Canadian Tire is easily one of the most recognized retailers in Canada. They’ve been around for almost 100 years and throughout the years, they’ve reinvented themselves a few times. These changes have mostly been cosmetic as everyone know what they’ll get at Canadian Tire, but a couple of years ago they decided to change up their loyalty program.

Traditionally, Canadian Tire Money (CTM) was given out in the form of physical bills whenever you made purchases at Canadian Tire. However, now the rewards program is purely digital and called Triangle Rewards (you’re still technically earning Canadian Tire Money). Rewards can be earned via the app, a physical card or when you pay with one of the two Triangle Mastercards. 

In my Triangle World Elite Mastercard review, I’ll go over the earn rate and the benefits. I’ll also go over what you get with the Triangle Mastercard which is their entry level card.

Triangle World Elite Mastercard Review

Triangle World Elite Mastercard benefits

  • No annual fee
  • 4% back on qualifying  purchases made online and in-store at Canadian Tire, Mark’s, Sport Chek and Atmosphere
  • 3% back on grocery store purchases up to the first $12,000 in spend per year
  • 1% back on all other purchases
  • 7 cents back per litre on premium gas (where available) at any Gas+ location
  • No fee, no interest financing for qualifying purchases over $200 at Canadian Tire, Mark’s, Sport Chek and Atmosphere
  • Roadside Assistance Gold Plan
  • Purchase security and extended warranty

Triangle Mastercard benefits

  • No annual fee
  • 4% back on qualifying  purchases made online and in-store at Canadian Tire, Mark’s, Sport Chek and Atmosphere
  • 5 cents back per litre at Gas+ / Esence+, and Husky 
  • 0.8% back everywhere else you shop with your Triangle Mastercard
  • No fee, no interest financing for qualifying purchases over $200 at Canadian Tire, Mark’s, Sport Chek and Atmosphere

As you can see, both Triangle Mastercards have no annual fee, but the Triangle World Elite Mastercard offers superior benefits. Which card you qualify for is based on your income. You need a personal income of $80,000 or a household income of $150,000 to qualify for the Triangle World Elite Mastercard. If your income is below that threshold, you’d only qualify for the Triangle Mastercard.

Since this is a Triangle World Elite Mastercard Review, I’m going to assume you’re looking for the details of the higher end card. At face value, the 4% back in CTM / Triangle Rewards and 5 or 7 cents back per litre at any Gas+ location is quite appealing, but you need to consider how often you shop / fill up at those locations. The 3% back on groceries is also quite impressive, however, it doesn’t apply to Costco or Walmart purchases. Canadian Tire has always been quite generous with their loyalty program, so this is definitely a win.

You can still earn Canadian Tire Money even if you don’t have one of the credit cards as long as you have the mobile app or a physical loyalty card. There is still no minimum amount of CTM required to make a redemption which is quite nice.

The Roadside Assitance Gold Plan is normally $99 if bought separately, but you get it free with the World Elite card. This benefit is incredibly valuable as it includes 24 hour service in Canada and the U.S. for things such as tows, fuel, tire changes, battery boost, and unlocking. You also get 5 service calls up to 250 kilometres every year. There is an unlimited amount of tows if you’re going to a Canadian Tire Auto Service centre within your limits. Let’s be clear, this is free roadside assistance since the Triangle World Elite Mastercard has no annual fee.

Both cards give you the option of no fee, no interest financing for qualifying purchases over $200 at participating merchants. This is incredibly valuable since it can help you manage your cash flow. For example, you could choose to pay your $300 purchase over the course of year in equal installments which works out to $25 a month. If your purchase is over $500, you can choose a two-year repayment plan. There’s no interest charged whatsoever unless you miss a payment.

Interestingly enough, you can also use either Canadian Tire Mastercard to pay for major bills such as hydro and tuition. Normally, credit cards can’t be used for these bills, but for some reason the Canadian Tire Mastercards qualify. It’s really not a big deal, but it’s great for people who want to earn points on every purchase.

How Triangle Rewards works

As mentioned, Triangle Rewards is the loyalty program for Canadian Tire and its partner stores. You can earn Canadian Tire e-money (CTM) at the following locations:

  • Canadian Tire,
  • Gas+
  • Sport Chek,
  • Mark’s/L’Équipeur
  • Atmosphere

It’s worth mentioning that not all Mark’s/L’Équipeur and Atmosphere locations participate in Triangle Rewards. With Gas+ you can only earn rewards. As in, you can’t redeem your rewards at any of their locations. In addition, if you want to earn your points at Gas+, you can only pay with cash or debit.

If you get one of the Triangle Mastercards, you can earn Triangle Rewards at every merchant where your credit card is accepted.

A few other bonuses that come with Triangle Rewards include personalized bonus rewards, paperless receipts and the ability to cash in your CTM without any minimum threshold.

Of course, one major downside about Triangle Rewards is that you can only cash in your points at select merchants.

How the Triangle World Elite Mastercard compares to others

Despite the fact that your CTM / Triangle Rewards can be claimed at Canadian Tire, Sport Chek and participating Mark’s and Atmosphere stores, that’s still a limited amount of retailers where you can cash in your points. Now, if you shop at those stores on a regular basis, this card may very well be worth it.

A comparable credit card would be the PC Financial World Elite Mastercard where you earn 45 PC Optimum Points per $1 spent at Shoppers Drug Mart and 30 points where President’s Choice Products are sold. That works out to a 4.5% and 3% cash equivalent when redeeming points which is very similar to what the Triangle World Elite Mastercard is offering. 

That’s just me comparing two different store branded credit cards. It might actually be better to just get one of the best cash back credit cards in Canada since you’ll earn a decent rate of return at every merchant. 

When compared to other credit cards with no annual fee, the Triangle World Elite Mastercard offers a decent amount of “cash-back” options and benefits. It really comes down to where you shop on a regular basis and what kind of rewards you like to redeem. Alternatively, you could look at one of the best travel credit cards in Canada since you can get huge sign up bonuses.

Final thoughts

I don’t love this card personally, but my Triangle World Elite Mastercard review is positive since this card is clearly aimed at people who are loyal to Canadian Tire. It’s definitely not a bad card, just make sure your spending aligns with the rewards you’re earning.

Best Credit Cards Canada

 


Triangle World Elite Mastercard Review

36 Comments

  1. Max Eido on June 7, 2018 at 7:23 PM

    Yes awesome credit card, one of the best out there but the customer service is pathetic to say the list. I cancelled mine today in protest to inept customer service and ridiculous attitude

  2. Joephus on July 4, 2018 at 2:53 PM

    I got the World Elite.

    You forgot to mention that you are able to do a 24 month no-fee financing over $200 at CT, Sport Check, Marks, and Atmosphere. This was a big selling point for me because I can buy a lot of home products at CT at financing but I’m also into sports; so buying sports gear like snowboarding and clothing at SportCheck and be able to finance over 24 months is IMO a selling point!

    Also with the WE, the Roadside Assistance Gold Plan costs $99 separately which should also be noted. That’s another great benefit that should be looked at and what it offers to you.

    Also note that the Triangle app and in store offers have things like “Buy $50 worth, get $10 back” “Get 20x the points/Get 30x the points”. I’ve only used my card for a month and I already have $40 worth of points!

    All these at $0 yearly fee, it’s a great card.

    • Joephus on July 4, 2018 at 2:55 PM

      Oh and with the World Elite, I get first priority in Customer Service calls. There is also the concierge service so you can reserve restaurants and things.

      • Barry Choi on July 4, 2018 at 3:02 PM

        Joephus,

        Great points, I’ll update my post now.

      • Rick on December 13, 2018 at 3:52 PM

        I called into customer service and waited 30 minutes. I guess 500 others had the elite card as well calling in before I did. Lol

    • John on May 21, 2020 at 12:10 AM

      Hello Joephus,

      I Just applied to this card with 779, do you remember what was your score when got approved?

      • Joephus on May 21, 2020 at 12:27 AM

        802 was my score

        • John on May 21, 2020 at 12:32 AM

          And imagine with the 80,000 right? Damn it may be I shall wait..

  3. kelvin kam on January 10, 2019 at 5:54 PM

    the worst card I ever seen, I apply accidently when i do purchase in Canadian tire, and I found this card damage my credit. keep blocking the card when I try do a purchase. and the reason is because they don’t want I do a lot purchase per time….
    it’s been 5 times they block my card. I payoff the card balance by cheque, they hold the cheque for investigate and put my card balance on delay and count penalty. and hang me up more than 6 times once I call to customer service.

    • Barry Choi on January 10, 2019 at 6:39 PM

      Kelvin,

      WHen paying by cheque, there’s typically a hold period until the funds are released. If the funds aren’t released, then you would be charged as a late payment. To ensure you’re paying on time, you should be paying them directly via your online banking. Your credit score likely has gone down because you’ve been late on your payments.

  4. Kelvin on January 10, 2019 at 7:10 PM

    They hold my cheque for 15 days
    Is it normal?

    • Barry Choi on January 10, 2019 at 7:49 PM

      It’s not unusual. If you were to deposit a cheque into your own bank account, typically it would take 10 days to officially clear.

      If you were to apply for a different credit card and you paid via cheque, you’d likely run into the same issues.

  5. Renee on January 15, 2019 at 10:18 PM

    My iher MasterCard PC is world elite should I re apply for triangle world elite or stay with the one I have ? Can you get two triangle cards ?

    • Barry Choi on January 16, 2019 at 6:11 AM

      Hi Renee,

      Is your other Mastercard the PC Financial World Elite Card? That card earns you more points if you shop at participating stores where President’s Choice products are sold.

      I don’t think you can get two triangle cards

  6. Stefan on January 19, 2019 at 4:22 PM

    Nasty credit card… Unbelievable, they will charge interest on the highest balance you carried that month if you haven’t paid the entire amount before your due date so if you had $5,000 on your card at the highest point in the month and you pay 4990, you will be charged interest on $5,000.

    Also very aggressive customer service they sent me emails and text messages to remind me to pay my balance after I told him to shove their card up there beeeeep, even though I paid a huge amount of my balance every month and never been late for my payment, I just never paid the entire amount.

    I did cancel the card and will never recommend it to anybody for sure. The amount of Canadian Tire dollars I gathered over the time I had that card will never equal the interest they charged me because they charge interest on paid balance. They are extremely aggressive and I don’t believe even though their customer service people tell me that all credit cards are the same I believe there’s something wrong with the way triangle MasterCard does business.

    • Barry Choi on January 19, 2019 at 5:49 PM

      Stefan,

      Cash advances do not have an interest free period. If you fail to pay your balance, your credit score will take a major hit. If you ignore them completely, your balance will be sent to collections which will pretty much ruin your credit card for some time. I highly recommend paying off your bills in full as the hit to your credit score could prevent you from getting a loan in the future.

      • Stéfan on January 19, 2019 at 6:03 PM

        I wasn’ t talking about cash advances, just regular everyday purchases. I didn’ t pay entirely my balance for a couple months, (but still managing to make payment of aproximately 15x the minimum required payment and still using the card normally). Even though I would make huge payments every months as required, they still charged me interest based on the highest balance of the current month, which to me doesn’ t make any sense. they should charge interest based on the amount due at your due date.

        And the harrassment, emails, texts…. WTF ??? I’ m not a rogue user, I pay every paycheck (bi-weekly), just had a few bigger purchases a couple months ago and didn’ t managed to clear he balance immediately that same month.

        Canadian Tire Financial Services sucks and very aggressive. Definitely the type of people I want to do business with.

  7. C.G. on January 24, 2019 at 1:12 PM

    Personally I find this card just perfect. Customer service has alwYs answered my questions or issues with very polite people. Twice I purchased items prior to a 25 or 50 times the normal points and they applied the $$$ i missed out on. Infact, they game me cash towards my points for an issue I experienced. All credit cards work the same way. Remember it’s credit and you owe them the money in full each month. It’s just that simple. If your nice they will treat you the same way. Threatening someone that lends you money makes little sense no matter what they offer.

  8. Jim on February 12, 2019 at 5:13 PM

    Just to clarify – the purchase security and extended warranty benefits are included in the no fee benefit package. But, the optional products: Credit Protector Insurance, Identity Watch Classic or Canadian Tire Protection Advantage will require a monthly fee and only be activated if the user applied and enrolled into them.

    • Barry Choi on February 13, 2019 at 8:15 AM

      Jim,

      Yes good point. Credit Protector Insurance, Identity Watch Classic or Canadian Tire Protection Advantage have an extra charge which isn’t worth it in my opinion.

  9. Jim on March 1, 2019 at 8:11 PM

    They cancelled my card in good standing( bills always paid on time(with an expiry date that was still good) Customer service would not help me even citing they had “rebranded” and I SHOULD have received a new card. I was in line at a grocery store….and still needed to get gas, they stranded me.

  10. Brad on March 3, 2019 at 9:16 AM

    The card was alright. There was a mix up with someone and I haven’t gotten the rewards I thought I should have. I spent three hours in total on three different calls to correct the issue. The issue finally did get corrected however when I mentioned that having two cards on the app and two apps to track one card for having one card in my wallet was pretty confusing I was told that I was weong. It’s not that confusing. Yes it is. I’m exactly the person they want as a customer, pay on time, enough income and future income, shop consistently at Canadian tire and I’m wrong. I cancelled the card due to their responses. Customer service is bad but they think I’m wrong. Been two days since I cancelled and I’m still fuming. Hope everyone else has a better experience but I doubt it.

  11. J Paono on March 9, 2019 at 1:29 PM

    This card is horrible!

    They decrease your credit rating by reducing limit on card arbitrarily.

  12. Alex M on April 15, 2019 at 2:26 PM

    I was wondering if the MasterCard World Elite has similar traveling benefit like other WorldElite cards. Access to Airport lounge for example??

  13. SL on June 20, 2019 at 3:15 PM

    can you apply for this in canadian tire store? it seems like only the mastercard option available and not the world elite. i want the world elite and applied online and they said they didnt have my application and cant look it up even after 12 business days ?

    • Barry Choi on June 20, 2019 at 8:16 PM

      SL,

      The card you’re given is based on your income. If you have an income of $80,000 or a household income of $150,000, you would likely qualify for the World Elite version. If your income falls below that, you’d only qualify for the regular version.

  14. CHRISTINE LEGALL on September 19, 2019 at 7:17 PM

    Je déteste le service offert en ligne et par téléphone. Je perds mon temps dans les 2 cas.
    Pas capable d’aller payer en ligne mon compte WORLD ÉLITE. Ne parlons pas de la complexité pour fermer la carte triangle de base, mon dieu…
    Non, vraiment pas fort sur le plan bancaire.

  15. Allen on November 12, 2019 at 1:01 PM

    what is the Minimum credit limit on a World Elite MasterCard from Canadian Tire?

    • Barry Choi on November 13, 2019 at 5:27 AM

      Allen,

      I don’t believe there is a set minimum. An amount will likely be assigned to you when you apply based on your credit score.

  16. Derek on January 30, 2020 at 7:25 PM

    Ok so I got a mastercard from triangle. Card came quick and was easy to set up and activate. I made some purchases, and here’s where it gets extremely annoying, so I have a available credit with no payment due, and because of the transactions, they froze my card. Now I can understand that 100% to verify purchases that it’s me using the card. Ok that’ I can understand but to forced me to make a payment after I verified I am who I am and I have a available credit as well as no payment due to reinstate my card is criminal. Safe to say I’m paying the balance and canceling my card. I honour my my part of the deal and they can’t. Stay away!! These guys are crooks.

    • Barry Choi on January 31, 2020 at 12:15 AM

      Derek,

      That is beyond stupid. I would have cancelled too.

  17. Adam Nyp on February 25, 2020 at 8:00 PM

    One additional perk of the World Elite card, twice per year they have sent me coupons in the mail for a free oil change at CT and coupons for $20 oil change or $33 oil change and tire rotation in addition to $5 car wash coupons. Was a nice little surprise. Definitely liking this card!

  18. A hudec on March 26, 2020 at 5:15 PM

    .10 cents reward on 136.74 item seems hardly worth the bother of having it

  19. John on June 5, 2020 at 10:08 PM

    Got approved with 779 score, have other 3 cards with 10,000 limit. I always pay in full and never carry a balance. Never missed payments.

    • John on June 5, 2020 at 10:09 PM

      I think more than the 80,000 requirement, the score and your history is more important to be eligible for this card.

  20. Amanda on June 20, 2020 at 2:00 AM

    U can also pay in store and its updated the same day with debit or cash

Leave a Comment