**This post may contain affiliate links. I may be compensated if you use them.

Talk to any person with knowledge about Canadian credit cards and they’ll tell you that the Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite card is the best cash back credit cards in Canada. What makes this card so popular is the fact that the rewards are simple, easy to earn, and even easier to redeem which makes it an appealing card for families and big spenders.

You’ll earn a cash back rate of 4% on groceries & recurring bill payments, 2% on gas and transit, and 1% on all other purchases. It’s worth noting that this card often has a welcome bonus of 10% cash back on all purchases for 3 months and the annual fee of $120 is waived for the first year. Read my Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite review now to find out why it’s one of the best Scotiabank credit cards in Canada.

Scotiabank momentum visa review

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite benefits

  • $120 annual fee – first year free
  • 10% cash back on all purchases for 3 months (up to $2,000 in spending)
  • 4% cash back on groceries and recurring bill payments
  • 2% cash back on gas and transit purchases
  • 1% cash back on all other purchases
  • Comprehensive travel insurance
  • Mobile device insurance
  • Purchase protection
  • Extended warranty
  • Concierge service

The Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite card has a standard earn rate of 4% cash back on groceries and recurring bill payments; 2% cash back on gas and transit purchases; and 1% cash back on all other purchases which is incredible. Best of all, this card frequently has a promotion where you’ll earn 10% cash back on all purchases for the first three months.

Even though you get a high earn rate for multiple categories, there is a spending cap of $25,000 for both the 4% and 2% categories. Once you reach that amount, your reward rate drops down to 1%. 

Any additional purchases will earn you 1% cash back with no caps on spending. The cash back you earn is paid out once a year during your November statement. Waiting until November to get paid out will likely annoy a lot of people, but think of it as extra money which will help you through the holidays.

Mobile device and trip cancellation insurance is a nice touch, but I think people will be more interested in the included purchase protection and extended warranty. As long as you charge the full amount of your purchases to your Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite card, your purchases and covered from theft, loss and damage for 90 days. And, your manufacturers’ warranty is doubled up to one additional year.

Overall it’s not hard to see why even with a yearly fee that the Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite is a popular card. However, if you want to add a supplementary user, it’s $50 per person, annually. 

Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite travel insurance benefits

  • Travel medical – $1,000,00 coverage up to 15 days
  • Trip interruption – $2,000 per insured person (max $10,000 per trip)
  • Trip cancellation – $1,500 per insured person (max $10,000 per trip)
  • Flight delay – $500 per trip for eligible expenses for all insured travellers after a delay of 4 hours
  • Delayed and lost baggage – $500 per trip for eligible expenses for all insured travellers after a delay of 4 hours
  • Travel accident – $500,000 covering common carriers including airplanes, cruise ships, trains or buses
  • Rental car collision / loss damage insurance – $65,000/48 days

For a cash back card, the included travel insurance is quite impressive. Travel medical is good for 15 days if your under the age of 65 and it applies no matter what. For the rest of your travel insurance to be valid, you need to charge all of your travel expenses to your Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite card.

The included trip interruption, flight delay and lost baggage insurance is pretty standard but one thing you want to pay close attention to is the trip cancellation policy. Although $1,500 per person with a maximum of $10,000 per group is normal, it’s also not exactly a lot. Flights alone could be worth more than $1,500. I don’t consider this a deal breaker, but for some people, it may well be.

How the Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite compares to others

The Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite’s biggest competition is arguably the Meridian Visa Infinite Cash Back card. With the Meridian card, you’ll earn 4% cash back on gas and groceries, 2% on pharmacy and utility bills, and 1% on all other purchases. Many would say the Merdian earn rate is better, but it really comes down to what you do your spending on. That said, the Meridian card does have a lower annual fee and better travel insurance.

Another one of the best cash back credit cards in Canada that you could compare it to is the Tangerine World Mastercard. With the Tangerine card, you get to choose up to three categories that will earn you 2% cash back while all other purchases earn you 0.5% cash back. This is clearly lower than what the Scotia Momentum Visa Infinite and Meridian Visa Infinite Cash Back card offer, but this card has no annual fee which will appeal to many people. 

Cash back credit cards have become incredibly valuable over the years as travel rewards can sometimes be restrictive. With cash back, you don’t need to worry about black out dates, seat availability or taxes. You’ll just collect your cash back and be able to spend it on whatever you want. It doesn’t get much easier than that.

Final thoughts

It should be pretty obvious that my Scotia Momentum VISA review is positive. It’s one of the best no-fee cash back card available and I’d argue it’s an excellent choice as a “travel rewards” card. Although the cash back is easy to redeem, it’s only paid out once a year in November as a statement credit or deposited directly into your personal chequing or savings account if you bank with Scotia.

Minimum application requirements

  • You’re a Canadian citizen or are a permanent resident
  • You have a minimum annual personal gross income of $60,000
  • You haven’t declared bankruptcy in the past 7 years
  • You’re at least the age of majority in your province or territory
  • Your home address matches your credit report home address
Scotiabank Momentum VISA Infinite Review
Avatar

About Barry Choi

Barry Choi is a Toronto-based personal finance and travel expert who frequently makes media appearances. His blog Money We Have is one of Canada’s most trusted sources when it comes to money and travel. You can find him on Twitter:@barrychoi

40 Comments

  1. […] an earning potential, the National Bank World Elite Mastercard is comparable to the Scotia Momentum VISA Infinite card which is a cash-back card. The Scotiabank card uses multipliers so you earn 4% cash-back per $1 […]

    • Avatar bruce on September 4, 2019 at 1:33 PM

      The Scotiabank Momentum card started out great with 4% on gas and groceries. They took away gas but added recurring bill payments. The problem is that all of the things you would think are recurring that you can pay with your credit card are not as such – so this is proving to be totally of no value. For me, this was house and cottage insurance, car insurance and boat insurance. I even tried to pay my monthly itunes subscription but apple would not take this card. The Scotia call centre said this was a reported issue by other card holders and they were working to resolve the issue with apple. Also when I called the call centre on why my intact insurance bill payment was not showing up as being recurring, the agent said that on his side it was showing up as reccurring and that this would be corrected when my statement issued. Needless to say it wasn’t and it is my belief that he was BS’ing me. Shame on Scotiabank! I have just switched to Merdian Visa which offers 4% on gas and groceries.

      • Avatar Barry Choi on September 4, 2019 at 1:53 PM

        Bruce,

        Interesting feedback. With insurance, I wouldn’t expect that to count as a recurring bill payment even though you pay monthly. I say this because recurring bill payments usually refers to things such as Netflix and Spotify. Generally speaking, merchant categories (which determine the type of cash back) are set by Visa and Mastercard. I have no idea if Scotiabank can manually override those codes to give you the promised cash back amount.

        If gas is a major category for you, switching to the Meridian card was the smart thing to do.

      • Avatar Jack Radecki on March 10, 2020 at 3:45 PM

        I agree with Bruce. The clawback on my fuel purchases and elimination of the 2% money back at pharmacies in my case was devastating. I went to my local bank which did not have any good answers and just now left a note on my card file.

  2. Avatar Danielle Ogilvie on November 20, 2018 at 11:56 PM

    Is the 25,000 cap an annual cap or a monthly cap?

  3. Avatar Nic Chenail on December 5, 2018 at 10:49 AM

    Can we earn something if we refer to a friend?

    • Avatar Barry Choi on December 5, 2018 at 10:50 AM

      Hi Nic,

      There is no referral benefit for the general public with this card

      • Avatar Nic Chenail on December 5, 2018 at 11:06 AM

        Ok I see thanks! You get one because you contacted them and drive traffic through your blog right?

        • Avatar Barry Choi on December 5, 2018 at 12:21 PM

          Correct, I am one of their approved affiliate partners

  4. Avatar Helen on December 19, 2018 at 9:45 AM

    Is the card life insured if you die with a balance

    • Avatar Barry Choi on December 19, 2018 at 9:48 AM

      Typically credit cards write off any balance if the cardholder passes away. This assumes the credit card was not a joint account.

      That being said, there’s no formal insurance that guarantees this.

  5. Avatar Chelsea on February 6, 2019 at 4:21 PM

    I have paid for all my travel accommodations for my upcoming trip on my visa via my travel agent. Will this be covered under trip cancellation?

    • Avatar Barry Choi on February 6, 2019 at 5:25 PM

      Hi Chelsea,

      Yes, your trip cancellation would apply but not that you can’t cancel just because you don’t feel like going anymore, trip cancellation applies to certain conditions which are outlined in your policy.

  6. Avatar Abbey on April 3, 2019 at 3:31 PM

    I don’t make a minimum of 60k and just received the card. Is there a promo on?

    • Avatar Barry Choi on April 3, 2019 at 7:04 PM

      For the first 3 months, you would earn 10% cash back up to $200 in cash back earned.

  7. Avatar MonArch on May 15, 2019 at 12:50 AM

    This card covers travel insurance for your family members too?

  8. Avatar harwinder on May 15, 2019 at 4:34 PM

    travel insurance is for under the age of 65 or over 65, or for everybody

    • Avatar Barry Choi on May 16, 2019 at 7:36 AM

      Harwinder,

      Please refer to the certificate of insurance for the details

  9. Avatar Carrie on July 8, 2019 at 10:01 AM

    So I have a Scotia momentum visa credit card and I was wondering if we HAVE to pay the minimum that is given or can we pay whatever the amount that actually want?

    • Avatar Barry Choi on July 8, 2019 at 10:37 AM

      Carrie,

      The minimum listed on your statement is just the minimum, you should always pay the full balance to avoid any interest charges.

    • Avatar Ian on August 2, 2019 at 10:13 PM

      Failing to pay off the balance results in interest charges. Interest can easily wipe out all the cashback you’ve earned, which makes a cashback card worthless.

  10. Avatar James Hogg on August 15, 2019 at 8:31 AM

    The advertising about cash back should include the information that the individual vendors can choose what percentage of participation they have, 1%, 2%, 3%. Regardless of falling into one of the clearly defined categories, Scotiabank insists that it is up to each card member to approach each vendor, each time and discuss with them their participation within the program, should it not align with the Scotiabanks advertised cashback policy. Nice. Even in the fine print this is not stated.

    • Avatar Barry Choi on August 15, 2019 at 8:33 AM

      James,

      I’ve never heard of this. Each merchant is assigned a code by Visa and Mastercard and that’s the category they’re dumped in. Merchants can’t change their categories as they please, nor can customers ask merchants to change things when they’re making purchases.

  11. Avatar James Hogg on August 15, 2019 at 8:40 AM

    well look at that you learned something. And in my opinion, something very important. Card holders need to know, “the real rules”. I have confirmed this with at least 6 mid level managers, because I was shocked when I first learned of it.
    Let hope this little nugget makes it into the public domain.

    • Avatar Barry Choi on August 15, 2019 at 8:46 AM

      James,

      I’m fairly sure this is inaccurate as individual stores can not set their individual merchant codes. You can’t go to Best Buy and ask them to put in a merchant grocery code. Those are set by Visa and Mastercard.

  12. Avatar James Hogg on August 15, 2019 at 9:00 AM

    My question to you is…do you have this card? I would encourage you to call in and ask. Respectfully I have a different experience with the bank, based on real time repeated interaction with Scotiabank Visa. I felt the same way you did, before I verified this repeatedly and found the real responsibility is with the individual card holders. The companies I am referring to are large international corporation, not one of mom & pop’s.

    • Avatar Barry Choi on August 15, 2019 at 9:03 AM

      James,

      It still comes down to the merchant codes set by Visa and Mastercad. For example, Costco isn’t considered a grocery store, nor is Wal Mart with the exception of Wal Mart Superstores which are considered grocery. It doesn’t matter if they’re big or small merchants, they don’t determine their own merchant codes, and they can’t change them on the fly.

  13. Avatar Adam on October 23, 2019 at 10:42 PM

    Be very wary of this card, especially if you ever want to cancel it. They have you “locked in for life” once you start paying the annual fee…. And if you try to cancel it, you can kiss any cash back you earned for that previous year goodbye. This seems unethical to me, but apparently Scotiabank just sees it as a consequence of the annual cycling.

    So you pay the $120 fee every anniversary date, but you will get your cash back in November as per the rules of the card. That means if you signed up in September or October, you are basically locked into the card. If you ever want to cancel you end up forfeiting all the cash back you earned for that year.

    So be prepared to factor in an additional $120 (+$50 for supplementary) fee into the card when you sign up. Unless of course you want to keep the card for the rest of your life..

    The only way around this is if you sign up for the card in December or January. They don’t really make this clear when you sign up and I think it is totally unethical.

    Also if you ever have to deal with customer service, be prepared to wait 20-40 minutes on hold.
    I have been on hold and on the phone with customer service for a total of at least 6 hours… and then I went into my local branch to resolve the issue. They were very nice but I was there for another 2 hours. I’m sorry but 8 hours of my time is not worth the extra 1% over some other cards that have no annual fee.
    So I say it is not worth the grief and hassle and there are free cards out there that are very comparable (or better in our situation).

  14. Avatar Brent Howard on January 13, 2020 at 7:59 PM

    If you’re 65 or older you do not qualify for travel insurance. Correct?

    • Avatar Barry Choi on January 13, 2020 at 9:10 PM

      Brent,

      That’s correct, there is no coverage if you’re 65 or older

  15. Avatar Kurt on November 20, 2020 at 6:52 AM

    I drive a lot so I signed up for this card a couple years ago when they had the 4% cash back on gas, now that it’s been knocked down to 2%, there are better options out there. See ya later Scotia!

  16. Avatar Jeremy on November 24, 2020 at 2:03 AM

    Hi Barry,

    Does this card even come close on how much of a return I would get back compared to the PC Financial World Elite Mastercard? I’ve been comparing both cards and it seems like you can rack up a lot of points with the PC Mastercard with a lot of hacks as well as I had read. Doesn’t really make sense if I shop at superstore and use the momentum card right? Wouldnt get as much of a benefit if I got cash back plus gain PC points with the momentum credit card right? Best to go with the PC world elite?

    • Avatar Barry Choi on November 24, 2020 at 5:59 AM

      Jeremy,

      So there are two ways of looking at this. From a straight cash back point of view, you could argue the Scotiabank Card gives you a higher earn rate, but this assumes you do a lot of spending on groceries, transit, and recurring bills. The other obvious advantage is the fact that you get actual cash with the Scotiabank card.

      However, as you likely know, with the PCFWEMC, you can rack up A LOT of points if you shop smart. By shop smart I mean sticking to stores where you earn extra PC Optimum pints such as Loblaws owned grocery stores, Shoppers Drug Mart, and Esso. The bonus points you earn on select items and targeted offers add up fast. PLUS, bonus points events at Shoppers is incredible. 20X the points is basically 30% back in points.

      So yeah, I favour the PDCWEMC if you shop at the right places =P

      • Avatar Jeremy on November 24, 2020 at 12:54 PM

        Hi Barry,

        Thank you for your reply. One last thing, I also have an Amex Cobalt. How does it compare to shopping at save one foods where I can get 5x the points and also gain “More Rewards” with their program as well. I do know though that save on is more expensive but how does it compare to Presidents Choice in terms of how many points I can gain?

        • Avatar Barry Choi on November 24, 2020 at 1:13 PM

          Jeremy,

          5 X the points with the Cobalt card really depends on what you use your points for. Technically Cobaly points are worth 1 cent each so it’s definitely good value. But like you said, if groceries cost more there, it could be a wash. Cobalt points are good for travel where as PC Optimum points can be used for groceries and merchandise.

  17. Avatar Jeremy on November 24, 2020 at 5:50 PM

    Hi Barry,

    Looks like the PC Mastercard is the way to go to get the most points and rewards. I also read I can also use points to buy gift cards at Superstore. I’m wondering which card would compliment the PC Mastercard. Right now I have the Scotiabank Passport Infinite Visa, Amex Cobalt, Vancity Enviro Gold Visa, and Capital One. Not sure if having both the Scotiabank Passport and Amex opened is ideal since the Annual fee is $140 for the Passport and $10 a month for Amex. That about $260 both combined a year. If you had to choose, which card would get that would compliment the PC Mastercard World Elite aside from what I have now?

    • Avatar Barry Choi on November 24, 2020 at 5:55 PM

      Jeremy,

      PC Optimum no longer allows you to buy gift cards with points.

      The PC Financial World Elite Mastercard essentially serves as your main card at Grocery, gas, and pharmacies. The question now is where else do you do your spending? If you’re holding the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite card for no forex fees and lounge access, the value is there. Obviously you’re unlikely using the lounges right now. If you just want something with no forex, the Hometrust Preferred Visa has no forex fees and no annual fee.

      The Amex card is good if you do a lot of spending on restaurants and take out.

  18. Avatar Greg on March 13, 2021 at 1:46 PM

    I ordered a package with my Scotiabank Momentum Visa through Amazon, within 48 hrs I received a message that my package had a customs fee to be paid and then I was provided a link by text to click and pay with a credit card. I followed the link and paid the $3.00 customs fee. Immediately afterwards I received an email thanking me for signing up to Zoopackage. I realized the customs link was a scam or better known as a subscription scam. I immediately called my Scotiabank Visa to report the fraud and cancel my card.. I’ve been on hold for over 72 mins now (they of course said they’re experiencing higher than normal call volumes and that it will be a 20 min wait) just to have this particular Visa canceled and to report the fraud. This is by far the worst negligence I’ve experienced with Scotiabank Visa and it’s Unacceptable, to have to wait over an hour to cancel/report fraud/or report a stolen credit card..

Leave a Comment





Get a FREE copy of The Cost of Travel

Subscribe now to get your FREE eBook and learn how to see the world without spending a fortune