, 2019 at 6:13 am

      Nicole,

      You’d have to look up the fine print of the WestJet card, but when I say comprehensive, I mean it includes travel medical, trip cancellation, baggage, car rental etc. To get access to all those benefits you need to charge your travel purchases to your credit card. You also want to make sure that the maximum days exceeds your travel plans.

      With BCAA, you can buy a similar insurance package, but if your credit card already covers you, why pay for it?

      • Thanh on January 19, 2019 at 4:49 am

        This card does not have trip cancelation coverage, it only has trip interuption coverage. Big difference.

        • Barry Choi on January 19, 2019 at 7:30 am

          Thanh,

          You’re right. I just double checked the policy and it lacks trip cancellation, flight delay, and baggage insurance. I’ve updated the post. Thanks for catching that.

  12. Colin on January 7, 2019 at 11:58 pm

    Hi Barry,

    Great post! One question, I just received my World Elite MC last week, and made a purchase totalling $3600 today. Do you know if I would earn West Jet Dollars at the Silver level given that it was over $3000, or not until my next purchase within 12 months?

    Also, I qualify for the $250 WJ Dollar sign up bonus, but unfortunately it takes up to 60 days to be credited to my Rewards account. (60 days from my first purchase). So I’ll have to use that for a future flight.

    • Barry Choi on January 8, 2019 at 6:15 am

      Hi Colin,

      To qualify for Silver, that $3,600 needs to be on a qualifying spend e.g. things at WestJet.com

      You would only start earning at Silver AFTER you’ve passed $3,600 so if that was your first purchase, you’d likely still be at teal.

      I don’t remember if the system is smart enough to recognize that the $600 you spent over the $3,000 should earn you the Silver status rate.

  13. Jayne on January 11, 2019 at 1:54 pm

    So if I book a flight on-line through westjet will it recognize my RBC elite MasterCard? Will this westjet site charge me $0 for my baggage and $99 for companion fee?

  14. NIk on January 14, 2019 at 2:46 pm

    Does this card charge transaction fees when travelling abroad?

    • Nik on January 14, 2019 at 2:46 pm

      *foreign transaction fees

  15. Alison on January 19, 2019 at 8:48 pm

    Is you first checked bag only if you have charged the travel to your MasterCard, or is it tied to your westjet account number?

  16. How to Save Money at Disney World - Money We Have on January 20, 2019 at 12:35 pm

    […] say you’re a family of four: two parents, two kids. If both parents were to apply for the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard, they would each get $250 WestJet Dollars after their first purchase as well as an annual companion […]

  17. Dave on January 22, 2019 at 3:49 pm

    If i don’t use the annual round-trip companion voucher one year, can it be carried forward to the next year so that i then have 2 to use or does it expire?

    • Barry Choi on January 22, 2019 at 4:41 pm

      Hi Dave,

      It’s one companion voucher per year. They do not carry over.

  18. Shirley on January 23, 2019 at 3:23 pm

    How many times can you use the lounge key in one year?

    • Barry Choi on January 23, 2019 at 4:15 pm

      Hi Shirley,

      Lounge Key just gives you access to lounges which normally costs $99 USD per year for a membership. You still need to pay for individual visits

  19. Clive weightman on January 29, 2019 at 10:41 pm

    Do you have to live in Canada to apply for this card? I live in the US and use Wesrjet a lot to fly to Canada.

    • Barry Choi on January 30, 2019 at 7:37 am

      Hey Clive,

      Yes, you would need a Canadian address and a Canadian history to be approved.

  20. Ryan Gour on January 31, 2019 at 4:44 pm

    Hi, I am interested in this card, but I am trying to understand the reward structure. From what I read, I interpret it to be that we only collect reward dollars on the base fares of the flight. So if the fare is only $200 and the total cost was $600, we would only be rewarded 4 WJD. And, it would also take $3,000 of base fares to reach the next tier. Please let me know if my interpretation is correct. Thanks.

    • Barry Choi on January 31, 2019 at 5:53 pm

      Hi Ryan,

      When using the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard, you earn WestJet Dollars on ALL spending. Your tier multipliers / spending e.g. teal, silver, gold is where only the base fare applies. So yes, to reach the next tier, you have to spend on the base tiers, but you earn WJD regardless with this card.

  21. Brian on February 5, 2019 at 2:59 pm

    How does the lounge access work, is there an extra charge per use?

    • Barry Choi on February 5, 2019 at 3:14 pm

      Hi Brian,

      You get access to any lounge partnered with Mastercard but you’ll still have to pay for each entry which is typically $27USD per person.

  22. Alex on February 16, 2019 at 4:41 pm

    Can I purchase other people’s airline tickets with this card? We would qualify as ‘teal’ people strictly speaking. But I sometimes make travel arrangements for elderly relatives. If I used this card to do it, I could substantially increase my potential Westjet rewards. But I’m concerned that would be fraudulent somehow.

    • Barry Choi on February 16, 2019 at 5:46 pm

      Alex,

      I don’t see why there would be an issue with this as it’s pretty normal for people to buy tickets for other people. They just wouldn’t get their first bag checked free since you’re not travelling with them.

  23. Karen R A on February 18, 2019 at 9:02 am

    How do I link my WestJet Reward ID with my new WestJet world elite Mastercard? I don’t believe they are currently linked as the welcome point WestJet dollars are not present in my account.

    • Barry Choi on February 18, 2019 at 9:55 am

      Karen,

      You would have been asked for your WestJet ID when you applied for the card. If you didn’t enter it, it likely created you a new number. I believe you can call customer service to get it changed.

  24. Kat on February 19, 2019 at 7:30 pm

    Hi, how long did it take for your companion voucher and 250 Westjet dollars to appear in your account? I just ordered the card, but am hoping to book a trip shortly with the rewards.

    • Barry Choi on February 19, 2019 at 7:47 pm

      Hey Kat,

      It usually takes a few weeks, rarely does it appear in your account before your first statement posts.

  25. Heather on February 22, 2019 at 12:30 pm

    With WestJet rewards am I eligible to receive my first big checked for free if I book a basic seat on a flight I have received that for the econo flight but wonder about the lesser flight, called basic.

    • Barry Choi on February 22, 2019 at 3:00 pm

      Heather,

      If you have the WestJet Rewards World Elite Mastercard, you would get your first bag checked free with the basic seat ticket. WestJet Rewards only gets you free baggage if you’re a Silver Tier member.

  26. Mark on February 24, 2019 at 11:35 pm

    I live in Canada and travelling to the US. Do you what kind of fees will be accrued to my card while making day to day purchases on vacation (other than exchange rate).

    • Barry Choi on February 25, 2019 at 8:20 am

      Hi Mark,

      There are no other fees with this card besides the annual fee.

  27. Corey on February 27, 2019 at 1:22 pm

    Hi I was just wondering if I signed up for this card would the free bag offer still apply to a flight we have already booked through the airmiles program flying from Canada to USA April.5?

    Thanks
    Corey

    • Barry Choi on February 27, 2019 at 2:13 pm

      Hi Corey,

      You should still get your bags checked free since you don’t have to purchase your flights with the card to get that benefit.

  28. Val on March 1, 2019 at 2:44 pm

    Just looking for clarification, purchases made by an additional cardholder earn the 1.5% back to the primary cardholder? As well is there a resource available stating what “everyday purchases” are eligible to earn the 1.5%. I’ve search multiple websites and have not been successful.

    • Barry Choi on March 1, 2019 at 3:42 pm

      Hi Val,

      Yes, supplementary cardholders earn 1.5% cashback towards the primary cardholder. As for everyday purchases, that applies to everything outside of WestJet flights or WestJet Vacations packages. Often you’ll see “eligible” every day purchases as a way for them protect themselves e.g. if you were making illegal purchases, they could in theory deny you the cash back earned.

  29. Simon on March 1, 2019 at 11:32 pm

    I am applying for the card and I am pretty sure I will get approval in few days.
    However, I need to finalized my booking for family with other credit cards because there is a promotion now.

    When I receive my Elite later, can still check in the first bag for free (flight is in Aug 2019) even if I book with different card and check bags for my family?

    Thanks Barry.

    • Barry Choi on March 2, 2019 at 6:17 am

      Hi Simon,

      Yes, you’ll still get your bags checked free. Your RBC World Elite Mastercard is tied to your WestJet Rewards ID. So as long as your WestJet Rewards # is on the reservation when you check in, you’ll get the free bags.

      If you’re going to sign up, help a brother out and use my referral link please =D

  30. Simon on March 2, 2019 at 12:29 pm

    Sorry I applied it before I read your blog. I will ask my friend to read your blog before they apply in the future.

    Another question. I am about to book flights for 10 family members for a vacation because there is a good deal at the moment saving approximately $50/ticket.

    Should I wait for the card because that can put me into Silver status instantly? But if I wait, I am risking to spend $500 more if the promotion ends. What should I do?

    • Barry Choi on March 2, 2019 at 12:34 pm

      Simon,

      As long as you have a WestJet Rewards ID, your purchases count towards your status. You don’t need to charge it your credit card.

  31. Dan on March 8, 2019 at 12:22 am

    Does everyday spending on the Westjet Elite Mastercard count towards increasing your status in the tiers? Or are the tiers strictly related to flight purchases?

  32. Hank on March 10, 2019 at 8:33 pm

    Can I check bags for free even when buying tickets through a third party like flight hub and using another credit card but just by having a Westjet Elite Mastercard that’s linked to my Westjet Reward #?
    Thanks

    • Barry Choi on March 11, 2019 at 11:19 am

      Hank,

      Yes, the credit card is linked to your WestJet ID. I believe you just show it when you check in and then they waive the checked baggage fees.

  33. Trif on March 11, 2019 at 10:33 am

    Hi there. I received this card. What is considered everyday spending and how long does I t take to convert purchases into westjet dollars?

    • Barry Choi on March 11, 2019 at 11:23 am

      Everyday spending is literally everything. I don’t recall exactly how long it takes for your WestJet dollars to post, but it’s usually at the end of each statement.

  34. Diane on March 16, 2019 at 7:26 pm

    My husband booked a trip for myself, our kids and my parents with his WestJet Master card. He is not going on the trip, however; are our bags still free, or will we have to pay for our checked bags?

    • Barry Choi on March 16, 2019 at 7:39 pm

      Diane,

      You would have to pay for your bags since the primary cardholder is not going.

  35. Diane on March 16, 2019 at 9:31 pm

    Hi Barry,

    Would I still have to pay if I got my own card, even though this trip was not booked with it?

    • Barry Choi on March 16, 2019 at 10:18 pm

      Diane,

      I’m not 100% sure, but I think you would get your luggage checked free. You don’t need to purchase your flights with the credit card to get your bags free, you just need to have the card. That being said, for your kids and parents to get their bags checked free too, their tickets would need to have been on the same itinerary that your husband booked.

  36. Bonnie on March 17, 2019 at 9:47 pm

    Great information, far better than I could find anywhere else – thank you! We’re trying to decide if we should get an additional card for my husband. If we did and he was to book a WestJet flight that I (being the primary cardholder) was not going on, would the additional card be linked to his WestJet rewards number so that he could get free checked baggage?

    • Barry Choi on March 18, 2019 at 7:44 am

      Hi Bonnie,

      Yes, when your husband signs up for the WestJet card, his WestJet Rewards number would be linked to the card which means free checked bags even if you’re not travelling with him.

      Note that I’m talking about a separate card under his name, not a supplementary card on your card.

  37. Vilnis on March 23, 2019 at 5:25 pm

    Can someone living in the US (e.g., in Nashville) sign up for the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard?

    • Barry Choi on March 23, 2019 at 7:54 pm

      Vilnis,

      Not unless you have a Canadian address and credit history.

  38. Vilnis on March 23, 2019 at 9:07 pm

    Thank you. That’s what I thought. Too bad. Our son and his family fly to Calgary annually and might come more often with the direct flights from Nashville (part of the year) and companion fares with the Westjet RBC card.

    • Tana on March 29, 2019 at 3:08 pm

      Quick question. If say I book a flight with Expedia but it’s a WestJet flight, do I still get the WestJet points or does it have to be from the WestJet site itself? Thanks

      • Barry Choi on March 29, 2019 at 4:17 pm

        Tana,

        Yes, you would still earn WJD when booking through Expedia as long as you add your WJ Rewards # to the booking. That being said, if you pay with your WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard, you’d only earn 1.5% in WJD as opposed to 2% when booking direct.

  39. Michael Kelly on March 26, 2019 at 8:37 am

    What airlines in the US can I use with this card? Is it just Delta?

    • Barry Choi on March 26, 2019 at 10:34 am

      The benefits of the card only apply to flight wholly operated by WestJet

  40. Stef on March 26, 2019 at 11:48 am

    Fine print says WestJet dollars are not earned on ‘certain bill payments’ is there more info available on what specifically earns rewards and what doesn’t? I currently pay all monthly bills with an alternate credit card (ie phone, cable, internet etc) on which I do earn rewards, I’d rather earn WestJet dollars but want to be sure what qualifies and what doesn’t. Thanks

    • Barry Choi on March 26, 2019 at 11:50 am

      Stef,

      Certain bill payments usually refers to things such as interest owed or fees. If you’re using your WestJet card to pay your cell phone, utilities, etc., you would earn WestJet dollars.

  41. Hartwick Mike on April 1, 2019 at 8:35 am

    Can you use your companion flight towards an all-inclusive trip to Mexico if we booked through WJ Vacations?

    • Barry Choi on April 1, 2019 at 8:41 am

      I believe the companion voucher applies to flights only.

  42. Simon Wei on April 1, 2019 at 8:02 pm

    Barry,

    2 things I noticed after I started using this card.

    1. They gave me $249 WJD instead of $250 as promised which is odd. I had $30 WJD in my account that I’ve accumulated last year was gone after $249 WJD was issued. It’s not much but they shouldn’t take my $30 away….

    2. I can’t link this card with any online banking app. I have active Royal Bank account but the card does not show under my online account. Most of my credit cards have app go with it (Scotia Visa, Amex, Costco Master) so I can receive real time notification just in case. Do you have it linked and able to receive notification for any spending?

    Thanks.

    • Barry Choi on April 1, 2019 at 10:53 pm

      Simon,

      You should inquire directly with WestJet / RBC about your concerns. You should be getting the full sign up bonus and they wouldn’t take WJD away from you. You should also ask them if they offer instant notifications.

  43. Michael Kelly on April 7, 2019 at 3:09 pm

    do you have to commit to this card for a certain amount of time? Could you cancel after one year?

    • Barry Choi on April 8, 2019 at 5:55 pm

      You could cancel the card whenever you want.

  44. Margaret on April 7, 2019 at 7:06 pm

    If I purchase a ticket for my child using WJ MasterCard and I am not on the trip, does she still get a checked bag free?

    • Barry Choi on April 8, 2019 at 5:55 pm

      Margaret,

      No, free baggage is only available to the primary cardholders and people travelling with them that were booked on the same itinerary.

  45. tammy poulin on April 8, 2019 at 7:00 pm

    We have already booked some flights for November using my West Jet Rewards card…. If we purchase this card on May 1st and we have already paid for our first bags for November, How do we get that money back? Assuming the card we will receive should cover this?

    • Barry Choi on April 8, 2019 at 9:39 pm

      Tammy,

      I’m not sure if they would issue you a refund, you should call them either way and find out.

  46. Joe Vermaire on April 12, 2019 at 9:08 am

    Barry:
    Very informative site. I have been a MC West Jet $’s user for many years. I highly recommend it.

  47. Flysweekly on April 20, 2019 at 11:11 am

    What credit rating does this card require

    • Barry Choi on April 20, 2019 at 2:13 pm

      Generally speaking at least 650-700.

  48. John on May 2, 2019 at 10:54 pm

    Is there a WestJet small business card that offers these same benefits

    • Barry Choi on May 3, 2019 at 7:52 am

      Hi John,

      There is no business version of this card.

  49. Polly on May 6, 2019 at 6:56 pm

    regarding medical insurance – is there an age limit also a time limit

    • Barry Choi on May 7, 2019 at 8:01 am

      Polly,

      15 days if you’re under the age of 65, 3 days if you’re over 65

      • Kent on October 24, 2019 at 4:13 pm

        65 and under. Not under 65. Confirmed with RBC. Also, if I do not pay for my Westjet flight or WJVacation with the WJ RBC card in full, are there any of the benefits I would not receive other than free first bag. ie. Travel Medical, flight delay, Trip interruption etc.

  50. Charles on May 20, 2019 at 10:29 am

    The $99 companion voucher…how would I use it if we prefer to fly WestJet premium?

    • Barry Choi on May 20, 2019 at 2:40 pm

      Charles,

      I believe the same $99 applies assuming that the other ticket is purchased in Premium but I’m not 100% on that.

  51. john b. on May 21, 2019 at 8:58 am

    I am retired and travel very little … but am interested in a WJ MASTERCARD to accumulate WJ dollars … Can I then use these dollars ( & welcome $$ ) to book flights for my daughter ,, or must I travel with them ,as I am the primary card holder … ???

    • Barry Choi on May 21, 2019 at 9:16 am

      John,

      You can use the dollars to book flights for your daughter but she won’t get the free checked bag nor will she be able to use the companion voucher unless she’s travelling with you.

  52. Ron on May 31, 2019 at 2:28 am

    When I make a purchase with my WJ MasterCard, do the charges have to be in the card for a minimum length of time to get rewards on that purchase? Or can I pay the balance off a day or 2 later and still get the rewards?

    • Barry Choi on May 31, 2019 at 9:02 am

      Ron,

      You can pay your balance whenever you want and still get the rewards.

  53. Tracy gosse on June 5, 2019 at 2:54 pm

    What is the Minimum credit liming for the Elite Westjet Mastercard.

    • Barry Choi on June 5, 2019 at 3:07 pm

      Tracy,

      A differs by person so I can’t give you an accurate answer but I was recently approved for a $7,200 limit.

  54. Tracy gosse on June 5, 2019 at 4:08 pm

    Thank you,

  55. Jon Slobozian on June 28, 2019 at 6:55 pm

    I recently got a new Westjet World Elite Mastercard. Is there a phone number I can call to make sure I have Westjet Rewards set up correctly. 1 (888) 937-8538 (This phone number doesn’t work).

    Thanks

    • Barry Choi on June 28, 2019 at 8:03 pm

      Jon,

      If you already received your card, your WestJet Rewards # will appear on your credit card below your name. If you still want to confirm, you can call WestJet’s regular customer service line and ask to speak to someone from the Rewards team.

  56. Keith Guy on July 2, 2019 at 2:08 pm

    I’m a little confused about the Westjet dollars.At the introduction it says you earn 2% dollars on Westjet dollars but when you get to the tier levels you only earn 1% dollars for teal. Why is that?

    • Barry Choi on July 2, 2019 at 2:29 pm

      Keith,

      The 2% you get from the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard is in addition to what you earn in your WestJet Rewards tier level. For teal members, you’d earn a total of 3% (2% + 1%) on qualifying flights.

  57. Shayna on July 17, 2019 at 3:31 pm

    This is a great site…thank you! My husbands RBC westjet elite mastercard is linked to his WestJet Rewards number and we have already booked and paid for our flight in October however our RBC WestJet elite MasterCard expires in September and we were not planning on renewing it. Given that we made a reservation and paid for this reservation prior to the MasterCard expiring but will not be taking a flight until after we no longer have an active rbc WestJet elite MasterCard will our first checked bags still be free when we fly?

    • Barry Choi on July 17, 2019 at 4:52 pm

      I believe you need to be a current cardholder to get the free checked baggage.

      Considering luggage is $30 each way per person within North America, you might as well just keep the card since the annual fee is $119.

      • Sally on March 6, 2020 at 11:11 am

        I booked a flight to Belize in Dec/19 using a different credit card at the time. I just received my West Jet World Elite card and activated it yesterday. We flight in April /20. Will I be able to get 1st baggage free for both my husband and for this flight?

        • Barry Choi on March 6, 2020 at 1:15 pm

          Sally,

          You get your bags checked free regardless. Your credit card is tied to your WestJet Rewards number so they can see that you have the credit card.

  58. Lois on July 17, 2019 at 8:43 pm

    My husband wants to change his current business credit card to the Westjet World Elite Mastercard for business. He would be the primary cardholder with 2 supplementary cards, can he do this?

    • Barry Choi on July 17, 2019 at 9:11 pm

      Lois,

      There is no business version of this card. Your husband could treat it like a business card but I believe that WestJet has the right to cancel the card if they feel that the card is being misused e.g. some credit card providers don’t allow personal cards to be used as business cards.

      He should also be aware that he would be liable for any fraudulent charges made by the supplementary cardholders whereas business cards have insurance in place to protect the primary cardholder.

  59. Marilyn on August 6, 2019 at 12:36 pm

    We have had the WJ World Elite Card for years and love it.
    We have always purchased extra travel insurance but wondering now if we really need it. I’m trying to read all the fine print and it seems very similar to what we are purchasing.

    Do you agree that the Medical portion of the insurance is good enough for most people?

    • Barry Choi on August 6, 2019 at 1:20 pm

      Marilyn,

      Assuming you don’t exceed the length allotment of 15 days, you likely don’t need additional insurance. If your trip runs longer than 15 days, I believe you can get it extended.

      This refers to just travel medical. The card lacks trip cancellation, flight delay, and baggage delay insurance.

  60. Karol on August 11, 2019 at 9:07 am

    Hi,

    What if my husband would apply for one as he travels more than I do, and for the companion for $99 per year, if I want to use it , do we have to travel together at the same time or he can let me or anybody use it without him?

    And also can you pls enlighten me what’s the difference between this card to RBC avion card? I’m looking for the card that will benefit my husband for travelling as he travels more often than I do.

    Thank you in advance!

    Karol

    • Barry Choi on August 11, 2019 at 12:52 pm

      Karol,

      I’m not 100% sure, but I’m pretty sure your husband can use the companion voucher for someone else as long as there are two people travelling on the same itinerary.

      As for how this card compared to the RBC Avion card. With the WestJet card you earn WestJet Dollars whereas the Avion card earns you Avion points. WJ dollars can only be used on westjet flights, but you get arguably a higher earn rate, free checked luggage and then companion voucher. The RBC Avion card gives you more flexibility since you can claim any type of travel, but you get less “perks.”

      The question is, which airline does your husband usually fly with and how often does he fly?

  61. Carl on August 11, 2019 at 6:43 pm

    Two points …. there are 2 RBC Westjet Cards …. the “standard” RBC Westjet card and the RBC World Elite card …. your information refers to the World Elite you may want to mention that ….. also you need to double check your information.

    “The card lacks trip cancellation, flight delay, and baggage delay insurance.” This is incorrect since 2017 ….. I will let you research the details.

    • Barry Choi on August 11, 2019 at 9:26 pm

      Hi Carl,

      The title of the article is “WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard review and I refer to that card multiple times in the article so there should be no confusion as the regular card has a different name and comes with different benefits.

      As for the trip cancellation insurance, you’re mistaken as the card still does not have that. You get flight interruption insurance which is not the same as flight delay.

  62. shawn on August 20, 2019 at 4:11 pm

    Hi I make 75.000 a year , short by 5.000 can I still get the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard

    • Barry Choi on August 20, 2019 at 8:36 pm

      You likely would not be approved if you put 75,000 on your application. I should note that they usually don’t verify your income so you could technically put any amount for your income.

  63. Eric on August 23, 2019 at 11:27 pm

    Hi Barry, Just thought maybe you could also mention the $99 is not as free and clear as what it sounds like. When they say “plus the taxes, fees and charges” on their website they can all add up to quite a bit more than one might think. Without giving dollar amounts because it depends on the ticket price, here are the charges that were added to our $99 companion flight shown on the eTicket:

    AIR TRAVELLERS SECURITY CHARGE, GOODS AND SERVICES TAX, AIRPORT IMPROVEMENT FEE, HARMONIZED SALES TAX, TRANSPORTATION TAX (INTERNATIONAL), CUSTOMS USER FEE, IMMIGRATION USER FEE, APHIS USER FEE, SEPTEMBER 11TH SECURITY FEE, PASSENGER FACILITY CHARGE.

    For example, these fees added $140 to the $99 Companion flight for an Ottawa to Los Angeles flight. $239 is still a good price for the one ticket but not as cheap as it first sounds. Domestic flight recently was about the same. Just something you should let others know about. Thanks!

  64. AJ on August 28, 2019 at 10:16 am

    Hi Barry,
    With regards to the companion voucher, can I purchase the full fare flight using my RBCV Avion points and then apply the WestJet companion voucher on the fare for my travelling companion? Thanks!

    • Barry Choi on August 28, 2019 at 12:16 pm

      AJ,

      As far as I know, you can only use your companion voucher directly online via Westjet.com. I’ve never attempted to pay for my initial flight with points and then apply the companion voucher after.

  65. Wes mazer on September 6, 2019 at 7:31 pm

    Is the companion fare offered each calendar year or every 12 months?

  66. Bridgette on September 9, 2019 at 9:41 am

    I have a Westjet world elite mastercard. I am aware of the companion voucher to fly anywhere in Canada or the U.S. at $99 . My husband and I are planning an all inclusive trip in November and was wondering if there is a companion voucher for an all inclusive trip on Westjet?

    • Barry Choi on September 10, 2019 at 8:13 am

      Bridgette,

      The voucher does not work for vacation packages.

  67. Tony on September 10, 2019 at 4:04 pm

    If I am approved for the WestJet Elite Mastercard but had to book a Westjet flight on another card in the meantime do I still get the first checked bag free?

    • Barry Choi on September 10, 2019 at 4:10 pm

      Tony,

      Yes, as your WestJet credit card is linked to your WestJet Rewards number.

  68. Sheila on September 27, 2019 at 9:54 am

    It says that you can not use with other promotions, does that mean when flights are on sale? Do you need to pay full price to use the companion voucher? Also, any info on the comparison between BMO mastercard and Elite WJ mastercard?
    Thank you!

  69. Robb on October 2, 2019 at 4:52 pm

    Hi, this might be a dumb question but does the first free bag policy cover every time you fly Westjet or only the first flight per year with the WestJet RBC® World Elite Mastercard?

  70. Val on October 5, 2019 at 12:08 pm

    Hi,
    Great website for clarification. I encourage everyone to read the insurance policy thoroughly prior to travelling as there are many caveats. For example, if you are over 65 the coverage is different. The policy is very specific on what is covered and you must contact the insurance provider PRIOR to getting any medical care, unless you are medically unable to do this at the time.
    I think it’s important to be clear on what is covered or not. Myself, I will be purchasing extra coverage as I don’t think the insurance is very good….too many loopholes for the insurer to get out of.
    I would be interested to hear any actual experiences with the world elite insurance coverage.

    • Barry Choi on October 5, 2019 at 3:38 pm

      Val,

      You nailed it. You always need to read the details of insurance policies. I never advise my parents to use credit card travel insurance as they’re over 65 and often travel for more than 15 days at a time. My dad also has a pre-existing condition that could affect his coverage. Buying a separate policy has always been the way to go and it’s already paid for itself.

      Even if you’re young and healthy you need to read the insurance policies. For example, the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard doesn’t come with trip cancellation insurance.

  71. Keri on October 5, 2019 at 1:27 pm

    Hi there! Just seeing if you still receive anything if we use your link to register? Found it quite helpful and will do it that way if it benefits you in any way 🙂
    Thanks!

    • Barry Choi on October 5, 2019 at 3:36 pm

      Hi Keri,

      Yes, if you use my link at the end of the article, I get a commission. Thanks for using it!

  72. Kent on October 24, 2019 at 4:30 pm

    Looked at WJ RBC Elite MC benefits and both Ratehub and CreditCardGenius sites state that there is coverage for Trip Interuption, Flight Delay (4+ hrs) and baggage delay. Understand there is no trip cancellation coverage but others are listed.

    • Barry Choi on October 24, 2019 at 6:42 pm

      Hi Kent,

      If you’re not paying for your flight with the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard, you only get free checked bags and travel medical included.

  73. Kent on October 26, 2019 at 1:54 pm

    Thanks Barry. Just to clarify, what are the benefits I would miss out on if I did not use my WJ RBC mastercard to pay in full? Thanks.

    • Barry Choi on October 26, 2019 at 2:08 pm

      Kent,

      Basically any of the travel insurance with the exception of travel medical. You obviously wouldn’t earn any additional WJD.

  74. Diane on November 3, 2019 at 10:36 am

    Hi There, We recently went on a trip out east and booked with West Jet RBC credit card. My sister had a accident and was hospitalized for 2 days. The Doctor told her she could not fly home and she had to drive. Her husband had to fly out and rent a car and drive her home. Are any of expenses covered on the insurance of the card?

    • Barry Choi on November 3, 2019 at 2:24 pm

      Hi Diane,

      Credit card travel insurance doesn’t apply to extended family such as your sister so she would not be covered. That said, if she has workplace health benefits through her employer or her husbands, she may be covered.

  75. Michael on November 16, 2019 at 2:15 pm

    So we just signed up for the RBC Westjet Elite card – I am primary and my wife has a second card – if she book a flight she wouldn’t get the free luggage?

    • Barry Choi on November 16, 2019 at 8:17 pm

      Michael,

      No, she would not get free luggage if she’s travelling on her own.

  76. K. on November 30, 2019 at 10:29 am

    Hi,
    Great post. Thanks.

    I have 2 questions (one may be easier to answer than the orher):

    I have been a card holder for a few years now. In the first year, it was fantastic, especially with the welcome bonus and the fact I was flying almost cross- country every month (plus additional flights, sometimes to US).
    This year, I’m not sure it’s worth it. I’ll only be flying 5 times in country, am no longer silver status, and westjet is not always the cheapest flights (but I feel tied to westjet b/c I paid the annual fee). Ì am thinking of not renewing when my card come due next year and then re-joining again if I miss the WJR points I accumulate on purchases. Do you know if a second application would receive the welcome bonus (assuming they are still offering that promotion)?

    Question #2 (possibly easier):
    In January you were asked, “Does this card charge foreign transaction fees when travelling abroad” , to which you answered yes.
    The following month Mark asked if there would be any additional fees for purchases made by a Canadian traveling and buying in the USA. You answered no, there are no fees but the annual fee for this card.
    I’m wondering if you could clarify what you meant by foreign transaction fees. I am planning a trip to Hawaii soon and am curious about additional, currently unforseen, charges. Earlier, I traveled to San Francisco on this card and I don’t recall extra fees but I don’t think I paid close attention and may have assumed currency conversion.
    Thanks in advance,
    K.

    • Barry Choi on November 30, 2019 at 10:41 am

      K,

      The Westjet RBC World Elite Card gives you free luggage for the primary cardholder and up to 8 bags total on the same itinerary. Considering a checked bag is at least $30 each way, you’d make up the annual fee quickly. If you don’t check bags, the annual companion voucher would save you more than $119 a year assuming you use it.

      As for foreign transaction fees. Mark stated he was aware of the exchange rate which is why I said no additional fees. Foreign transaction fees are built right into the exchange for this card and is set at 2.5%. So basically, you pay the daily exchange + 2.5%.

      There are other credit cards that have no fore fees if that’s what you’re looking for.

      https://www.moneywehave.com/canadian-credit-cards-without-foreign-transaction-fees/

      • K. on November 30, 2019 at 10:49 am

        Thank you for this. I didn’t realize I had paid “daily exchange + 2.5%.” But if, as you say, no card doesn’t also apply this fee, I guess I am no worse off and now I know. Thank you.

  77. K. on November 30, 2019 at 10:45 am

    Hi again,

    I thought I might leave this info for people traveling with families. It doesn’t pertain the the credit card per se, but I think may be useful info. If you are traveling with little people (kids), I would recommend signing them up for WJR accounts also so their flights will also collect points (1% or more depending on teir) beyond what you get for the purchase of the flights. I missed this for the first few months of our traveling and they would not give them retroactively (reasonably). The points she collects are low compared to what I accumulate buying the flights and using my credit card for everyday purchases, but they add up and they don’t expire. Westjet will also move a child’s points into a parents account if asked, which makes keeping track of them easier.

  78. Arlene on December 4, 2019 at 9:04 pm

    In your article above, under the section about travel insurance,you say, “Without trip cancellation insurance, you’d have to think twice about charging your flight to this card. You would lose out on the free baggage, but it may be worth it if you have another credit card that offers you better insurance. ” But you also state several times in answer to questions that “You get the free checked baggage regardless if you paid for the flight with your WJ RBC WEMC. The card is linked to your WestJet Rewards account so they know you’re a cardholder.” These seem to be opposite answers. Can you please clarify?

    • Barry Choi on December 5, 2019 at 7:57 am

      Hey Arlene,

      You’re right, that’s a mistake on my end. I looked at the terms and conditions again and it doesn’t appear to say that you need to pay for your flight with your WestJet card to get free checked baggage. I’ll update the review now.

  79. Arlene on December 5, 2019 at 11:36 am

    Thanks for this clarification. Your site has been very useful in helping me understand the rewards of WJ Mastercard. My husband will probably apply for his own card. When you say to “use your link” to apply, is that the “Apply Now … ” link directly under your review?

    • Barry Choi on December 5, 2019 at 1:50 pm

      Hey Arlene,

      Yes, please use the big blue apply now button at the bottom of the review. That helps me as I earn a commission.

  80. tim macnab on December 14, 2019 at 4:44 pm

    Hi.

    When I get my annual voucher do I have 12 months to use it?

  81. tyler on January 1, 2020 at 9:11 am

    Is there an incentive to bringing a balance from another card ?

  82. Bernadette Tkachuk on January 8, 2020 at 12:15 pm

    Does the Westjet Elite Master Card Travel Insurance cover only the prime card holder and not others booked with the prime holders card (ie spouse)?

    • Barry Choi on January 8, 2020 at 2:33 pm

      Bernadette,

      The travel insurance only applies if you’re travelling with the primary cardholder.

  83. Randy Spencer on January 16, 2020 at 9:55 am

    I am done with westjet this my last booking the airline is just as bad or worse than air canada even being a cardholder westjet elite i get nothing in return even have to pay to pick my seats. Sadly westjet has become mediocre at best

  84. John Langley on January 16, 2020 at 9:21 pm

    Hi Barry, my wife and I are trying to decide between the WJ Elite and the BMO World Elite. Both reviews seem like they are each a decent choice. We do fly WestJet most often, but we are a little concerned about the lack of some of the insurance compared to the BMO card. Any thoughts or suggestions on this?

    • Barry Choi on January 16, 2020 at 9:24 pm

      John,

      This is how I see it. Like you, many people like the WJRBCWEMC because it has great benefits for frequent WestJet Flyers. However, as you’re well aware, the insurance is not the best. The solution is simple, get the BMO World Elite Mastercard and use it to pay for any of your flights so you’re insured. Alternatively, purchase a multi-trip travel insurance policy that covers all the travel insurance that you want.

      You get the companion voucher and free checked bags as long as you have the WJRBCWEMC, you do not have to charge your flights to the card to get them.

      • Carol on January 27, 2020 at 7:25 pm

        I’m a WJ cardholder and believe you have to charge the flight to the card to get free bags on the reservation. Are you sure that that isn’t a requirement?

        • Barry Choi on January 27, 2020 at 10:01 pm

          Carol,

          The fine print for free checked luggage states the following:

          Valid for primary cardholders of the WestJet RBC World Elite MasterCard and up to eight (8) additional guests travelling on the same reservation; not valid for companions when travelling on a group booking (10+ guests on the same reservation). Eligible member’s 9-digit WestJet Rewards ID must be on the reservation at the time of check-in. Valid on itineraries marketed and wholly operated by WestJet; not valid when travelling with WestJet’s code-share or interline partners. Size and weight of baggage must comply with WestJet’s standard checked baggage allowance. Any piece of baggage exceeding the size or weight allowance is subject to all applicable oversized weight and size restrictions and fees.

          Nowhere in there does it say you need to pay for your ticket with your card to get free checked bags

          • cmcgregor on January 28, 2020 at 8:42 am

            Thank you so much for clarifying. I’ve used the WJ Mastercard to pay for the airfare instead of another card with better benefits basically for this reason.



          • Barry Choi on January 28, 2020 at 8:51 am

            Yeah I hear you. I have the card just for the free baggage and companion voucher. When I pay for my flights I use a card with better travel insurance.



        • cmcgregor on January 28, 2020 at 12:23 pm

          Barry, this site is VERY informative … thank you!! I have another question.

          I’ve been scanning this morning for a travel card with cancellation insurance because my WJ MC doesn’t have it and had to recently cancel a flight due to illness of my travel companion and had to pay the fees.

          I’ve been looking at the various card’s insurance policies and note that most say they cover the traveler, SPOUSE and children. When travelling with my “companion” we always book on the same reservation and one of us pays for it and the other reimburses.

          If I authorize an “additional card” in this person’s name say for the BMO card ….would they then be covered with the insurances?

          • Barry Choi on January 28, 2020 at 1:30 pm

            Carol,

            Generally speaking, no insurance benefits don’t carry over to the supplementary cardholder. If both travellers are relying on their credit card insurance, you should book your tickets separately. You also need to read the details of each insurance policy. E.g. some allow you to use your trip cancellation if your travelling companion is no longer able to travel for an insured reason.



  85. John Langley on January 16, 2020 at 9:37 pm

    Thank you, I appreciate the reply and all of your informative reviews. Will be using your link to apply for the BMO Elite, possibly the WJ card and now also looking at the Scotiabank Passport for the no FEx fees.

    • Barry Choi on January 16, 2020 at 9:39 pm

      John,

      Instead of getting the Scotiabank Passport and paying a third annual fee, you’re probably better off getting a no annual fee, no forex card such as the Rogers World Elite Mastercard, the Hometrust Preferred Visa or the STACK Mastercard.

      Thanks for using my referral link!

  86. Paul on January 18, 2020 at 8:57 pm

    Hi Barry

    If I was to apply for the elite card in my name, can i book a flight for my wife and daughter and use the companion voucher for my daughter. I would not be travelling with them.

    Thanks in advance

    • Barry Choi on January 19, 2020 at 12:17 pm

      Hi Paul,

      Unfortunately, the companion voucher can only be used when the primary cardholder is travelling.

  87. Naomi on January 23, 2020 at 10:36 am

    I received my World Elite MC a few weeks ago and I used it to book myself of two children a trip back east.Now my husband is wanting to go as well, can I use the companion voucher on him?

    • Barry Choi on January 23, 2020 at 10:10 pm

      Naomi,

      Unfortunately not as you need to use at the same time you purchased your ticket. Note that you could have used it on one of your children.

  88. Danielle on January 25, 2020 at 3:11 pm

    I have a question for the “guru” of the RBC WestJet Elite Card.

    I have the card as the primary & my spouse is a co-applicant; are the benefits equally earned/shared or is the primary the only member having the full benefits (travel insurance coverage, first bag free…etc..) when travelling separately? Any enlightening info is appreciated.

    Thanks – Danielle

    • Barry Choi on January 26, 2020 at 5:42 am

      Hi Danielle,

      The benefits apply just to the primary cardholder. It may be worth having your spouse get their own card. Even though you’d end up paying two annual fees, you also get two annual companion vouchers. You can combine your WestJet dollars when making a redemption if you call in to make your reservation.

      • Danielle on January 27, 2020 at 11:04 am

        Thanks Barry, we’ll look into it further in the coming weeks.

  89. Paul Neil on January 26, 2020 at 9:31 am

    Do you need an RBC account to enjoy the features of this card and how do you pay your balance if you don’t have a RBC account.

    • Barry Choi on January 26, 2020 at 12:46 pm

      Paul,

      No, you don’t need to be an RBC client to get this card. To pay your WJ RBC World Elite Mastercard from another financial institution, you just set up RBC as a payee. Specifically, you’d choose RBC Visa and then your card number is the identifier.

      • Paul Neil on January 26, 2020 at 12:56 pm

        So they email your statement?

        • Barry Choi on January 26, 2020 at 1:27 pm

          They physically send you a statement.

  90. Prateek on February 15, 2020 at 6:38 pm

    Is the companion voucher only applicable to roundtrip flights? How about multicity?

    • Barry Choi on February 15, 2020 at 7:47 pm

      Prateek,

      Yes, you can use it for a multi-city trip but you need to call into customer service to use it.

  91. Prateek Singh on February 16, 2020 at 12:37 am

    Thanks. I also read that the primary can be booked using miles, but the website doesn’t give such an option. When you click companion voucher, member exclusive fares get greyed out. Are you supposed to call for the same?

    • Barry Choi on February 16, 2020 at 10:15 am

      Prateek,

      Do you mean using your WestJet Dollars? You can use them when booking flights with a companion voucher, however, member exclusive fares can’t be booked with a your companion voucher.

  92. Heather Pendragon on March 3, 2020 at 5:16 am

    My personal credit rating meets the requirements for this card. Having said that, I am not currently employed. My husband is the sole income earner for our household. We meet the 80K+ minimum application based on his income. I am the one who flys solo cross country or if a companion voucher would be used it would most likely be ME and a third party. Is it possible to have me as a primary with him as a guarantor and him as a secondary card holder? We would really only benefit from this card if I could be the primary card holder, but I am not the one with the income as I am at home. Because he RARELY flys and me almost never fly together, do you think this is possible? All our accounts are joint and I pay all the bills. Thoughts?

    • Barry Choi on March 3, 2020 at 8:10 am

      Heather,

      Let’s put it this way, during the application/approval process, credit card providers never verify the income requirement.

  93. Heather Pendragon on March 3, 2020 at 8:16 am

    ?? So they approve solely on credit score?

    • Barry Choi on March 3, 2020 at 8:22 am

      Heather,

      Credit score is one thing. What I’m saying is that if you exaggerated your or your household income, they would unlikely verify it.

  94. Heather Pendragon on March 3, 2020 at 8:30 am

    That’s interesting. Not something I would feel comfortable doing, but I’m surprised by that. I appreciate your wisdom oh Great Gazoo! 🙂

  95. carol on March 3, 2020 at 6:24 pm

    Hi Barry

    Do you happen to know if I book a WJ flight using my companion voucher and have to cancel the flight, would I get the companion voucher back as part of the travel bank credit (less the WJ cancel fees) or would I just get a monetary credit for the second person’s $99 fare (plus fees/taxes) and not have the voucher to use at a later date?

    • Barry Choi on March 3, 2020 at 8:13 pm

      Carol,

      I’m pretty sure you get the voucher back.

    • Nancy on March 7, 2020 at 7:37 am

      If there are changes in flight prices and I booked eco fare with WestJet MC, is it true that I get the difference added to WestJet Dollars?

      • carol on March 7, 2020 at 11:45 am

        I’m sure Barry can confirm that WJ doesn’t guarantee the price or refund the difference with any fare. Once it’s booked you get no compensation if the price goes down unless its within 24 hours of the original booking where you can cancel and re-book at the better rate. I think to get that option the flight needs to be booked online .. not sure if you can cancel if it is booked direct with an agent.

        • Barry Choi on March 7, 2020 at 12:28 pm

          Carol,

          That’s the way I understand it, no airline refunds or gives credit for the price difference.

  96. Stuart Munro on March 5, 2020 at 10:16 pm

    I believe the foreign exchange rate should explicitly show the foreign exchange fee separately.
    Showing the combined rate is deceiving.

  97. Darlene Stayko on March 30, 2020 at 1:09 pm

    I have a WestJet Elite card and my husband is also on my card. I am the primary card holder. He has never used his not even had it verified. Can I cancel him off the account? No sense paying the annual fee for him when it is in his drawer and never used.

    • Barry Choi on March 30, 2020 at 1:43 pm

      Darlene,

      Yes, you can cancel supplementary cards without it affecting you.

  98. Twylla Pearson on June 17, 2020 at 3:50 pm

    For the companion vouchers, if the primary card holder books a premium flight does the companion also receive a premium seat? Or the primary gets premium seating and the companion gets bumped to economy?

    • Barry.Choi on June 17, 2020 at 3:54 pm

      Hi Twylla,

      When using the companion voucher, both travellers need to be in the same type of seat e.g. economy or premium. I always use my voucher for premium bookings.

      • Twylla Pearson on June 17, 2020 at 4:14 pm

        Thanks so much Barry. Exactly what I was hoping to hear!! Appreciate your help

Leave a Comment