TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card Review

**This post may contain affiliate links. I may be compensated if you use them.

Are you looking for TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card review? There are many different Aeroplan credit cards on the market, but TD is the official partner of Aeroplan. Truth be told, it doesn’t matter who’s the official partner since consumers should only care about how the travel rewards benefit them.

Although TD has three different Aeroplan cards, the most popular one is the TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card. It’s a mid-tier Aeroplan card, the annual fee is usually waived for the first year, and it’s comparable to some of the best travel credit cards in Canada. Keep reading my TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card review to find out if the card is any good and how it compares to other Aeroplan credit cards.

TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card

  • $139 annual fee
  • 10,000 Aeroplan points after your first purchase
  • 15,000 additional Aeroplan points when you spend $7,500 in the first 180 days
  • 15,000 Aeroplan points on your anniversary when you spend $12,000 in the first 12 months
  • Earn 1.5 Aeroplan points per $1 spent on gas, groceries, and Air Canada purchases
  • Earn 1 Aeroplan point per $1 spent on all other purchases
  • First bag checked free on Air Canada flights

Welcome bonus and earn rate

With the TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card, the sign up offer is usually around 40,000 – 70,000 Aeroplan points. Let’s be clear, that’s an excellent bonus. Remember, there’s usually a first-year annual fee rebate, so you can easily earn a lot of Aeroplan points. You just need to meet the minimum spend requirement.

You get the annual fee of $139 waived for the TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card if you have a TD All-Inclusive Chequing Account. Plus, if you keep at least $5,000 in the account, you get your monthly chequing account fees waived. This works out great when the welcome offer has an anniversary bonus.

As for the earn rate. It’s comparable to some of the best Aeroplan credit cards. You’ll earn 1.5 Aeroplan points per dollar spent on gas, groceries, and Air Canada purchases. All other purchases earn you 1 Aeroplan point per dollar spent.

Benefits and perks

Now it’s time to go over the benefits in my TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card review. The card has an annual fee of $139, but it’s often waived for the first year. What will appeal to most people is that this card comes with many travel perks.

Air Canada benefits

  • Free first checked bag – The primary cardholder and up to eight travelling companions on the same itinerary get your first checked bag free.
  • Reach Aeroplan status more easily – For every $10,000 you charge to your card, you’ll earn 1,000 Status Qualifying Miles and one Status Qualifying Segment. Plus, you can roll over up to 200,000 unused Status Qualifying Miles for the following year.

NEXUS rebate

Frequent flyers will love how there’s a $100 NEXUS application fee rebate for the primary cardholder and additional cardholders. This benefit can be applied once every 48 months. Since your NEXUS card is good for five years, you’ll never have to pay an application fee.

Save on rental cars

When renting a car at Avis or Budget and paying with your TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card, you’ll save at least 10% on the base rate in Canada and the U.S. When travelling internationally, you’ll save at least 5% at participating locations.

Travel insurance

  • Travel medical – $2,000,000 for 21 days / 4 days if you’re 65 or older
  • Trip cancellation – up to $1,500 per person / $5,000 total
  • Trip interruption – up to $5,000 per person / $25,000 total
  • Flight/trip delay – up to $500 / 4 hours
  • Delayed and lost baggage – up to $1,000 / 6 hours
  • Hotel/motel burglary – $2,500
  • Auto rental collision/loss damage – 48 consecutive days / $65,000
  • Common carrier travel accident insurance – $500,000

As you can see, the TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite comes with comprehensive travel insurance. Your travel medical insurance covers you for a respectable 21 days, but you only get four days if you’re 65 or older. The only complaints about the included travel insurance are that your delayed baggage insurance only kicks in after six hours (other policies have it at four) and the car rental insurance of $65,000 (other policies cover $85,000).

Mobile device insurance

The included mobile device insurance covers phones and tablets up to $1,000 from loss, theft, or damage. You do need to charge the entire amount of your device or the monthly bill to your TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card for the insurance to apply. Also, note that depreciation would apply if you ever need to make a claim.

Purchase insurance 

  • Purchase security – 90 days
  • Extended warranty – Up to one additional year

If you didn’t know, purchase security protects you from loss, theft and damage for 90 days. The extended warranty automatically doubles your manufacturer’s warranty for up to one additional year. These loss damage insurance benefits may not seem important, but like any other insurance, you’ll be glad you have it when needed.

Visa Infinite benefits

  • Concierge service – Call the Visa Infinite Concierge 24/7 and have them make your dinner reservations or find you the perfect gift.
  • Luxury Hotel Collection – When booking a property through the Visa Infinite Luxury Hotel Collection, you’ll get exclusive benefits such as dining credits and room upgrades.
  • Dining Series – Cardholders can attend exclusive culinary events with celebrity chefs.
  • Wine Country program – When showing your Visa Infinite Card at participating wineries in British Columbia, Ontario and Sonoma Valley, you’ll get discounts on purchases and free tastings.
  • Entertainment access – Get invites to special events throughout the year and exclusive access to the Toronto International Film Festival.
  • Troon Golf – Get Troon Rewards Silver Status and 10% off green fees, merchandise and lessons.

The above benefits are nice, but you’ll unlikely use them often. That said, the Luxury Hotel Collection is always worth looking into as the credits and perks you can often offset the cost of your stay.

How to redeem your points

Aeroplan went through a major revamp in 2021, but it’s now more consumer friendly. That’s because any available seat on Air Canada can be redeemed with your points. In addition, Aeroplan has 45+ airline partners where you can use your points on seats (when available).

The number of points it takes for a free flight depends on where you’re flying from, where you’re flying to, and the seat class. This is all outlined in the flight rewards chart, so you can get a rough idea of how many points a flight will cost you.

That said, Aeroplan uses dynamic pricing. That means popular routes and peak times result in prices that may exceed the flight chart. In addition, fees, taxes and surcharges will apply.

I personally value one Aeroplan point at two cents. After averaging out the cost of hundreds of flights, I came to this conclusion. That means a welcome bonus of 50,000 Aeroplan points could easily yield a real value of $1,000.

Besides flights, you can use your Aeroplan points for Air Canada Vacations, hotels, car rentals, gift cards, and merchandise. When signing up for this card, you can input your current Aeroplan number. If you’re a new member, a number will be assigned to you.

TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card eligibility

  • You’re a Canadian citizen or are a permanent resident
  • You’re at least the age of majority in the province or territory where you live
  • You have a minimum annual personal gross income of $60,000 or a household income of $100,000

As a Visa Infinite Card, the eligibility requirements are mainly based on your residency status and income. Even though the application process doesn’t specifically mention any minimum credit score requirement, you’ll want yours to be at least 670 since that would put you in good standing. With anything less, there’s a greater chance that you’ll be declined when applying for this card.

How the TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card compares

TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card vs. American Express Aeroplan Card

The TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite’s stiffest competition is likely the American Express Aeroplan Card. The Amex card gives you 2 points per dollar spent on Air Canada purchases and 1.5 points per $1 spent on dining and food delivery, which is better than TD. However, TD has a better earning rate on gas and groceries. Plus, the TD card has better travel insurance.

TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card vs. CIBC Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card

Another card worth looking at is the CIBC Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card since it’s practically the same as the TD card. The only difference you’ll usually find is in the welcome bonus. It’s not uncommon for people to apply for both cards as it would allow them to quickly earn 100,000+ Aeroplan points.

TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card vs. WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard

I also want to point out how the WestJet RBC World Elite Mastercard gives you your first checked bag and a companion voucher. So it offers similar airline benefits, but it only applies to WestJet. If you fly WestJet more often than Air Canada, it probably makes more sense to get the WestJet card.

Final thoughts

My TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card review is positive. The card usually has an excellent welcome bonus, and the earn rate is comparable to other Aeroplan cards. This is an ideal card for those in the following situations:

  • You want to earn Aeroplan points – Just about every purchase you make with your card will earn you Aeroplan points.
  • You frequently fly with Air Canada – The primary cardholder and up to eight travel companions on the same reservation get their first checked bag free.
  • You want travel insurance – Those aged 65 or under get 21 days of travel medical insurance. In addition, you get comprehensive extended travel insurance such as trip cancellation and lost baggage.

Honestly, with no annual fee for the first year, this card is a no-brainer. Plus, since you get your first checked bag free, that could pay for the annual fee itself. The one thing you want to look out for is the welcome bonus. Sometimes it’s earned with a lump sum, while at other times, it’s spread out over multiple months.

About Barry Choi

Barry Choi is a Toronto-based personal finance and travel expert who frequently makes media appearances. His blog Money We Have is one of Canada’s most trusted sources when it comes to money and travel. You can find him on Twitter:@barrychoi

79 Comments

  1. Jeremy on February 13, 2019 at 12:01 AM

    Hello,

    I have the Amex Cobalt card and since it’s not accepted at all retailers, I would like a Visa or Mastercard that would combine points with the Amex. I realized that you can convert Amex points to Aero plan points, that’s why I’m considering the TD aero plan card to compliment my cobalt card.

    I was wondering if there’s any other travel credit cards that would somehow combine points with the cobalt like the TD aero plan card can.



    • Barry Choi on February 13, 2019 at 8:13 AM

      Hi Jeremy,

      Jeremy, the TD Aeroplan card is a good complimentary card, but note that it has an annual fee of $120 (waived if you have an all inclusive account with TD).

      If you don’t want to pay an annual fee, just use a no-fee cash back card such as the Tangerine Money-Back card.



      • Yee on July 21, 2021 at 1:54 AM

        All air ticket got first bag free to check in, right?



        • Barry Choi on July 21, 2021 at 6:31 AM

          Yes, as long as you have the card, you get the first bag checked free.



  2. Jeremy on February 14, 2019 at 12:33 PM

    Hi Barry,

    After further research and experiences from my friends, Aeroplan seems to be very difficult to book flights and you are expected to pay a lot more than expected after using Aeroplan.

    Check out this link from users of their experience.

    https://www.consumeraffairs.com/travel/aeroplan.html

    I’m in a pickle. I want to switch banks to either TD, RBC, BMO, or Scotia but I have all these points from my American Express Cobalt. I want to open up a chequing account as well as get a visa or MasterCard that I can earn points to combine the cobalt points. It seems that Aeroplan seems to be my only option but it’s rewards program is really poor.

    I guess the other options would be to get another credit card that has a good rewards program but is separate from the Amex points. Or just stick with the Amex points and just go to places that only accept Amex. However there are some things that in need to purchase that don’t accept Amex such as the Skytrain. I can only use visa or MasterCard.

    Would you suggest any other options?



    • Barry Choi on February 14, 2019 at 12:38 PM

      Hi Jeremy,

      If the Cobalt card is your main card, then the best value for your points is their fixed mileage program. The TD Aeroplan card doesn’t really complement the Cobalt card.

      You can always apply for another credit card without switching banks.

      If you want another card that earns you points where Amex isn’t accepted, it might make more sense to just get a no fee cash back card such as the Tangerine Money Back card or the Rogers World Elite Mastercard since it has no foreign exchange fees.



      • TM on May 18, 2023 at 8:18 AM

        TD cards are not usable or paired with Google pay. A big disappointment



        • Barry Choi on May 18, 2023 at 10:28 AM

          TM,

          Even more annoying since they took out tap to pay from their own app.



  3. Jeremy on February 14, 2019 at 1:47 PM

    Hey Barry,

    The only reason why I wanted to switch banks was because I’m with Vancity Credit Union. I want to get a premium account and then have the annual fee waived. My initial plan was to get the BMO world elite but looking at reviews it’s apparently devalued now because they changed their point system.

    What other premium accounts would you recommend where they offer the annual fee of the credit card that has a good rewards program?



    • Barry Choi on February 14, 2019 at 1:52 PM

      Jeremy,

      Okay, that makes sense. TD Does offer the Aeroplan Infinite Visa card free if you have an all-inclusive account with them so it’s worth looking into.

      The BMO card was devalued a bit, but it’s not awful. I like the Scotiabank Passport card since it gives you 6 airport lounge passes and has no forex fees. I’m not sure if Scotia waves the annual fee if you have a premium account with them though.



      • Ken on October 10, 2022 at 3:08 PM

        I am already a member of the Aeroplane and has accumulated several thousand points. If I apply for a TD Aeroplan Infinite Visa card, do I get a new Aeroplan number or can I use the same Aeroplan card? Can I transfer my welcoming bonus TD Aeroplan points to my existing Aeroplan card if I want to cancel the T D Infinite card after 11 months if I do not want to renew the TD card? Thank you, Barry.



        • Barry Choi on October 11, 2022 at 1:27 AM

          Ken,

          When you apply for the card, you just put in your existing Aeroplan number. All points accumulated from your credit card will go to your existing account. Once the points are in your Aeroplan account, it won’t matter if you cancel your card. You won’t lose your points.



          • ken on October 11, 2022 at 10:21 AM

            Thanks Barry for your reply. How do you cancel my comments dated Oct 10 as I would like to remove my last name? Can I remove it myself? That would be great if you can do it for me. Thanks again.



          • Barry Choi on October 11, 2022 at 5:03 PM

            I took care of it for you.



  4. Jeremy on February 14, 2019 at 3:13 PM

    Hey Barry,

    I just checked and it doesn’t waive the annual fee. However the monthly fee is just 13.95 so I wouldn’t mind paying the annual fee. How is the scotia rewards program compared to the BMO world elite, RBC Avion and TD First Class Travel VISA Infinite card? Which has the best rewards program out of all of them?



    • Barry Choi on February 14, 2019 at 3:22 PM

      Jeremy,

      Looks like one of Scotia’s bank accounts waives the monthly account fee if you keep a minimum of $4,000 in the account. You’d still have to pay the annual fee for any credit cards. Most of the bank credit card rewards programs are similar. That being said, RBC is arguably the best since you can transfer your points to WestJet Rewards. CIBC is also good since you can call in and use their full service travel agency. Scotiabank is in the middle, BMO’s is arguably the worst.



  5. Jeremy on February 15, 2019 at 12:50 AM

    Hi Barry,

    In regards to BMO, how about the BMO world elite air miles card? How would that compare to RBC and scotia rewards? TD infinite first class travel card also seems intriguing. So BMO air miles, RBC Avion, TD first class travel card, and the scotia bank passport infinite card. Which one would compliment my cobalt card and gain the fastest points as well as has a good rewards program? Which one would you recommend from these?



    • Barry Choi on February 15, 2019 at 5:28 AM

      Jeremy,

      Air Miles is a terrible program and has a low redemption value. RBC / Scotia / TD all have more flexibility with their points. The TD aeroplan card has a 30K sign up bonus right now that got announced yesterday so that card is totally worth applying for now.

      As for a complement, I’d say the TD infinite first class card is a good choice but only if you plan on setting up an account with TD where you get the annual fee waived for the card.



  6. Jeremy on February 15, 2019 at 6:12 AM

    Hi Barry,

    So you would go for the The infinite first class from TD over the RBC Avion if you were in my position?



  7. Jeremy on February 15, 2019 at 7:29 AM

    To add to my previous comment, this shows a comparison between rbc, TD, and CIBC infinite cards.

    https://pointshogger.boardingarea.com/comparison-between-td-cibc-and-rbc-infinite-travel-cards-updated-october-20-2018/

    Let me know your thoughts!



    • Barry Choi on February 15, 2019 at 8:33 AM

      Jeremy,

      When choosing a secondary card, you need to consider what your goal is. You already have the cobalt as your main card, so your secondary card is meant to be used to earn points at merchants that don’t accept Amex. You also stated that you wanted to change banks.

      I suggested the TD Visa Infinite card because you can get the annual fee waived if you have an all-inclusive account with TD. That being said, TD does have a promo for the TD Aeroplan card right now where the first year is free and you get a 30K Aeroplan points sign up bonus which is one of the best offers out there right now.



  8. Jeremy on February 15, 2019 at 6:01 PM

    Barry,

    I understand where you’re coming from. I just wish Aeroplan had a better program. A lot of negative experiences that my friends have experienced and negative reviews online. How about for the RBC British Airways card? I know that British Airways is partners with American Express. Am I able to convert my cobalt points to British Airways Avios? If not, then I’ll just stick with the Aeroplan just to use as a backup.



    • Barry Choi on February 15, 2019 at 7:31 PM

      Jeremy,

      Your Cobalt points can only be used for the fixed mileage program so you wouldn’t be able to transfer them to BA. That being saidm you can transfer your points to Marriott and then from Marriott to BA, but you would get a lower redemption rate. With the current promotions going on, it might make the most sense to collect Aeroplan as your backup.



  9. Jeremy Marcelo on February 15, 2019 at 8:20 PM

    Barry,

    Sounds good! Would it be a good to get one of the American Express aeroplan cards to get more benefits as well?



    • Barry Choi on February 15, 2019 at 8:33 PM

      It depends. Amex allows you to transfer MR points to Aeroplan at 1:1 so getting the Gold Rewards card can be a good value since the signup bonus is 25K points and the annual fee is only $150. Combine that with the TD card and all of a sudden you have 55K Aeroplan points assuming you can meet the minimum spend.



  10. Jeremy on February 15, 2019 at 9:22 PM

    Perfect! Thank you so much for your input and taking the time to respond to my questions. I know I ask a lot of questions but I just wanted to see what my options were. Thanks again!



  11. Byron Kwan on March 3, 2019 at 3:48 PM

    If you are using TD Aeroplan VISA for travel insurance coverage, don’t. I’ve been using this credit card since its inception. This is the first time I ever made a travel insurance claim (under TD Aeroplan VISA travel insurance) because of a medical emergency. After more than 6 phone calls with Allianz to clarify the hows and whats to fill in the insurance claim form, my claim finally came back as “denied” because Allianz (TD VISA’s insurer) asserts that I did not pay the full cost of the travel package – the reason, I used a discount couple. The representative from Allianz explained that in order to qualify, I must pay the travel package in full price and not discounted. Allianz treat all discounts as a form of payment….so if your travel agent gives you a discount on your travel package, according to Allianz’s rep, your insurance is no longer valid for that particular trip. Based on my understanding, you will not be covered if you purchase your travel package that is on sale (ie discounted) or using a discount coupon.



    • Barry Choi on March 3, 2019 at 3:59 PM

      Byron,

      That sounds like absolute bullshit on Allianz’s end. I don’t even know what to say to that. That’s absolutely ridiculous.



  12. Jen on April 5, 2019 at 8:42 PM

    Hi Barry,
    if I get a supplemental card, do we both get one maple leaf lounge access a year if we’re both traveling on aeroplan reward flight?
    usually it would be one per year per aeroplan reward flight. if i sign up for supplemental card, would the secondary card holder also be eligible?



    • Barry Choi on April 5, 2019 at 9:31 PM

      Hi Jen,

      The perks only apply to the primary cardholder.



  13. Murray on April 19, 2019 at 9:08 AM

    Hi Barry,

    Just found your site today. What a great wealth of information. Thank you! I was wondering what your thoughts were on the Desjardin Odyssey World Elite Master Card. There is no signing bonus, but it looks like it has solid perks, especially if you are a member of the credit union and it appears that it should be easy to make rewards claims.



    • Barry Choi on April 19, 2019 at 10:42 AM

      Hi Murray,

      It depends. The card is good if you fly out of Montreal a lot because you’ll get access to the Desjardins lounge (there is no priority pass lounge in YUL). The travel insurance is also quite good. The rate of return as a cash back card is decent, but I feel like the Scotiabank Momentum Visa is a bit better. I personally prefer travel rewards cards which I why I don’t love the Desjardins card but I admit it’s a good fit for some people.



  14. Nick on April 25, 2019 at 5:02 PM

    Hello Barry,

    Could you please do an article about ways to get credit cards to cover you with their travel insurance when purchasing tickets through rewards?

    I called Amex about the platinum card, BMO about the world elite mastercard, and scotiabank about the passport visa. They all said that if i book my ticket using AEROPLAN then none of the cards insurance benefits apply to me. Bummer. TD and CIBC seem to be the only issuers whom provide insurance benefits to you if you purchase a plane ticket through aeroplan using one of their co-branded credit cards.

    I’d be very interested to hear your thoughts on this since the primary method of churning i’ve settled with is to get sign up bonuses for air miles and aeroplan and then booking flights using those programs.

    Keep up the good work,
    Nick.



    • Barry Choi on April 25, 2019 at 5:06 PM

      Hey Nick,

      That’s a great topic idea and something I should tackle in the future.

      One thing to note about the BMO World Elite Mastercard. If you read the terms and conditions, it says you can charge any amount of your travel purchases for your insurance to be valid. That means if you booked a flight with Aeroplan but then paid the taxes with your BMO World Elite card, then your travel insurance would be valid.

      I really need to dive into this topic further.



      • Nick on April 30, 2019 at 12:18 AM

        Thanks Barry, i look forward to reading about the write up if you do!

        Out of curiosity, aside from the BMO World Elite Mastercard, what other credit cards offer insurance benefits when you just charge the taxes and fees?



        • Barry Choi on April 30, 2019 at 8:15 AM

          Nick,

          The BMO one is the only one I know of, but that’s only because I haven’t really ever looked into it.



  15. Maria on April 30, 2019 at 8:55 AM

    Hi Barry, how would you rate the CIBC Aeroplan card offerings versus TD’s. I’m looking at getting one of them, but seeing that TD recently upped their foreign exchange fees to 3%, where most other credit cards are at 2.5%, I’m not sure TD is the best in the long run. Also on my list to consider is the BMO World Elite AirMiles Mastercard, but you don’t seem to rate it too highly. I find trying to compare all these cards and their “benefits” confusing!



    • Barry Choi on April 30, 2019 at 9:05 AM

      Hi Maria,

      The TD Aeroplan Visa charges 2.5% forex fee. TD charges 3% for debit withdrawals with foreign ATMs I believe. The TD Aeroplan card has a MUCH better signup bonus than the CIBC card.

      I hate AirMiles cards since the miles are hard to redeem despite what they tell you.

      It really depends on what you’re looking for. Do you want to earn Aeroplan points fast or are you looking for a good all in one travel card that gives you no forex fees?

      If you need Aeroplan points fast, get the TD card. If you want a well roudned card, I suggest the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite card.



  16. Maria on April 30, 2019 at 9:30 AM

    Thanks Barry. I have the Home Trust VISA which has no “forex fees”, which I use when abroad, but have read that support is quite limited if issues with the card occur while one is away. When I was looking at TD’s aeroplan card, I believe I read that all TD cards are at 3% “forex fees” 🙁 . That being said, for day to day purchases it would be a good way to accumulate aeroplan points.

    I’m looking for a card that provides good point/mile accumulations but at a reasonable cost. I’m not fond of AMEX given a few “bad” experiences over the last few years, and the fact that not all merchants accept AMEX.

    In general what is your take on the points plans that RBC, CIBC, AMEX, and other credit cards have? Are they any easier to redeem for flights on any carrier – their being the selling point – any carrier versus simply Air Canada (not sure if 5 star alliance is covered by Aeroplan.).



    • Barry Choi on April 30, 2019 at 9:46 AM

      Maria,

      I literally just clicked through the application fee page on the TD Aeroplan card and it showed 2.5%. I agree that the Home Trust card can be questionable, but if it’s currently working for you, stick with it.

      Every program is a bit different. I like Scotia Rewards cards cuz they’re quite flexible, but so are BMO Rewards. RBC has a few transfer partners in Avios and WestJet so they’re good too. All three programs let you redeem for any flights.

      With an Aeroplan card, you’re forced to redeem with Aeroplan which could be a good or bad thing. Although you may have had a bad experience with Amex, I think their points are the most flexible since they can transfer to Aeroplan, Marriott.

      You can use your Aeroplan points on Star Alliance flights.



  17. sharad patel on June 6, 2019 at 7:39 PM

    Do you know of any credit card that provides travel and medical insurance for seniors over eighty yrs. old.



    • Barry Choi on June 6, 2019 at 7:45 PM

      As far as I know, travel insurance on credit cards cap at the age of 75



  18. amy on August 27, 2019 at 10:37 AM

    Hello
    Does this card give points for pre-authorized bill payments?



    • Barry Choi on August 27, 2019 at 10:47 AM

      You would get the base earn rate of 1 Aeroplan mile per $1 spent on pre-authorized bill payments



  19. Don on November 24, 2019 at 9:00 PM

    I don’t know who you are Barry Choi, but I can tell your readers that Aeroplan is a nightmare to try and book flights through. From a long time aeroplan card holder, take it from me, go get a cash back card instead because this thing is beyond useless. The website is horrendous. The app is worse. The call centre is a bit more helpful but direct flights almost anywhere are rare. In my experience, Hotels and rental cars are charging way over market rate against the points. Unfortunately my business is run through it and it would be too much trouble to change all the monthly charges that get put against it, but if I knew then what I know now, I would have NEVER, EVER signed up for this card.



  20. […] most popular premium credit card might be the TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite, but many people don’t realize that TD also has its own credit card loyalty program in TD […]



  21. Gloria on December 29, 2019 at 12:18 AM

    You are such a wealth of knowledge.. thank you !
    If I sign up for TD Aeroplan infinite, will the bonus miles disappear if I cancel after the first “Free” year? I current have a CIBC Aeroplan infinite card



    • Barry Choi on December 29, 2019 at 8:13 AM

      Gloria,

      No, because the points will be connected to your Aeroplan number. TD can’t claw those points back since you’ve already earned them.



  22. R Turner on January 1, 2020 at 1:57 PM

    Feeling very ripped off by this card and aero plan program. We have almost 200,000 aeroplan miles so wanted to use some for 2 flights to Costa Rica from Calgary in March 2020. After booking and using 78000 miles the taxes and fees cost were quoted around $750. We felt we would still save money until we saw the final bill was double that! The taxes and fees ended up being more expensive than just paying for the flights on Air Canada plus using all those miles. We canceled the trip and rebooked through AC. We have also been denied coverage for a canceled hotel stay due to a death in the family!!
    Will be looking for a way to use the miles and change our credit card.



    • Barry Choi on January 1, 2020 at 2:44 PM

      R Turner,

      There are definitely some routes on Aeroplan that aren’t as valuable as others. Another example would be to Paris where the taxes are close to $800 but an actual paid fare can be found for about the same price. You really need to look at the sweet spots to see where you can get the best value for your points.

      As for the cancelled hotel, you’d have to look at the terms and conditions. Trip cancellation can be quite strict.



  23. SD on January 2, 2020 at 6:14 AM

    Hi barry, I saw this while applying for a credit card: “Dishonoured Payment Fee: $42.00 each time a payment you make from or to your credit card account is dishonoured.” Like if your credit card is declined? I don’t quite understand?



  24. SD on January 2, 2020 at 6:18 AM

    Another question: Are there ever inactive fees for not using your credit card for a long time? Thanks



    • Barry Choi on January 2, 2020 at 8:13 AM

      Hi SD,

      The “Dishonoured Payment Fee” refers to when you try to make a payment with a cheque or an automated payment and it gets declined to non-sufficent funds. It does not apply to incidents where your credit card is declined.

      I’m also not aware of any fees you’d pay for inactivity but as you’re aware, there’s an annual fee.



      • SD on January 4, 2020 at 6:15 AM

        Thanks! I read in one of your other articles that some “cards require you to charge 75%-100% of your trip expenses for your travel insurance to be valid.” does this TD aeroplan card have such a requirement?



        • Barry Choi on January 4, 2020 at 12:17 PM

          SD

          If you look at page 34 of the benefit coverages guide, it states you must charge the FULL amount to your card for the insurance to apply

          https://www.tdcanadatrust.com/document/PDF/tdvisa/AeroplanInfiniteAgreement_533810.pdf?click=ams-af-agreement-TD%20Aeroplane%20Visa%20Infinite



          • SD on January 4, 2020 at 9:55 PM

            Thanks for looking that up for me! 🙂 (will definitely use your referral links in the future to return the favour.) sorry for the detailed questions, but does “full cost” just means plane tickets? Or does it include hotels and whatever tours and museums I’ll book while on the trip?



          • Barry Choi on January 5, 2020 at 12:47 PM

            SD,

            It’s specific to the insurance e.g. for your flight insurance, you need to charge the full amount of your flights to your card. For car rental insurance, you charge the full amount of the car rental to your card etc.



  25. Simon on December 9, 2021 at 7:43 AM

    I don’t see this card offer any device purchase protection / extended warranty any more. Is it hidden somewhere or have they removed it?



    • Barry Choi on December 9, 2021 at 8:50 AM

      SImon,

      It’s buried on their website under the security expandable tab.

      https://www.td.com/ca/en/personal-banking/products/credit-cards/aeroplan/aeroplan-visa-infinite-card/



      • Leigh merchant on June 11, 2022 at 4:06 PM

        Incompetent staff cancelled my card without contacting me, inconveniencing me in many ways. Not acceptable and I would advise using this card for international travel. I am left without a way to rent a vehicle, pay for fuel or lodging, or even groceries. Ridiculous and I strongly advise against using this card. They gave me me 20,000 airmile points and 200 deductible on my visa but this is nothing compared to what it will actually cost me financially and in lost time and effort. Completely unacceptable! MasterCard is far better as one can at least contact them. One hour and a half on a costly phone call on hold to call Visa Canada. That alone cost me $60.00.



  26. ken on December 2, 2022 at 12:31 PM

    Thanks Barry for sharing your knowledge. Does this TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite card covers refund for payments booked for hotels if I have to cancel the hotels? I understand the card refunds up to $1,500 for airfares cancelled. If I am the card holder, does that mean my wife also is separately covered up to $1,500? Any idea which company offers the cheapest fees for the trip cancellation and interruption? How does that compare if I want to top up the difference for trip cancellation up to $5K per person if I go with TD Infinite and compare it to another insurance company? Which is cheaper?

    Thank you Barry for your help.



    • Barry Choi on December 2, 2022 at 1:13 PM

      Hey Ken,

      The trip cancellation insurance only covers you if you cancel for a qualifying reason. Assuming your wife is on the same itinerary, she’s also covered up to $1,500. That said, let’s say your hotel is $1,000. That only leaves you with $500 in coverage left. You wouldn’t be able to apply the rest to your wife’s unused insurance. The same thing would apply to the privilege card, but you get up to $2,500 per person.

      To be honest, my strategy these days is to book a fully refundable hotel since I could cancel for any reason. Closer to my travel dates, when I know I’m going for sure, I’ll look for something cheap (if available) and then cancel my fully refundable hotel. Sometimes the fully refundable rooms cost a little more, but I think it’s worth it.

      There’s no card with the cheapest fees, but the card with the best insurance is the National Bank World Elite Masteracrd – https://www.moneywehave.com/national-bank-world-elite-mastercard-review/



  27. ken on December 2, 2022 at 1:25 PM

    Thanks Barry for your great advice.
    Does the trip cancellation insurance covers you if you cancel your trip due to soaring covic cases if you are not sick but do not want to take chances of getting infected? Not sure if this falls under the qualifying reason. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks again Barry.



  28. ken on December 4, 2022 at 1:17 PM

    Barry, I have another question regarding the trip cancellation. Hope you don’t mine. Does the $1,500 apply to each separate trip every time you use the card to book a trip? Say, you travel 10 trips in a year, does that mean you are covered 10 times for each trip separately? I guess it’s the same for the trip interruption too.

    Thanks Barry for sharing your valuable knowledge. Have a great day.



    • Barry Choi on December 4, 2022 at 9:44 PM

      Hey Ken,

      Yes, it would apply per trip.



  29. Sylvie on January 25, 2023 at 9:05 AM

    Hello Barry,
    I have a Mastercard HSBC world elite with 160,000 points. I applied for an Aeroplan Infinite card it should arrive this week. I am going to Lisbonne from Montreal in June. Should I wait to have the TD card and buy my plane ticket with it or should I use my points with my HSBC Mastercard?

    Thank you



    • Barry Choi on January 25, 2023 at 10:06 AM

      Hey Sylvie,

      If you waited to get your TD card, it would help you reach your minimum spend requirement to get your welcome bonus.



  30. Humayun on May 18, 2023 at 12:41 AM

    Hi Barry,
    Great information up there.
    I was wondering whether you’ve any comparison basis between Expedia for TD and CIBC travel agency (Rewards center).
    My travel is mostly non air Canada related, so I look upon either for TD first class travel Visa infinite or CIBC Aventura Visa infinite to have flexibility with airline selection.
    Let me know based on your experience or feedback from reasonable resources.
    Thanks.



    • Barry Choi on May 18, 2023 at 6:36 AM

      Humayun,

      I haven’t compared the two agencies directly, mainly because I prefer to book things on my own. Generally, if you’re looking for flexibility, you should consider American Express Membership Rewards or Scene+, that’s because both programs allow you to apply your points to any travel purchase you make on your own. That includes travel purchases not made via their respective travel portals.



      • Humayun on May 18, 2023 at 5:57 PM

        Ok, I see.
        Those 2 portals that I mentioned (Expedia for TD and CIBC Rewards center) also allows us to book things on our own using the points from their respective credit cards. I was just looking a second opinion about which one of those may have been found better than the other one.
        But all good 🙂



        • Barry Choi on May 19, 2023 at 6:38 AM

          If you’re talking strictly about Expedia for TD and the CIBC travel portal, they’re essentially the same.

          With TD Rewards, if you book travel on your own (as in not on TD Rewards), there’s a lower redemption value for your points. For CIBC Rewards, you must book through their portal or call in and have them make the booking for you.

          With American Express Membership Rewards, you can book directly at any travel site. For example Air Canada, Marriott, Booking.com and then you can apply your points to those purchases. This is beneficial as some companies require you to book directly to get the lowest price or to take advantage of your status benefits.



  31. Saad on November 8, 2023 at 6:33 PM

    Is it mandatory to use my TD Aeroplan Infinite card to directly pay for the ticket cost in order to access the complimentary first checked bag benefit? Alternatively, is it permissible to charge the ticket expenses to a different credit card, provided that my TD Aeroplan card is linked to my Aeroplan account, thereby facilitating the waiver of the first checked bag fee when checking in at the baggage counter?

    Furthermore, does the first checked baggage benefit extend to round-trip flights, encompassing each individual segment of the journey, as long as it involves an Air Canada flight? If so, could you please specify the total number of flights for which this benefit applies?



    • Barry Choi on November 8, 2023 at 9:08 PM

      Saad,

      The benefits of the TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite card are tied to your Aeroplan number. That means you don’t have to pay for your tickets with said card. The first checked bag benefit applies to any Air Canada operated flight. There is no limit for the number of flights as long as it’s operated by Air Canada. The only time you might run into a situation is if you’re on a codeshare ticket and the first segment is not operated by Air Canada.



  32. Greg on February 3, 2024 at 6:16 PM

    Hi Barry,

    I currently have the CIBC (no fee) Aeroplan VISA Card and am looking at upgrading my cards, not at the same time. I thought about the CIBC Aeroplan Infinite card, but I am considering the TD Aeroplan VISA Infinite Card, because of the Nexus rebate. As you mention in your reviews, they are essentially the same.

    I am also looking at a companion card, one that complements the Aeroplan program. I was thinking the American Express Gold Rewards Card because of the perks.

    Can you comment on this strategy or do you have any other suggestions?

    Greg



    • Barry Choi on February 3, 2024 at 6:59 PM

      Hey Greg,

      So it really depends on your goals here. Are you looking to earn points fast or do you just want better Air Canada benefits?

      The TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Card is good as it includes the NEXUS rebate as you stated, and the annual fee is also waived if you have an all-inclusive bank account with TD.

      If you’re looking to earn points fast you’re better off with this strategy:

      Get the Amex business Gold – https://www.moneywehave.com/american-express-business-gold-rewards-card-review/ – It gives you 75K points when you spend $5,000 in the first three months. You can then convert those points to Aeroplan. That welcome offer is better than anything Aeroplan is offering right now.

      You could also get the Amex Cobalt Card – https://www.moneywehave.com/american-express-cobalt-review/ – Although it lacks Air Canada benefits and a Nexus rebate, the daily earning rate is the best out there. You could then complement that card with your existing No fee Aeroplan Visa when Amex isn’t accepted but Visa is.



      • Greg on February 4, 2024 at 9:15 AM

        Hi Barry,

        Thanks for the quick response, Barry.

        I guess the two goals are:
        1) Earning fastest way to earn points (Aeroplan – for free flights)
        2) Perks (specifically: insurance, but also priority boarding/lounge access) – this is why I considered the American Express Gold https://www.moneywehave.com/american-express-gold-rewards-card-review/

        Thanks for your feedback.

        Greg



        • Barry Choi on February 4, 2024 at 10:21 AM

          Hey Greg,

          So the fastest way to earn points is with welcome bonuses that card provided. At the very least, start with one big bonus so you get a lot of points right away. That’s why I recommend then American Express Business Gold Card. You then want a card that gives you a lot of points on your daily spending.

          For mid-tier Aeroplan cards, like the Visa Infinite Cards, you only get free checked baggage and good travel insurance. You get no priority boarding. The American Express Gold Card gives you four free lounge passes to Plaza Premium and good travel insurance, but you don’t get free checked bags. If you want priority boarding, Maple Leaf Lounge Access, and priority check-in, you’ll need a higher end card, like the TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Privilege Card – https://www.moneywehave.com/td-aeroplan-visa-infinite-privilege-card-review/

          Feel free to continue asking any questions or send me a message through my contact page and we can discuss things in more detail.



        • Greg on February 4, 2024 at 10:24 AM

          Hi Again Barry,

          I looked at the Cobalt AMEX – I agree, this paired with my current CIBC Aeroplan (No Fee) is the way to go for now. When I look ahead to a year of travelling in the future, perhaps something with a larger welcome bonus and perks (Amex Platinum) is better at that time.

          For now, it’s point accumulation.

          Thanks.

          Greg



          • Barry Choi on February 4, 2024 at 10:26 AM

            Greg,

            Yes, if you have a year of lots of travel, that’s where you want to get a premium card to maximize benefits.

            The Cobalt card is the best daily card for accumulating points, but the Amex Business Gold has the best welcome offer of 75K points when spending $5K in the first three months. When using a referral link for the business gold, you get 5K extra points. The current bonus for the cobalt is 1,250 points when spending $750 each month, for 12 months. That’s a total of 15,000 points on a spend of $9,000.



Get a FREE copy of Travel Hacking for Lazy People

Subscribe now to get your FREE eBook and learn how to travel in luxury for less