Over the years, many credit cards have introduced no foreign transaction fees as a standard benefit, but the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite was one of the first out of the gate. What’s interesting is that even though this credit card was introduced a few years ago, it’s still one of the best travel credit cards in Canada.

What really makes this card stand out is the six free annual lounge passes that you get. Again, this was one of the first cards to introduce no forex fees and lounge access, yet no other credit card has similar benefits in my opinion. When you look at all of the features the card has to offer, it’s not hard to see why it’s one of the best Scotiabank cards in Canada. So what exactly do you get? Read my Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card review now and find out.

Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card benefits

  • $139 annual fee
  • No foreign transaction fees
  • 30,000 Scotia Rewards points when you spend $1,000 in the first 3 months (Until July 1, 2020)
  • Priority Pass Standard Membership + 6 free visits per year
  • Earn 2 Scotia Rewards points per $1 spent on eligible grocery, dining, entertainment, and transit purchases
  • Earn 1 Scotia Rewards point per $1 spent on all other purchases
  • Annual bonus of 10,000 points ($100 value) if you spend a minimum of $40K per year
  • Included travel emergency medical, delayed and lost baggage, and trip cancellation / trip interruption insurance
  • Rental car collision / Loss damage insurance included
  • Hotel / Motel Burglary insurance included

The Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card (referral link) comes with quite a few benefits and it seems like it was clearly built with the modern traveller in mind. What caught my eye right away is the fact that this card comes with six free annual airport lounge access passes with Priority Pass. No other Canadian credit card with an annual fee of less than $150 currently offers more than four lounge visits per year. It should be no surprise that the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite card is on my list of the best credit cards with lounge access.

The signup bonus of 30,000 Scotia Rewards points is worth $300 and requires a spend of just $1,000 in the first 3 months. The annual bonus of 10,000 points when you spend $40K is nice, but it’s not a huge incentive to put all your spending on this card since you’d be better off just signing up for other credit cards for the signup bonus.

I like how this card gives you a decent earn rate at 2 Scotia Rewards points per $1 spent on eligible grocery, dining, entertainment, and transit purchases. All other purchases earn you 1 point per dollar spent. Admittedly, the earn rate isn’t the highest out there, but it’s pretty good and ideal for people who only want to have a single credit card.

Some people will complain about the $139 that the card comes with since it’s not waived for the first year, but my Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite review is still positive since I think you get more than enough value every year for that fee.

Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card travel insurance

  • Travel medical – $1,00,000 for 25 days / 10 days if you’re 65 or older
  • Trip cancellation/trip interruption – up to $2,500 per person / $10,000 total
  • Flight/trip delay – up to $500 / 4 hours
  • Delayed and lost baggage – up to $1,000 / 4 hours
  • Common carrier travel accident – $500,000
  • Auto rental collision / loss damage – 48 consecutive days / $65,000
  • Hotel/motel burglary – $1,000

The Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card is on my list of the best credit cards with travel insurance since you’re covered for quite a few things. Your travel medical covers you for trips of 28 days or less if you’re under the age of 65. This is significant since many other travel insurance credit cards out there only offer 15 days of coverage. If you’re 65 or older, you get 10 days of coverage which is also impressive considering the standard is 4 days.

What’s also nice is that your flight/trip delay kicks in after 4 hours so you’re entitled to compensation earlier. Delayed and lost baggage also has that 4 hours window, but you get up to $1,000 to claim so this is a pretty good deal.

You then have common carrier travel accident, auto rental collision / loss damage and hotel/motel burglary insurance which offer you a standard payout if you need to make a claim.

There’s one final thing I want to note about the travel insurance that comes with your Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card, you only need to charge 75% of your trip costs to your card for your travel insurance to be valid. That means if your flight is $1,000, you’d have to charge at least $750 to your card for your insurance to be valid.

How the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card compares to others

The best travel rewards credit card space is crowded and I would say the most comparable card to the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card is the Scotiabank Gold American Express Card. Both cards earn you Scotia Rewards points but the Amex card gives you 5 points per $1 spent on eats and entertainment. At face value, the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card has a much lower earn rate, but what may appeal to people is the fact that it’s a Visa card instead of American Express. Plus you need to consider the additional travel benefits.

Scotiabank also made some recent changes to the signup bonus for the Gold American Express Card which is now lower. You would really need to look at where you spend your money and if those retailers accept American Express before you decide which card to get. If travel insurance is important to you, the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card has slightly better trip cancellation/trip interruption insurance.

The nice thing about Scotia Rewards points is that they’re easy to understand. 100 Scotia Rewards points = $1 in redeemable travel. There are no blackout dates or seat restrictions. In addition, you can use your points to pay for taxes and fees, so this gives you plenty of flexibility when booking your travel.

If you’re considering this card just because it’s one of the best credit cards with no foreign transaction fees, then you’re on the right track. This card is highly competitive. That said, if you’re looking for a credit card with no forex fees and no annual fee, you may want to consider the STACK Mastercard, Rogers World Elite Mastercard or the Home Trust Preferred Visa

Final thoughts

My Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card review is positive. Although the earn rate is not the highest compared to other travel rewards credit cards, I do feel that the included benefits and the fact that there are no foreign transaction fees makes this a worthy card. 

Minimum application requirements

  • You’re a Canadian citizen or are a permanent resident
  • You have a minimum annual personal gross income of $60,000
  • You haven’t declared bankruptcy in the past 7 years
  • You’re at least the age of majority in your province or territory
  • Your home address matches your credit report home address
Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card Review

142 Comments

  1. Steve Bowen on March 12, 2018 at 11:17 am

    The first additional card is also free. Thank you

  2. Dana on March 12, 2018 at 5:35 pm

    I’ve been looking for a Visa or MasterCrad to supplement my primary card, an Amex, and this just might fit the bill (unless you have other suggestions?). I already have the Scotia Amex Gold, so this can help me earn more Scotia Rewards points for merchants where Amex is not accepted.

    • Barry Choi on March 12, 2018 at 5:50 pm

      Dana,

      It depends on the primary use of the card. The Scotia Amex Gold has better multipliers, but as you’ve noted, it’s not a Visa or Mastercard. If you still spend a significant amount at stores where Amex isn’t accepted or you value the lounge access passes, then this card is likely worth it. Now if you just want a card with no foreign transaction fees, you may want to check out this post https://www.moneywehave.com/canadian-credit-cards-without-foreign-transaction-fees/

      • Dana on March 12, 2018 at 6:33 pm

        I wouldn’t say a significant amount and I do have lounge access through another Amex, though will close that card before the annual fee is up. Might be prudent to wait for a first-year-free promo for this card then. My search for a decent Visa or MC for when Amex is not accepted continues. (If only my carshares and local transit accepted Amex!)

        • Barry Choi on March 12, 2018 at 6:39 pm

          Dana,

          Transit is a multiplier for the Scotiabank card so that’s something to consider if you do plan on cancelling your Amex. I personally also favour Amex cards for travel rewards.

        • Poco on March 28, 2018 at 4:10 pm

          You do get 25,000 points as a sign-up bonus and can convert 21,000 points into a statement credit of $150 according to this page https://www.scotiarewards.com/en-CA/Rewards/Reward/PointsForCredit. That basically makes the first year free.

          • Barry Choi on March 28, 2018 at 4:16 pm

            That’s their “cashback” option. You’re better off using your points for travel where 25,000 points works out to a $250 travel credit when booked through Scotiabank’s travel service.



  3. brad on March 13, 2018 at 11:48 am

    How does Scotiabank expect someone to spend $40,000 on their credit card to earn the additional 10,000 points ?

    • Barry Choi on March 13, 2018 at 11:52 am

      Brad,

      yeah seriously, If I’m spending that much, I’m signing up for multiple credit cards to get the signup bonus.

      • Tony on March 14, 2018 at 10:40 am

        Stupid question, but would the $40000 include both spending from the original card and the supplement card?

        • Barry Choi on March 14, 2018 at 10:45 am

          Tony, I’m not 100% sure on that, you’d have to ask Scotiabank.

        • Barry Choi on April 12, 2018 at 10:07 pm

          Hi Tony,

          I checked with Scotiabank and they confirmed that spending from the supplementary card counts towards the bonus.

  4. Cynical on March 14, 2018 at 1:06 pm

    There is no statement about what FX rate will be applied to transactions. You can waive the fee but then claw it back with the spread on the currencies.

    • d jennings on October 8, 2019 at 7:38 pm

      I have the scotia amex gold (which I will likely be canceling due to the drop in trip ins from 2500 now down to 1500 and just got the National Bank World Elite for the 2500/5000) but I noticed the foreign transaction currency rate us BETTER than what I can buy usd at the bank for. ie Scotia was listing their retail buy rate around 1.36 and the amex was doing my purchases for about 1.33

    • Christine on October 16, 2019 at 1:56 pm

      Go to Visa.com and find the currency conversion tool. Enter the currency pair, date, and 0% for bank fee, that’s the exchange rate they use, it may be a tad higher than the Bank of Canada noon day rate, but it is the same rate that all Visa cards use but without the markup. For reference, for Oct 11, 2019 the no mark up Visa rate for CAD/EUR is 1.469 compared to BoC rate of 1.457 and with the standard markup of 2.5% that other Visas charge, you’d be looking at 1.5058

  5. Adman on March 21, 2018 at 12:06 am

    I’ve had the Marriott Rewards VISA card through Chase for years and earned almost a million MR points for hotel stays, airplane tickets, etc. Then, effective March 15 Chase killed the card — so Marriott replaces it with an Starwood Amex card that can’t be used for parking, convenience stores, etc…and it charges the 2.5% currency transaction fees. The sign up Bonus for the Starwood card is 75,000 MR points…but if you have the SPG card already, you can’t get the bonus points. Bad move Marriott. Looks like Scotiabank will get my business.

    • Barry Choi on March 21, 2018 at 7:00 am

      Adman,

      Note that this is temporary solution. It was Chase that decided to pull out of Canada. Credit cards likely take 2 years from concept to market so I wouldn’t be surprised if Marriott comes out with a new card in late 2018 or 2019. That being said, it’s likely the next card from Marriott will also be from American Express.

  6. Mark on March 21, 2018 at 4:48 am

    This card is an excellent addition if you have the Scotia Amex Platinum. That card gives you the same reward benefit as the Gold, however comes with 12 lounge passes. So if you are looking for 6 more, and a second card that will earn you decent points that can combine with their Amex, this is the card for you. That way you are covered for all merchants, and you’ll have a total of 18 lounge passes. Not to mention Scotia told me if I get a supplemental user on my Visa, they too can get a Priority Pass membership with 6 visits. This is obvious to me. I currently also hold an RBC Visa Infinite Privilege Visa, and I can’t see why it’s work the $399 any longer compared to this new Visa card from Scotia.

    • Ali on August 17, 2018 at 3:56 pm

      Are you positive that the secondary card holder also get 6 priority pass access?
      I called Scotia bank 2 times and both of them told me it is only a told of 6.

      • Barry Choi on August 17, 2018 at 4:49 pm

        It should only be a total of 6 passes

  7. Mark on March 21, 2018 at 4:51 am

    Sorry I forgot to mention, you can combine all your Scotia Rewards points from your Visa and Amex and use them towards travel purchases that you’ve made on either card. Much better than having to use the travel agency that is linked to the card like RBC’s or BMO’s. This way if I have a membership to an organization that gets me special discounts on hotels, I can use it because it’s not travel agent friendly and I can save even more money.

    • Barry Choi on March 21, 2018 at 7:03 am

      Mark,

      Yes, I agree that this card with the lounge access can be really beneficial for those people who already collect Scotia Rewards. I also like how you’re not forced to use their own booking service. One thing to note, the Scotia Amex Platinum offers higher multipliers on certain categories so you need to be strategic about which card you use.

      • Mark on March 21, 2018 at 7:50 am

        Hi Barry,
        Thanks for the reply. With the Amex I do get higher multipliers for the categories that I use often like dining and gas. I just got the Visa card yesterday as an upgrade from their white 1 point for every $2.00 spent card. Thier Amex is my first choice. I use to be an Amex Platinum card holder, but their rewards earning sucks. 1.25 points per dollar across the board. Also their travel insurance is very poor compared to these cards or RBC Infojite Privilege.

        • Barry Choi on March 21, 2018 at 9:43 am

          Mark,

          The Amex Platinum card is my main travel card. I agree that the multipliers suck, that being said, for me, it’s about the referrals and transfer options. I can often max out my referrals every year. I then take those points and transfer them to SPG / Marriott. I like hotels so that’s an incredible value for me. Way more useful than those Aeroplan points I’m still sitting on.

          • Sam on March 6, 2019 at 7:32 pm

            What’s the referrals?



          • Barry Choi on March 6, 2019 at 7:39 pm

            Sam,

            When people sign up with my referral link, I get a commission from Scotiabank.



      • d jennings on October 8, 2019 at 7:45 pm

        “I also like how you’re not forced to use their own booking service.”
        1. I actually liked using their travel service and did it for the 25 years I’ve had the ScotiaGold Passport Visa (not the same as the infinite) because you got 5% extra back on trips booked through the service. They’ve basically killed that incentive when they dropped the travel cancellation/interruption coverage from the card from 2500.00pp to ZERO.

        2. Another nice thing about having scotiagold passport visa and scotia amex gold is that the points I earn on the amex can be set to automatiically be moved to the passport visa acct, or vice versa.

  8. Ali on March 21, 2018 at 10:00 pm

    Will the supplementary cardholder also get their own Priority Pas + 6 lounge access or is it only for the primary cardholder? Thanks.

    • Barry Choi on March 21, 2018 at 10:41 pm

      Hi Ali,

      It applies to the primary cardholder only.

  9. Ken Cooke on March 28, 2018 at 8:35 am

    Does the priority pass extend to my spouse as she has a secondary card or would I have to pay for her to use lounge privileges?

    • Barry Choi on March 28, 2018 at 8:50 am

      Ken,

      If you’re travelling with her, I believe you could use the lounge passes for her.

      If she’s travelling alone, I don’t think the Priority Pass membership would apply to her. I’m not 100% sure on this so I would check with Scotiabank directly (I’m literally sending them an email right now).

      • Stan on November 4, 2018 at 12:03 pm

        Hi Barry,

        Any update on this question regarding if the supplementary card holder can use the lounge visit without the primary user?

        Thanks!

        • Barry Choi on November 4, 2018 at 12:09 pm

          Hi Stan,

          From what I understand only the primary cardholder gets a Priority Pass membership so the supplementary holder does not get access to the lounges without the primary user present.

  10. Windy on April 8, 2018 at 8:29 am

    If I am planning to travel in three weeks, will I get the card and the lounge pass in time before I leave? I apply for the home trust cards 4 weeks ago, just not sure if it will come in time.

    • Barry Choi on April 8, 2018 at 8:31 am

      Windy,

      After you’ve submitted your application, just call them and let them know about your situation and they’ll likely rush you the card. As for the lounge passes, I’m not sure if they come with the card, so you would need to ask them.

    • Mike on March 6, 2019 at 9:56 am

      Hi Windy,

      I just applied for the card and, after approval, Scotia said I’d receive the card in the mail within 5-7 business days.

  11. Sandra on April 11, 2018 at 1:06 am

    I just got this card. It comes with signup authorization for Priority Pass. You have to wait for the Scotiabank card to arrive and go online to Priority Pass to sign up. They will give you immediate electronic membership verification and will send out a physical Priority Pass card in the mail about three business day later. You can use the electronic membership record in the meantime, but it is only accepted at some locations. The Scotia card took about 1.5 weeks to arrive at my house; I signed up for Priority Pass a week ago and am still waiting for that card to arrive.

    • Barry Choi on April 11, 2018 at 10:35 am

      Sandra,

      Thanks so much for the info. The Priority Pass app should be accepted at all lounges, but I could be wrong. If I recall correctly, the physical Priority Pass card takes some time to arrive.

  12. Dave Beckett on April 11, 2018 at 4:34 am

    It’s not completely clear to me how the Scotiabank cards are rated as highly as they are. I recently got a Rogers m/c which charges 2.25 fee on foreign transactions…but pays me 3% cash back on those transactions netting me 3/4 % cash for the transactions. That combined with 1.25% on other transactions + a 29$ annual fee makes the card very attractive. I also carry a Tangerine cash-back card and receive 2% back on groceries, restaurants and reoccurring bills (the only categories I use the Tangerine card for).

    End result is I receive a fairly good rate of return on my spends that does not have to be dedicated to ‘travel’. Am I missing something?

    • Barry Choi on April 11, 2018 at 10:25 am

      Dave,

      I believe the foreign transaction fee is 2.5% for the Rogers so you get .5% back. The annual fee is being dropped as of May 23rd. You’re not wrong about your assessment of the card, it’s just a personal preference. The Scotiabank is more of a travel card and comes with great benefits (insurance and lounge access). Using the Rogers card and Tangerine card is a good mix.

      • April on November 18, 2018 at 3:22 pm

        Hi Barry,
        I would like to know what it means by “rental car” insurance. Last time when I was in Hamilton Ontario, I got a flat tire and it was not a pleasant experience. Ever since then I buy rental insurance($29 per day) to avoid similar trouble. If this card offers the renter waiver insurance, I feel it is a great great saving. Thanks.

  13. Catherine Collins on April 11, 2018 at 6:58 am

    I just got a Home Trust Preferred Visa which has no foreign transaction fees, the card is FREE, you earn cash back and it has rental care CDW to boot. Id say it was a pretty good deal.

    • Barry Choi on April 11, 2018 at 10:27 am

      The Home Trust card is a good choice if you want no fees. The Scotiabank card is excellent if you’re looking to earn rewards and have additional benefits.

  14. AdMan on April 17, 2018 at 2:28 pm

    I ordered the Home Trust VISA card and after applying it said it will take 4+ weeks to get the card due to the fact they are so busy.

    So then I ordered the Scotiabank VISA and had it in 5 days – you have to go to a bank to get it.

    Having 2 VISA cards might be a dumb move. I read recently that when you cancel a card, even if you’ve been a good client, that the card company reports it to the credit bureau and it may give you problems.

    • Barry Choi on April 17, 2018 at 2:35 pm

      When you cancel a card, your credit score may take a small hit, but it’ll go back up so I wouldn’t worry too much about it.

  15. David Beckett on April 18, 2018 at 3:03 pm

    No intention of shilling for Rogers, but I just received an offer to upgrade to their newest offering which comes with 4% cash back on foreign currency purchaes, 1.75 on all other purchases, plus a range of added insurances (car/trip/warranty extensions etc). So basically back to what the card was originally but with the addition of the insurances and the elimination of the annual fee. If you’re like me and have a fair number of purchases outside Canada, I’m not I can find a better deal than that.

    • Barry Choi on April 18, 2018 at 4:32 pm

      Hey David,

      Yes Rogers alerted me to this card and it’s essentially an upgraded version of the current card. When the Rogers World Elite Mastercard is released, the current Rogers card will be devalued. Since it’s a World Elite Card, it does have an $80K annual income requirement.

      I wasn’t a big fan of Rogers cards before, but this one is actually pretty decent. I plan on writing about it later.

  16. Michael on April 23, 2018 at 8:43 pm

    I don’t currently carry any Scotia Rewards card, but how do the points work out in terms of flight? I know Aventura, Aeroplan costs me 75k points to get to ASIA, but Asia Miles is only 60k points… therefore something like the RBC Avion sounds more attractive in terms of flight point costs…. Whats your opinion?

  17. Barry Choi on April 24, 2018 at 1:52 am

    Hi Michael,

    100 Scotiabank Rewards points = $1 in redeemable travel so it’s like a cashback program.

    You can use Scotiabank’s travel agency to book your flights or simply call in to claim your points after charging your travel your credit card.

    So basically if you apply for this card, you would instantly get $111 off any flight ($250 in points minus $139 annual fee) + lounge passes and insurance.

    If you found this info useful, please consider using my referral link.

    • Jess on September 10, 2018 at 10:24 am

      Hi Barry – could you direct me to where it says 100 points = $1? I am on https://www.scotiarewards.com/en-CA/Rewards/Reward/PointsForCredit and it calculates that you need 125-150 points for every $1 redeemable as credit. Thanks!

      • Shawn on September 21, 2018 at 11:19 pm

        Points for Credit is Different than redeeming for travel. You get a different rate (100 pints = $1) when you redeem for travel. Have this card and do it all the time.

  18. Cait on May 23, 2018 at 10:02 am

    Can I use Scotia rewards points to pay for taxes on an Aeroplan redemption? ie. are taxes on a flight reward considered ‘redeemable travel’? I mean, I’m paying the taxes because I booked travel so it should work?

    • Barry Choi on May 23, 2018 at 10:32 am

      Hi Cait,

      From what I understand, that would qualify since it would be Air Canada or Aeroplan making the charge. That being said, I would still check with Scotia to confirm.

  19. Nelson on May 25, 2018 at 12:39 pm

    what attracts me is the 10 day medical coverage for people over 65 and it has no upper age limit. i have a servus credit union master card now and it covers 15 day till age 74. i am considering to get this card as i have been pre-approved. i also like the 6 free airport lounge visits.

    • Barry Choi on May 25, 2018 at 1:08 pm

      Nelson,

      Yes, good catch. The travel insurance benefits of this card are quite impressive. 6 free lounge passes are the most you’ll get from a credit card with a fee of $150 or less.

  20. George on June 8, 2018 at 10:56 am

    Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite pays 4% cash back on grocery and gas purchases, 2% on drugstore purchases, with annual fee of only $99. Belongs on list of best credit cards.

    • Barry Choi on June 8, 2018 at 10:57 am

      George,

      Yes, it’s a great card for the multipliers. The downside is that it doesn’t have a big signup bonus.

  21. Pylin on June 10, 2018 at 11:03 am

    This post and thread is so helpful thanks everyone! Related to one of the comments here, does it make sense to have BOTH Scotiabank Gold Amex AND this Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card?

    I like the former for the multiplier but the latter for the no foreign transaction fee. But there are annual fees for both (yes first year the latter card the fee is waived after spending a certain amount, but if you have it multiple years, then you will have to pay the annual fees). I plan to go on a year-long world travel in May of 2019 so wondering if I should wait to get the Visa closer to when I’m leaving vs get it right now (as I have the Scotiabank Gold Amex right now and for the past 2 years).

    Btw: redeeming points of the Scotiabank Gold Amex is SO EASY 🙂

    thank yoU!

    • Barry Choi on June 10, 2018 at 5:37 pm

      Hi Pylin,

      As you know, the Gold Amex has higher multipliers so its one heck of a card so should you get the passport card now or wait a year?

      I personally would get it now since you get 6 lounge passes every year and you get the signup bonus right away. Those 6 passes are worth more than the annual fee so you’re getting good value.

      Now, let’s say you personally don’t enjoy lounges or don’t mind sitting in the common areas in the airports. Well, you could simply apply for a different credit card with no foreign transaction fees such as the Home Trust Card or the Rogers World ELite Mastercard around the 8 month mark. By doing this, you’ll have plenty of time to get your new card before cancelling your Scotiabank card.

      If you want to read more about your other options, check out this post I wrote.

      https://www.moneywehave.com/canadian-credit-cards-without-foreign-transaction-fees/

      Also, please consider using my referral link if you plan on applying for the Scotiabank Passport card =D

      • Pylin on June 10, 2018 at 6:11 pm

        Thanks Barry! I read your other post first before getting to this one 🙂 What I don’t like about the Home Trust card is it seems customer service isn’t their priority and as we all know, when there’s a problem it’s best to have a responsive customer service! (Scotiabank has been pretty good). As for the Rogers’ cards, I don’t use that many Rogers products to justify getting them because the points only go towards Rogers products, hence this Scotia Passport Visa seems to be the best fit. I also like that the points go towards the same Scotia points system with the Gold Amex.

        Good point about the 6 passes! I’m only planning on going to Iceland this year (2018) so I can use the lounge at Pearson but there doesn’t seem to be one it Reykjavik. But some vacations early in 2019 will come up for sure!

        So sounds like I should get the Passport Visa now in addition to my current Gold Amex so I’ll have both (and only spend with the Visa one for the first few months to ensure I get the sign up bonus). Will definitely be using your referral link because I learned all this from you!

        • Barry Choi on June 10, 2018 at 7:34 pm

          Pylin,

          It’s true, Home Trust has questionable customer service, but once I got the card, I had no issues. That being said, their weird hours of 9-5 EST, Monday to Friday seems a bit silly.

          Both the Home Trust and Rogers World Elite Mastercard have no fees so they’re still worth considering. With the Rogers card, you can ask for a statement credit every December which gets applied to your account in January.

          To be truthful, I’m hoping a better no forex fee card comes out sometime in the next year. If one does, I’ll just get it.

          I definitely value lounge passes. Since you’ll be travelling in Europe next year, you can look up lounges in advance and use them at the airports where the lounges are highly rated.

          Thanks for using my referral and thanks for reading!

  22. Vu Nguyen on June 16, 2018 at 12:19 pm

    Thank you for the review … I was looking for a card to be our main credit card replacing the Aeroplan for daily use, and this article helped me with my decision. I use credit card for almost all purchases, big and small, and pay it off at the end of the month. Main attraction of this card is to allow me to apply rewards to my (travel-related) purchases directly.

    I used your referral link. My application was approved in minutes.
    Thank you!

    • Barry Choi on June 16, 2018 at 7:17 pm

      Hi Vu,

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment and for using my referral. The Scotiabank card is an excellent all-in-one card. Since you like to travel, the 6 yearly lounge passes are a nice bonus.

  23. Ajay on July 4, 2018 at 3:18 pm

    Hi there

    If i fill gas in my car at a grocery store like Co-op or Safeway or superstore using this card, would it still qualify for 2x points? i am having difficulty determining if thats the case. please guide.

    • Barry Choi on July 4, 2018 at 3:32 pm

      Hi Ajay,

      It depends on the merchant code. E.g. if the superstore gas station falls under the merchant code of Superstore, you’d get the 2X points. However, it’s possible that gas stations at grocery stores don’t fall under the same merchant code. It can also differ per location so it’s impossible to give you a definite answer.

      http://www.scotiabank.com/images/en/filespersonal/20600.pdf

  24. Trish on August 3, 2018 at 4:45 pm

    I am an Canadian living in the US because and work here remotely. so my bank accounts are all in Canadian dollars and i get paid in Canadian currency. Since i live in the US, i feel like this card would be a better choice for me than getting a US credit card with my current bank which is TD bank. I was told with the TD US Credit card i would not pay the 2.5% visa fee but I would only pay the exchange rate for when I pay the card off using Canadian Dollars. Is Scotiabank card a better option for me? Would i still be paying more. Right now the US exchange and bank fees are killing me so I need the best card for my purpose so I am not losing a crap ton of money every time I make a transaction. Can you please give me some advice?

    • Barry Choi on August 3, 2018 at 4:50 pm

      Hi Trish,

      Your fees with the Scotiabank card would be lowered compared to paying your USD TD card in Canadian dollars. You’d still pay a slight spread, but it would be much lower than 2.5%.

      Technically speaking the cheapest way would be to use a USD card and pay it in USD. However, as you’ve stated, you get paid in CAD so it’s better to use the Scotiabank card or the Home Trust Preferred card (this has no fees). There’s also the Rogers card to consider.

      https://www.moneywehave.com/canadian-credit-cards-without-foreign-transaction-fees/

  25. […] The Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card has a nice signup bonus, but the earn rate of points is just a touch lower than other travel rewards cards. The card does have an annual fee, but the additional benefits do make it worthwhile. Obviously, no foreign transaction fees is a major win, the 6 annual airport lounge passes are 2 more than other travel reward cards, and then there’s the travel insurance. This is a very attractive card for those who want an all in one travel rewards card with no foreign exchange fees. Read my Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card review now. […]

  26. Alex on August 17, 2018 at 4:19 pm

    Hi there,

    Does the 2pts / $1 earned on grocery, dining, entertainment, and transit include spending in these categories outside of Canada?

    • Barry Choi on August 17, 2018 at 4:53 pm

      ALex,

      I’m not sure about that, you’d have to check with Scotiabank.

    • Shawn on October 29, 2018 at 2:16 am

      Yes it does!

  27. Lou on September 13, 2018 at 12:05 pm

    Beware of ordering air tickets through Scotia Rewards. If they make a “mistake” and the fare is higher than you agreed to, you are obligated to pay whatever higher price they decide is correct.

  28. Frank on September 20, 2018 at 12:57 am

    Thanks Harry for the informative read. I have applied and am approved for the card using your referral link (well deserved)
    The six lounge access, priority pass and travel benefits are great incentives for me!
    Thank you and keep up writing the good reviews!

    • Frank on September 20, 2018 at 12:57 am

      I actually did write Barry!

    • Barry Choi on September 20, 2018 at 5:34 am

      Thanks Frank!

  29. Mary on September 23, 2018 at 8:15 pm

    Hi Barry

    Just happened to come across your site. Thank you for the information. I am planning to visit Europe in 4 weeks’ time and it seems that the Scotia Passport Infinite card is a good choice with NO foreign transaction fees + 6 free visit of Priority Pass lounge. There are couple of questions that I would like to find out before applying for this card :
    1. what is the difference to apply through your “Referral Link ” vs directly with bank ?
    2.. For the Priority Pass airport lounge visit, does it mean there is NO extra charge and there is NO time limit for passengers staying at the lounge ?
    3. Do I need to apply a supplementary card for my spouse so that we are able to use the Priority Pass airport lounge ? Any extra fee then ?
    Thank you !

    Mary

    • Barry Choi on September 23, 2018 at 8:23 pm

      Hi Mary,

      When you apply through my affiliate link, I get a commission. There is no difference if you apply directly through the bank, but I hope the information I provided was useful and you’ll consider using my link.

      Technically speaking there is a 2 hour limit per visit, but they NEVER check. I’ve been in a lounge for 5 hours with no questions asked. There is definitely no extra charge.

      The passes are only available to the primary cardholder. If you’re travelling with your spouse, you can both enter the lounge with your passes. However, if your spouse is travelling alone, he/she will not be able to use your passes or membership.

  30. Mary on September 23, 2018 at 8:56 pm

    Hi Barry

    Thanks for the prompt reply….I will definitely apply through your referral link. I have some other questions on credit card which kindly advise :
    1. for Scotia bank Passport Visa Infinite card, any extra cost for a supplementary card ?
    2. I am currently using RBC Avion Visa Infinite and it can transfer my rewards points to BA Executive Club with 30% bonus ( ie a return flight from YVR to HK only cost approx. 84,000 points for premium EY. If I use cash, it will cost approx. $ 2,200 Cdn ) . Do you think this is a valuable card to use ? However, booking the flights with BA are sometimes very hectic and I ‘d prefer to use cash back so that I can buy whatever airline and itinerary I prefer. Any suggestions for a good VISA card particularly for Travel purpose ?
    Thanks again !
    Mary

    • Barry Choi on September 23, 2018 at 9:03 pm

      Mary,

      The first supplementary card is free, but if you need additional cards, they’re $50 per year each. In regards to BA and travel points. BA is a pain to book with and they charge quite a bit in fees. The best value out of YVR is to book via Cathay Pacific but then you need to Collect Alaskan Airlines points since Cathay is a partner. Cash-back cards definitely offer more flexibility. The only other VISA cards worth considering are the CIBC Aventura cards, but mainly because they come with $150 points and a $100 travel credit. I personally prefer the Scotiabank card over the CIBC cards

  31. ScotiaGold Passport VISA review - Money We Have on October 9, 2018 at 10:40 am

    […] most comparable card is the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite card since they are similar in look and name. The Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card is a much […]

  32. An on October 22, 2018 at 7:56 pm

    Would you suggest applying for both the Scotiabank Gold Amex and the Passport Visa Infinite? I

    • Barry Choi on October 22, 2018 at 7:59 pm

      Hi An,

      It sort of depends on what you prefer. The Gold Amex gives you 4X the points on gas, grocery, dining, and entertainment purchases whereas the passport card gives you 2X the points. That being said, the Passport card gives you travel benefits and is more widely accepted than the Amex. If you apply for both, that’s two yearly fees you’re paying so I think it only makes sense to have both if you do a lot of spending and like the travel benefits of the Passport card.

  33. Patricia on October 23, 2018 at 12:48 pm

    Hi Barry,

    I need some suggestions with picking up some proper credit cards. I currently have the old RBC Rewards Gold Visa (which basically doesn’t really do much. I have accumulated about 15k pts that can be redeemed for travel, but the multiplier for the card is quite slow) and the RBC Cashback Mastercard (only 2% on groceries and 1% cashback credit for other qualifying purchases which I’ve currently have $105 in cashback credit). I would most likely cancel them both as I don’t think I’ve gotten much from it.

    I would like to have a card that helps to accumulate points that can be used for travel and a card that can earn a high cashback. I spend money on groceries & drug stores, rent/utility bills, restaurants, entertainment, public transportation and shopping, no ownership of a car as of yet. I also try to travel twice a year if there is a good deal. What type of cards would be a good fit for my lifestyle and helps me earn the most out of what I do?

    • Barry Choi on October 23, 2018 at 1:58 pm

      Hi Patricia,

      It sort of depends on where you should for groceries. If you do a lot of shopping at Loblaw’s owned stores then the PC Financial World Elite Mastercard is a good choice. If you shop at a place that takes Amex then the Cobalt or Scotiagold Amex are valuable.

      For travel, it sort of depends but the BMO World Elite Mastercard, Scotiabank Passport, and CIBC Aventura Visa Infinite are all good.

      Another “free” cashback card is the Tangerine Money-Back card. If you charge a lot to your card, maybe the Amex SimplyPreferred card may be a better choice.

  34. Shawn on October 29, 2018 at 2:24 am

    I actually really like this card. Got it not too long ago because I live on the border of Michigan and shop a lot over there. I can confirm that you get the bonus points outside of Canada. I get bonus for restaurants and grocery in the USA including at a store called Meijer in Michigan which is like Walmart; has everything. GameStop (US EB Games) counts as the Entertainment category and so does my monthly recurring game subscription to Final Fantasy 14 charged in US Dollars. Just wanted to share this info. Great card. Haven’t tried redeeming points yet though. Love the no foreign transaction fee.

    • Barry Choi on October 29, 2018 at 7:52 am

      Shawn,

      Thanks for sharing all the data points about US merchants.

      • Ann on November 18, 2018 at 4:00 pm

        Hello Barry,
        I have a few questions wrt the Scotiabank passport credit card:
        1. which airline company does the points connected to? For instance, Aeroplan connects with air canada.
        2. What does it mean by no blackout dates? I have experienced a lot of times when I tried to book a flight on certain day through air miles, seats were not available.
        3. Insurance for rental car damage. Is it the same as “renter waiver insurance” which waived all my liability from flat tire, scratches to collision etc. does this insurance offer the same protection for free?
        4. Traveler medical insurance. What does it cover and is there limitation in terms of geo?
        Thanks!

        • Barry Choi on November 18, 2018 at 7:31 pm

          Hi Ann,

          1 – The points aren’t tied to a specific airline. Your points can be used for any airline since you would book it through Scotiabank’s online portal or by calling into their full-service travel agency
          2 – There are literally no blackout dates. If you can find the ticket through their search, you’ll be able to use your points
          3 – You’d have to read the details of the car rental insurance policy and then compare it to Scotiabank’s as well as your own personal car insurance
          4 – Scotiabank has one of the more detailed travel insurance packages which you can read about here https://www.scotiabank.com/ca/common/cc/pdf/en/Scotiabank_Passport_Infinite_Visa-EN-Ekit.pdf – With Medical, it’s up to $1 million if you’re under the age of 65 for a total of 25 consecutive days. There are no restrictions as far as geography is concerned. That being said, there are restrictions e.g. if you travel a country where there’s a travel advisory, you won’t be covered.

  35. L Ford on November 19, 2018 at 1:28 pm

    Thanks for all the info. Spent 45 minutes on the phone with Scotia trying to get a question answered about using points to pay the balance on the card instead of booking travel (they won’t book to Cuba, among other places). Spent another hour applying online several times, website is “experiencing difficulty” on both my iPad and laptop. Called the 800 number to apply, can’t do it unless my husband is with me (I was applying for a card in his name and adding me as a supplementary card, he is too busy to do stuff like this). Not impressed. Really wanted this card.

  36. PT on December 12, 2018 at 11:19 am

    I just got this card about a month ago, and the service has been awful. The card was compromised, and I didn’t really think much of it and called them. They cancelled the card, but wouldn’t send me a new one until I had spoken to their Fraud/Security dept, which was only open Monday through Friday (the card was shut down on a Saturday). I called Monday morning and had to wait about an hour and 20 mins. The guy I spoke to was nice and was surprised that they didn’t issue me a new card right away. I asked for the new card to be expedited, which he said he could only do if it was sent to a branch for pick up. I agreed. It’s been almost two weeks. I called and was told the card went by regular mail to my home. Just the thing I was trying to avoid (Canada Post backlog). That’s two weeks of spending during the holiday shopping season that I could have added to my $40,000 goal. So not impressed.

  37. Colleen on January 25, 2019 at 8:14 am

    I was just approved for this card. I used your referral link. Great information and answered all my questions

    • Barry Choi on January 25, 2019 at 11:04 pm

      Colleen,

      Thank you so much for using my referral!

  38. Diane on February 4, 2019 at 6:09 pm

    Hi Barry,
    I came across your blog when searching for no foreign exchange fees credit card. Thank you for providing invaluable info about the Scotia card. I have a couple of questions with regards to the 6 airport lounge visits. They are as follows:
    1. Can you use the pass even though you did not charge your airline ticket with the Scotia card?
    2. If both my husband and I go to the lounge, would that be considered 2 passes used?

    I currently have the TD Visa infinite travel card which the fee is waived as part of my banking package.
    What is your opinion on that card as far as perks and rewards as compared to other travel cards?

    Thanks.

    • Barry Choi on February 4, 2019 at 6:46 pm

      Hi Diane,

      You can use the lounge passes at any time regardless if you used the card to pay for your flight. If you bring your husband, that would indeed be 2 passes.

      The TD Visa card is not bad (better for you since the fee is waived). I personally like the Scotiabank card since it comes with the lounge access. The sign up bonus is worth $250 and it has a fee of $139 so you’re coming out ahead for the first year. Basically, you can test it for the first year to see if you like it before deciding if you want to cancel before your annual fee kicks in.

  39. Diane on February 5, 2019 at 1:20 am

    Hi Barry,
    Thanks for your reply. Will certainly apply through your referral link if I do go ahead with the card.

  40. Diane on February 5, 2019 at 6:03 pm

    Hi Barry,
    Just one more question re: lounge passes. Do you know if the airport passes can be used in every airport internationally? Is there a list of airports where it can or cannot be used?

    Thanks!

    • Barry Choi on February 5, 2019 at 7:19 pm

      Hi Diane,

      You get access to any Priority Pass Lounge

      https://www.prioritypass.com/en/airport-lounges

      Since you have a limited amount of passes per year, I recommend looking up reviews before you depart so you know if it’s of good use. For example the lounge in Portugal is excellent whereas the one in Rome’s domestic terminal can be underwhelming.

  41. Sophie Howe on February 27, 2019 at 3:51 pm

    Thank you. This is a super helpful post. I have been using RBC Avion for many years. I confess I am super lazy abut research so just want one good all around travel card, with travel rewards and insurance perks at the top of the list. I have my spouse and our two young adult kids on avion as authorized users so they can get the insurance as well. Can you offer your thoughts on comparing these two cards, Barry? At first glance it seems like Scotiabank offers more bang for the buck. Thanks so much!

    • Barry Choi on February 28, 2019 at 8:01 am

      Hey Sophie,

      I personally think the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite gives you more benefits. The lounge passes alone are worth more than the annual fee and not having to pay forex fees is pretty sweet. The one good thing about RBC points is that you can transfer them to WestJet Dollars.

  42. Aries on March 21, 2019 at 5:52 pm

    Hi Barry,

    Hmmm…Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite or RBC Avion Visa Infinite?? Aside from the lounge passes & the no foreign transaction fee, does Avion have a better points redemption schedule?

    • Barry Choi on March 21, 2019 at 9:16 pm

      Hi Aries,

      RBC’s Avion points are comparable to Scotia Rewards. The nice thing about RBC Avion is you can transfer them WestJet Dollars or used the Fixed Points Program.

      I personally think the Scotiabank Passport Card is better than the RBC card, but I’d favour RBC’s points program a bit over Scotiabank’s

  43. Liz on March 25, 2019 at 6:40 pm

    Hi. Just applied for this last weekend. Question though. We will be renring a car in Europe. We can opt Basic rate (without collision insurance and theft protection insurance),since this will be covered by this. Am I right? Hence when travelling in Europe,we need that insurance paper as proof. How and where shall we obtain this?

    It is a a regulation in Europe to always bring this third party provider insurance. Thanks!

  44. Fran Homesa on April 19, 2019 at 4:25 pm

    The first impression Scotiabank visa, used by confident and feel secured every foreign transaction got the notification by email… Love it , so luxury lifestyle

  45. Evelyn on April 24, 2019 at 5:58 pm

    I have been researching and ready to apply for Scotiabank Passport VISA. The only question I have is where is the merchant list that offers 2 scotia points per $1 spent? A scotiabank employee has been trying for 2 days to get this list and has had no luck!
    Can anyone help me with this?

    • Barry Choi on April 24, 2019 at 8:12 pm

      Evelyn,

      Here’s a link to the Mastercard merchant list which wouldn’t be any different from Visa.

      https://www.mastercard.us/content/dam/mccom/en-us/documents/rules/quick-reference-booklet-merchant-edition.pdf

      With this card you earn 2 points for grocery, dining, entertainment, and transit purchases which should be pretty straightforward. The only things that throw people off are Costco and Wal MArt which doesn’t count as grocery. That being said, Wal Mart supercenters do count as grocery from what I recall.

      • Doug on June 6, 2019 at 12:55 pm

        Hi Barry, I am planning to apply for the Scotiabank Visa Infinite Passport card, but it is astounding to me that Scotia is not able to provide a list of two point vendors. The link to the MasterCard list is helpful, but can we be sure that it will apply to the Scotia Visa? Also, the M/C list is from 2009 – is it possible to get a newer one? Thanks, Doug

        • Barry Choi on June 6, 2019 at 1:24 pm

          I’m not aware of any other list that exists.

          It’s not Scotiabank that sents the merchant codes but rather Visa and Mastercard.

          Generally speaking, Mastercard and Visa have the same merchant list.

  46. […] easily offset their costs by using one of the best travel credit cards in Canada. For example, the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite card comes with a signup bonus worth up to $250 and the card has no foreign transaction fees. There’s […]

  47. cathy on May 23, 2019 at 5:24 pm

    I got a pre approval for this card.. does it means its in the mail if i accept it? Or is there other hoops I need to hop through first

    Thanks

    • Barry Choi on May 23, 2019 at 8:20 pm

      Cathy,

      That’s correct. If you accept it, they’ll mail you out a card.

  48. Mike Ewert on May 30, 2019 at 6:54 pm

    I have TD VISA INFINITE AEROPLAN card. If I keep a balance of 5K there is no yearly fee, I get 1 lounge visit per yr, travel insurance same points for groceries gas etc….I use it as a travel card, Pretty much anywhere in North America 25k points, 60k for Europe. I have had no problem so long as it it booked in advance. So with SB card how is the cost of the flight determined? Is it the regular listed price at the airport? Can you provide a pro/con TD vs SB infinite cards

    • Barry Choi on May 30, 2019 at 9:04 pm

      Mike,

      The cards are different. With the TD card, you can only earn and redeem Aeroplan. The 1 lounge visit only applies to flights redeemed on Aeroplan. With the Scotiabank card you can redeem your points for any type of travel including ANY flight. The priority pass membership and 6 annual lounge passes are more flexible. The Scotiabank card also has no forex fees.

  49. Mike on May 31, 2019 at 9:03 am

    I am still curious at the point to air travel ratio. For example how many points would be required to fly from Halifax to LAX?

  50. Bob on June 26, 2019 at 2:07 pm

    Scotiabank’s exchange rate is truly terrible when compared directly to Mastercard or Visa. I would not advise using this card to anybody because of that.

    • Barry Choi on June 26, 2019 at 2:38 pm

      Bob,

      The Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card has no forex fees so you’re paying Visa’s midmarket rate whenever you make a purchase in a foreign currency. This is one of the lowest rates possible.

      • Bob on June 26, 2019 at 3:12 pm

        Hello Barry, thanks for replying.

        I was referring to this page from scotiabank:

        https://www.scotiabank.com/ca/en/personal/rates-prices/foreign-exchange-rates.html

        This seems to be Scotiabank’s exchange rates. As far as I can tell this has nothing to do with the forex fees, but I could be wrong.

        In comparison, here is the exchange rate using visa directly:

        https://usa.visa.com/support/consumer/travel-support/exchange-rate-calculator.html?amount=1&fee=0&exchangedate=06%2F26%2F2019&fromCurr=CAD&toCurr=EUR&submitButton=Calculate+exchange+rate

        If I’m reading these correctly, then for Canadian dollars being used for Euros, the exchange rate when using a scotiabank card for me (the one using it) is 1.538. The visa card would be 1.505. This would make for a difference of about 3.3%, if I’m doing all of this correctly – which would definitely make it not worth using the scotiabank card.

        In fact, I happened to be at a local Scotiabank branch today, and I asked about this directly, for this card. I was told that Scotiabank does have a higher exchange rate than visa or mastercard, and that is what the card would be using. It’s possible the teller was confused, but perhaps you can shed some light on this.

        I look forward to your response – thanks

        • Barry Choi on June 26, 2019 at 3:56 pm

          Bob,

          Those rates refer to if you’re getting actual cash and is similar to what other banks charge. I 100% agree that those rates are terrible. However, the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite credit does not charge any forex fees so you pay the midmarket rate that Visa sets.

          For any Scotiabank credit card that doesn’t have no forex as a benefit, you pay 2.5% on top of the Visa mid market rate.

          The teller was clearly mistaken. Visa sets the exchange rate, not Scotiabank. Scotiabank can add a fee ontop of the rate (which they do for some cards), but not with the passport card.

          • Bob on June 26, 2019 at 4:32 pm

            Thanks again for the reply, you’ve certainly clarified some things. After looking things over again, I think the best option for me is the home trust preferred visa, due to it being directly cash back at 1%, versus the scotia rewards points, which has most purchases giving back only 1% in scotia rewards points. The travel insurance from this scotiabank option is nice, but since it’s only for 25 days, this for me directly offsets the yearly cost of the card, so it’s kind of a wash. I also have no need for lounge access. I think I’ll end up going with the Home trust preferred visa card, and a STACK Mastercard for my cash needs. Thanks for your articles, they’re very helpful.



          • Barry Choi on June 26, 2019 at 4:35 pm

            Bob,

            That’s a great combination of cards to keep your fees down (or rather to 0). If you use my STACK link, you’ll get $25 as a sign up bonus.

            https://www.moneywehave.com/stack-mastercard-review/



          • Bob on June 26, 2019 at 4:37 pm

            No worries, I will certainly use your referral link. Thanks.



  51. Pradeep Ramaswamy on July 4, 2019 at 4:20 pm

    Hi Barry,

    I am looking for CC with access to Priority Pass Membership + Free visits (Primary Req)

    My TD Visa Infinite CashBack CC covers my travel, rental and road side assistance needs..

    Considering other perks like joining bonus, No foreign transaction fees, Travel Credits, NEXUS rebates, Points accumulation – I am confused between Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite and CIBC Aventura Visa Infinite
    Provided i can use the passes for my wife as well in travel.

    Pls recommend.

    • Ali on July 21, 2019 at 3:39 pm

      Hi Barry. How does lounge access work with guests. Would I have to use a pass per guest? Or can I use one pass and have them as my guest(without using additional passes)? How does it work with kids? Can i use one pass and have them enter for free?

      • Barry Choi on July 22, 2019 at 7:46 am

        Ali,

        One pass must be used per person but kids under the age of 2 are usually free

  52. Mel on August 13, 2019 at 7:01 pm

    Hi Barry! Thanks for all this great info.
    Just last night, before we discovered your site, we applied for the Hometrust Preferred Visa. Then we found your site and have seen the poor reviews and bad experiences others have had. We are now concerned about the lower credit limit most seem to get and the timing for receiving the card and pins. We are now 10 weeks out for travel and will be paying for our resort in USD when we get there.
    Our first question is, will applying for a second credit card, the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite, so close to the first affect our credit?
    Then our second question is would you advise that we carry through with the Hometrust Visa?
    And our third question is will that larger resort payment count towards our $1000 in the first 3 months for the sign-up bonus?

    • Barry Choi on August 13, 2019 at 8:58 pm

      Hi Mel,

      Your credit score would likely drop another 10 points if you applied for another credit card, but that would go up again in a few months after you pay your bills on time. Once you have the Scotiabank Passport Visa, there’s really no point in keeping the HomeTrust card. That said, the HomeTrust card has no annual fee whereas the Scotiabank card does. You could test out the Scotiabank card to see if you like it. If you don’t feel like you’re getting your $139 annual fee for what you get, cancel it and start using the Home Trust card.

      I’m not sure what you mean by a larger resort payment, but generally speaking, all purchases count towards the $1K. Only things like interest payments on credit card balances don’t count.

      • Mel on August 13, 2019 at 10:02 pm

        Thanks for your quick reply and advice, Barry.
        I was hesitant to say the amount payable when we arrive at the resort, so I said ” larger resort payment”. Silly, huh.
        We appreciate everything we have learned here and will be glad to use your affiliate link to apply for the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite. It does sound like a good deal with the sign-up bonus, lounge access, and travel-related extras.

      • Christine on October 16, 2019 at 2:18 pm

        Actually if you read the fine print, only the “regular” daily purchases (grocery, entertainment, restaurant) would count towards the first $1000 in the first 3 months in order for you to get the bonus 25,000 points. It’s really up to how the merchant is classified in the Visa system. You can see the little symbol next to each transaction online or in the app, if it has either the grocery cart, or the camcorder, or the fork & spoon symbol, then those are considered the transactions that earn you 2 points per dollar spent, and also count towards the first $1K spent in the first 3 months for the 25K bonus points.

  53. […] $250 – $1,000 so it’s worth getting a new card if you have upcoming expenses. For example, the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite card has a welcome bonus worth $250 and it also has no foreign transaction fees. There’s also the […]

  54. kordtsy on August 22, 2019 at 9:22 am

    is it true that if you have a Scotiabank STEP (Scotia total equity plan home owner line of credit) that the annual fee is only 69 bucks? if that’s the case maybe both my wife and I will get a STEP LOC (free with no balance) and get our own cards (no sup cards.) that way we get 12 lounge passes between us as well as the sign up bonus’ and the total yearly fees is 138 bucks total.The question is with 2 primary cards can we combine our points ?

    • Barry Choi on August 22, 2019 at 9:30 am

      Kordtsy,

      You’d have to ask Scotiabank about the rebate with STEP as I’m unfamiliar with it. If you have two separate cards, I don’t believe you can combine points.

  55. John on September 14, 2019 at 5:19 pm

    Hi Barry, I’ve been an Avioner for years and currently use the infinite privilege.. annual fee is a little high but I LOVE this card for the extended warranty coverage which triples the manufactures on products… does the scotia bank passport offer similar warranty benefits .?

    • Barry Choi on September 15, 2019 at 8:33 am

      Hi John,

      The card does indeed come with extended warranty (up to one extra year) as a standard benefit. In addition, you get price protection and purchase security. I hope you’ll use my referral link if you decide to sign up.

  56. Ami on January 11, 2020 at 3:03 pm

    Hi Barry,
    Thanks for the useful info!
    I’ve narrowed down my options to Scotia Passport Visa Infinite and CIBC Aventura Visa Infinite. My main care is points to be redeemed for travel. Any thoughts on which one is preferable?

  57. cmcgregor on January 29, 2020 at 3:05 pm

    Hi Barry … yet another question for you and thanks in advance!!. Now looking at getting the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite because of the travel insurance for 10 days if you are over 65 & the lounge passes. My question is this, what designates 75% of travel being charged to the card?

    For example we have the Royal WJ MC (for the companion fare and free bags) and if we book a flight using the $99 companion fare and/or use some WJ dollars for a flight and charge the bottom line cost to the Visa card , this is technically our 100% “flight cost”. Do they consider that as being the 100% cost of the flight for the insurance purposes?

    • Barry Choi on January 29, 2020 at 5:09 pm

      Hi Carol,

      You need to read the fine print. Generally speaking, you need to spend 75% of your trip expenses in regard to the said insurance. For example, if you want your trip cancellation to be valid, you need to charge 75% of your flights and hotels to your card.

      Using a WJ companion voucher is tricky as some insurance providers may consider it a discount so you may not meet the 75% requirement even if you charge the rest of the fare to your card. There are some exceptions, the BMO World Elite Mastercard states if you charge ANY amount, your trip cancellation applies.

      One final note, and this is the most important. If you’re over the age of 65, I don’t recommend relying on credit card insurance. You’re better off buying a multi-trip, yearly policy. The reason I advise this is that when you buy this type of policy, the underwriting is usually done at the time of purchase. When using credit card travel insurance, the underwriting is done at the time of the claim. Basically, the insurance company has more ways to NOT pay you when using credit card insurance. This applies to any age really.

  58. Carol on February 4, 2020 at 3:54 pm

    Hi Barry
    After a lot of research I thought this would be a great card (especially with the lounge passes) until I just read the “Legal” point #1 small print on the Bank site for this card and it says “individuals who are currently or were previously primary or secondary cardholders of a Scotiabank retail credit card in the past 2 years, including those that switch from an existing Scotiabank retail credit card as well as employees of Scotiabank (and I assume that also means retired staff) are not eligible for the 25,000 Scotia Rewards point bonus offer.”

    WHAT? … so am I reading this correctly, if you have or had any kind of existing Scotiabank credit card within the past 2 years, even though you pay the $139 annual fee, you won’t get the bonus points. Can you confirm?

    • Barry Choi on February 4, 2020 at 4:00 pm

      Carol,

      Technically speaking, you’re correct. However, this clause was put in to deny people who have applied for the card in the past and then cancelled it within a short period of time (known as churners). If this is your first time applying for the card, you’ll likely get the bonus.

  59. […] As you can see, the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card comes packed with benefits. It’s the first credit card with no foreign transaction fees from a major bank which is quite impressive. Clearly, Scotiabank has targeted this as an all-in-one card travel card. The overall package is quite impressive if you’re the type of person who doesn’t like carrying multiple credit cards just to earn the maximum amount of points. Read my full review of the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Card now. […]

  60. Leo on March 5, 2020 at 1:39 pm

    There is one big flow with this card in relation to Car rental insurance.
    One that you probably use the most.

    What contracts says is:
    ” Vehicles which belong to the following categories are NOT covered:
    Any vehicle with a Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) excluding all taxes, over sixty-five thousand dollars ($65,000) Canadian,at the time and place of loss.”

    In out time 65K CAD is not a lot and probably exclude all premium cars, especially if you rent in Europe.
    Even worse. Let say you pre-payed for regular car in Europe and they offered you free upgrade to Luxury car, let say BMW. You happily accepted and you just lost all your CLD insurance and they will pay $0 to any damage to a car.

    I am so pissed off with this limitation. I was in this situation. I did not have any damage, but I just realized I was driving without CLD. And car I got as free upgrade was probably in range of $85K (BMW 530)

    A lot of other card do not have this limitation. So I would suggest be very careful if you use this card for Car Rental.

Leave a Comment