American Express Business Platinum Canada Review | 100,000 points welcome bonus

**This post may contain affiliate links. I may be compensated if you use them.

Are you looking for an American Express Business Platinum Canada review? To simply put it, the American Express Business Platinum Canada Card is arguably the best card for small (or big) business owners that do a lot of spending. You get a high limit, and the points you earn are insanely flexible and valuable. With this card, you can grow your business and reap the rewards.

Here’s a little-known secret about the card. You can technically apply for the card even if you don’t own a small business. Nothing is stopping regular consumers from applying. In fact, many do since this card typically comes with a massive welcome bonus. That said, American Express does have the right to deny your application or to audit you. However, if you’re not doing anything suspicious with the card, there’s no reason they’d look into you. Read my American Express Business Platinum Canada review now and find out why it’s one of the best business credit cards in Canada and one of the best travel credit cards in Canada.

American Express Business Platinum Card

  • $499 annual fee ($799 as of Sept. 26, 2023)
  • Earn 100,000 Membership Rewards points when spending $10,000 in the first 3 months. Must use a referral link
  • Earn 1.25 points per $1 spent on all purchases
  • Unlimited airport lounge access
  • $200 annual travel credit (as of Sept. 26, 2023)
  • $120 annual wireless credit (as of Sept. 26, 2023)
  • $100 Nexual credit every 4 years (as of Sept. 26, 2023)
  • Marriott Bonvoy Gold Elite Status

Welcome bonus and earn rate

Anyone considering the American Express Business Platinum Card will likely be attracted to the welcome bonus. It typically hovers around 90,000 – 120,000 American Express Membership Rewards points, which is one of the highest welcome offers available. For reference, that’s a value of $900 to $1,200 in points. That said, the minimum spend requirement is quite high at $6,000 – $10,000. On a positive note, if you use my referral link as a friend, you’ll typically get an additional bonus compared to the regular offer.

Since this is a business credit card, you’re not going to get a high earning rate. What you get is a straight earn rate.

  • 1.25 points per dollar spent on all purchases

Admittedly, the lack of category multipliers is disappointing. Still, if you’re a business owner who charges tens of thousands of dollars to your card each month, you’re likely more interested in the purchasing power. Since this is a charge card, you’ll basically have no limit. The card does have an annual fee of $499 ($799 as of Sept. 26, 2023).

Benefits and perks

In this American Express Business Platinum Canada review, you’ll quickly learn that there are two people who will be attracted to this card. Business owners that are looking for high purchasing power and consumers that want a huge welcome bonus. In both cases, users will want to know what they’re getting for the $499 annual fee. Fortunately, the benefits do not disappoint.

Unlimited airport lounge access

One appealing aspect of the card is the unlimited airport lounge access for you and a guest. Simply put, the American Express Global Lounge Collection is the most comprehensive lounge access you’ll get with a credit card since you get access to the following lounges:

  • The Centurion Lounge
  • Priority Pass
  • Escape Lounges
  • Delta Sky Club (when flying Delta)
  • Plaza Premium
  • Air Space

All-in, you’ll get access to more than 1,300 lounges in more than 140 countries. Once you have this card, you would just sign up for each individual lounge program or show your American Express credit card when entering.

You also get access to Plaza Premium and American Express Centurion lounges. For reference, a Priority Pass Prestige membership with unlimited lounge access is US$429. Single entries cost US$32, but you still need a basic membership. If you travel regularly, the lounge access you get is often worth more than the annual fee.

It’s worth noting that the American Express Global Lounge Collection does not give you access to Air Canada’s Maple Leaf Lounges. Admittedly, within Canada, Maple Leaf Lounges are often superior to what American Express offers. That said, if you fly internationally a lot where there are no Maple Leaf Lounges, Amex is the obvious choice.

$200 annual travel credit (as of Sept. 26, 2023)

The American Express Business Platinum Card is adding a $200 travel, which is available once per anniversary year. This credit can be used on any travel purchase made through the American Express Travel portal. This is one of the easier credits to use and helps offset the high annual fee.

$120 annual wireless credit (as of Sept. 26, 2023)

Another new benefit is the annual $120 wireless credit. What’s interesting about this credit is that you only get a $10 statement credit each month when charging wireless services to your Business Platinum card. So as long as you have your card linked to your wireless account, you can maximize the credit.

$100 Nexus credit (as of Sept. 26, 2023)

As of September 26, 2023, American Express Business Platinum cardholders will get a $100 Nexus rebate that can be used once every four years. Since Nexus is good for five years, you should always be able to use this credit. Applying for Nexus is worth it since it allows you to speed through U.S. customs and Canadian immigration. It also gives you access to Global Entry and TSA precheck.

Hotel status

Another travel benefit that can be incredibly useful is the included hotel status.

  • Marriott Bonvoy Gold Elite Status
  • Hilton Honors Gold Status

With both programs, you’ll get an increased earning rate on your stays and some benefits such as early check-in, late check-out and room upgrades when available. You do need to enroll for the programs first before the status is given to you. Generally, Canadians will find Marriott Bonvoy more useful since an American Express Marriott Bonvoy Card is available.

The hotel collection

Cardholders get access to The Hotel Collection from American Express. When booking a minimum of two consecutive nights at over 600 participating properties, you get the following benefits:

  • Up to US$100 in hotel credits for dining, spa or other activities
  • A room upgrade when available

The exact credit will vary by property. This benefit needs to be booked directly with American Express.

Business benefits

  • 55 interest-free days
  • Employee card misuse protection
  • Expense management reports

So far, in my American Express Business Platinum Canada review, I’ve focused on the points, but the decision to get this card for many people will come down to the business benefits.

Since this is a charge card, there’s no limit. In addition, you get up to 55 interest-free days which will help you manage your cash flow while focusing on your business. That said, if you’re late with payments, you’re looking at an interest rate of 30%

Employee card misuse protection will ensure that you’re not on the hook for any eligible unauthorized transactions when you terminate any supplementary cardholders and cancel their cards within 2 business days. Coverage is up to $100,000 so that should give you some peace of mind.

Admittedly, you get fewer additional benefits with this card compared to the American Express Platinum Card, but if you’re a business owner, the 55 interest free days may be the biggest benefit.

Travel insurance

  • Emergency medical insurance – $5,000,000 – 15 days / Under 65
  • Trip cancellation insurance – $1,500 per person / $3,000 total
  • Trip interruption insurance – $1,500 per person / $6,000 total
  • Flight delay insurance – $1,000 – 4 hours +
  • Baggage Delay Insurance – $1,000 – 4 hours +
  • Lost or Stolen Baggage Insurance – $1,000 combined per occurrence
  • Car Rental Theft Damage Insurance – $85,000 – 48 days
  • Hotel/Motel Burglary Insurance – $1,000 per occurrence
  • Travel Accident Insurance – Up to $500,000

As you can see, the American Express Business Platinum Card insurance is excellent since you get a full suite of travel insurance. A reminder that with travel medical insurance, you get it no matter what. However, if you want to take advantage of all your other travel insurance benefits, you must charge all of your transportation and accommodation expenses to your card.

Don’t worry if you’re using Membership Rewards points for your travel purchase. If you charge the remaining balance to your Business Platinum card, your insurance would be valid. I should point out that your travel medical insurance only covers you for 15 days if you’re under the age of 65. Although this is still one of the best credit cards with travel insurance, if you’re going to be away for longer, you’ll want to ensure you have extended coverage.

Purchase insurance

  • Purchase protection
  • Buyer’s assurance

With purchase protection, your purchases are covered from loss, damage or theft for 90 days. The extended warranty doubles the manufacturer’s warranty for up to one additional year. In both situations, you need to charge the full amount of your purchases to your card for the insurance to apply.

American Express experiences

As an American Express cardholder, you get a few extra benefits which can be useful.

  • Invites – With American Express Invites, you get exclusive access to concerts, restaurants, sporting events and more.
  • Front of the line – American Express has special deals where cardholders can purchase tickets before the general public does.
  • Concierge – Are you short on time? Have the American Express concierge book your restaurants, show tickets and send presents to your clients.

American Express offers

In recent times, American Express has had some great offers that have been great for cardholders. These are retail benefits that are offered that can help you save. For example, some recent offers include:

  • Get $40 credit on mobile service providers when you spend at least $40 (up to 4 times)
  • $250 credit at Dell when you spend at least $250
  • $5 credit when you spend $10 at participating small businesses
  • $45 credit when you spend $45 at FedEx (Up to 6 times)
  • 10% credit of total purchase price at Dell up to $1,000
  • $30 credit when you spend at least $150 at Dollarama

As you can see, these offers can easily be obtainable and are worth more than the annual fee. Assuming you can take advantage of all of them, that is.

How to redeem your points

It’s now time to go over how to redeem your points in my American Express Business Platinum Canada review. With this card, you earn American Express Membership Rewards points, which are highly flexible. The regular redemption rate is 1,000 points for $10 in travel or a statement credit. That gives you a value of 1 cent per point (CPP).

Since you can use your points as a statement credit, there’s no real reason to use the American Express travel portal unless you’re using a credit or want to take advantage of the fine hotel and resort collection. Booking directly with other sites allows you to find the lowest prices and take advantage of any status benefits that you may have.

While Membership Rewards are convenient since you can use your points on any purchase without losing any value, you can actually get increased value by transferring your points to Aeroplan. The transfer ratio is 1:1, and I personally value Aeroplan at 2 CPP. That means it’s not difficult to double the value of your points. That said, you should only transfer your points if you have a specific redemption in mind. Another transfer partner worth considering is Marriott Bonvoy. The transfer ratio there is 1:1.2, but Marriott tends to have a much lower value than Aeroplan.

American Express Business Platinum Card eligibility

To qualify for the card, you must be a Canadian resident and be the age of majority in the province or territory where you live.

Since this is a business card, you typically need to have a business to get this card. That said, you may not need a business to apply for this card as I personally know many people who have been approved for this card without owning a business.

American Express doesn’t list what credit score you need to be approved for this card, but presumably, yours needs to be at least in good standing. Generally, the higher your credit score, the better odds you have of being approved.

How the American Express Business Platinum Card compares

Most people will naturally compare the American Express Business Platinum Card to the non-business version. The personal platinum card comes with an annual travel credit of $200, but it also has a higher annual fee of $699. Once you factor in that credit, you could argue that both cards have the same annual fee of $499.

The earn rate on the Personal Platinum Card is 3 points per $1 spent on dining, 2 points per $1 spent on travel, and 1 point per $1 spent on all other purchases. As you can see, the personal card earns you more points on dining and travel, but if the majority of your expenses don’t fall into those categories, the Amex Platinum Business card would earn you more points.

Although not exactly the same, I think it’s worth mentioning the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Business Card for comparison purposes. With this card, you’ll earn 1.5 points per dollar spent. While the earn rate is higher, Scene+ points aren’t as flexible as American Express Membership Rewards. That said, the card has no foreign transaction fees which is ideal for business owners that make a lot of US dollar purchases.

Final thoughts

My American Express Business Platinum Canada review is positive. Despite the $500 annual fee, this card is ideal for people in the following situations:

  • You have a business – This card is designed for business owners and gives a straight 1.25 points per dollar spent on all purchases
  • You want a huge welcome bonus – The American Express Platinum Business Card usually has one of the highest welcome bonuses but also comes with a huge minimum spend requirement.
  • You want a lot of travel perks – You get hotel status and unlimited lounge access with this card.

I should mention that when you use my referral link as a friend, you typically get an increased welcome bonus. With all the travel benefits included, this card makes my list of the best travel credit cards in Canada.

About Barry Choi

Barry Choi is a Toronto-based personal finance and travel expert who frequently makes media appearances. His blog Money We Have is one of Canada’s most trusted sources when it comes to money and travel. You can find him on Twitter:@barrychoi

41 Comments

  1. Eric Lange on April 19, 2018 at 8:37 PM

    i hit a record in the month of month with 354,000 worth of spending on my american corporate platinum card, the 442,500 points will be used to fly staff for trade and consumer shows where we supervise the set up and tear down, and the movement of the freight into the facility. good example i flew to edmonton on Tuesday using 25,000 points round trip and some $87 for hst tax, i then finished the job in less than 4 hours, was able to go back to the airport, call aeroplan and for $100 change my flight from wednesday back to the tuesday, as i made the 5:45 flight from edmonton to toronto, now saved my having to book a hotel, and that would have cost at least $129 for a reasonable budget 3 star hotel,.
    i also used the priory club pass to get entre into the lounge in the morning, having breakfast, took a sandwich for my lunch, and a apple and orange for snacks during the day. Then used the same priory club membership for the first class lounge in Edmonton to have a great dinner, and a free beer before boarding my flight back to Toronto, my food expense for the day was $0 for the entire day…. My total expense was $87 for the hst on the free ticket, , car rental $61, gas was $21, then the change fee of $100, so for approx. $260 of total expense i flew to Edmonton, got the job done, that will provide us with approx $5,000 worth of revenue over the next 9 months, as we unloaded an important storage account into our warehouse that is normally not manned until we get a request for someone needed services in that facility, and i just didn’t trust my local guy to take care of it properly, so hence my quick trip.. Great decision to get it done.. thanks American Express !! i wouldn’t have done the job if i had to pay for an airline ticket and other normal expenses for that trip..
    Eric

  2. […] Membership Rewards points by calling customer service. For more details about this card, read my American Express Business Platinum card review […]

  3. Patrick M Sullivan on September 24, 2018 at 12:03 AM

    Can you claim the yearly membership fee as a business expense?

    • Barry Choi on September 24, 2018 at 7:48 AM

      Hi Patrick,

      Assuming you use this card for business expenses, then yes. That being said, if you use the card for 80% business and 20% personal, you can only claim 80% of the fee as a business expense.

  4. Chris on November 24, 2018 at 6:16 AM

    This review is inaccurate. The Amex Business Platinum benefits are significantly different than the Amex Platinum. There’s no $200 flight credit with the Business card and no membership in Hilton Gold, among other things.

    • Barry Choi on November 24, 2018 at 6:52 AM

      Chris,

      Thanks for catching that, I’ve update the article

  5. Viv on January 13, 2019 at 12:07 PM

    “If you’re looking to earn points fast, it likely makes more sense to apply for the American Express Platinum card”.

    Can you explain why this statement is true, seeing as the introductory bonus for the business card is higher than that of the Amex Platinum and the earn rate for both of them are the same (1.25 per $). Am I missing something here.

    BTW, I already have the Amex Platinum but am looking at ways to boost my points quickly.

    • Barry Choi on January 13, 2019 at 12:11 PM

      Hey Viv,

      That’s a line I put in BEFORE they changed the sign up bonus so I need to remove that.

      If you want to earn Amex MR points and you already have the Platinum, then get the business platinum card. If you already have both, there’s just the Gold cards and the Cobalt card left.

      What type of points are you trying to earn quickly? Amex MR or do you want to convert to something else?

  6. […] best card to compare the American Express Gold Business card is the American Express Platinum Business card. Both have similar features, but the Platinum card gives you 3 points per $1 spent on restaurants, […]

  7. Ty on March 18, 2019 at 11:05 AM

    Barry, is this offer still valid with Amex to sign-up for the Business Platinum and get 75,000 points if you spend $7,000.00 in the first three months? Thank you!

  8. Samantha on May 9, 2019 at 1:03 PM

    Although this looks like a promising card, I have 2 problems with it. First AMEX is not as widely accepted as Visa/Mastercard, and second I would never pay $700 yearly fee for a credit card.

    • Barry Choi on May 9, 2019 at 2:53 PM

      Samantha,

      This card has an annual fee of $500, the regular version is $700. For many people that is indeed steep, but the benefits included such as unlimited lounge access makes this card appealing for many people.

  9. Sensei on June 4, 2019 at 10:35 PM

    Hi Barry, i am up for my personal platinum renewal after the first year. I can’t seem to self refer me to Business platinum. Is it true personal platinum can’t refer to business? i’m also sitting on the fence if I should apply for (using a referral link) the business platinum, as I need the travel benefits (lounge access and travel insurance).

    should I renew personal platinum (with a 5k MR point retention offer) or sign up for $499 w/ $7 spend in the first 3months with the business platinum. which one would you recommend? Thanks

    • Barry Choi on June 5, 2019 at 7:41 AM

      Sensei,

      Send me an e-mail and I give you some advice on the self-referral.

  10. John on June 17, 2019 at 11:57 PM

    Hi Barry,

    I am on the same boat as Sensei, can you give me some advice too.

    Thanks

    • Barry Choi on June 18, 2019 at 12:05 AM

      John,

      Send me an email via my contact form and we’ll chat.

  11. Jen on August 4, 2019 at 8:44 PM

    Hi Barry,
    Do I need to pay for the annual fee for the first year? Or is it free with a referral?

    Thanks

    • Barry Choi on August 4, 2019 at 9:09 PM

      Hi Jen,

      The annual fee of $499 still applies. There is no way to get it waived. Note that the signup bonus of 75k points when using a referral link is worth more than $499.

  12. Eran Oz on September 17, 2019 at 12:27 PM

    tried submitting an application twice using your referral link with no success.

  13. don on October 31, 2019 at 7:31 PM

    Are you getting any compensation for this recommendation.

    • Barry Choi on October 31, 2019 at 7:48 PM

      Don,

      I get 10,000 points if you use my referral link but I receive no other compensation. As mentioned in my post, you can use the regular offer if you prefer, but you’ll earn 35,000 fewer points as a welcome bonus.

  14. Josh on November 22, 2019 at 12:44 PM

    I just got my Business Platinum and there was a note inside the package that says the Small Business Disability Plan is discontinued and no longer available on the card. You should update this page.

    • Barry Choi on November 22, 2019 at 4:50 PM

      Josh,

      Thanks for the heads up, I’ve made the changes.

  15. Valerie March on November 25, 2019 at 6:17 PM

    I’m trying to decide between the Amex business platinum card and the scotia Passport Visa Infinite card. I’m not happy about the $499/yr fee and the fact that the trip cancellation insurance is limited to $1500/person. What foreign exchange rate is charged on this card? I believe the rewards with Scotia are superior at 2 points for every dollar spent on restaurants, groceries, etc. Your thoughts would be appreciated.

  16. AMISH TANGRI on April 21, 2020 at 1:23 PM

    Is this link is still valid as of Apr 21, 2020
    75,000 Membership Rewards points sign up bonus when using a referral link. Do i have save screen shot of it, in case Amex does not give me 75k points after spending 7k in first 3 moths
    Pls. advise

    • Barry Choi on April 21, 2020 at 1:26 PM

      Amish,

      Yes, it’s still valid. When you click the link, you’ll clearly see the 75K offer via a referral offer on the American Express page before you continue with your application. There’s no need to screenshot anything.

  17. AMISH TANGRI on April 21, 2020 at 1:40 PM

    Hi Barry,

    Pls. re-send me link, I like to apply today

  18. Joe on May 29, 2022 at 5:16 PM

    “ Get $40 credit on mobile service providers when you spend at least $40 (up to 4 times)
    $250 credit at Dell when you spend at least $250
    $5 credit when you spend $10 at participating small businesses
    $45 credit when you spend $45 at FedEx (Up to 6 times)
    10% credit of total purchase price at Dell up to $1,000
    $30 credit when you spend at least $150 at Dollarama”

    Hello. I don’t see anything regarding the above credits listed on the business platinum site.

    Where are these credits?

    Thanks

    • Barry Choi on May 29, 2022 at 9:13 PM

      Hi Joe,

      Those were old offers that the Amex Platinum Business had. Retail offers change frequently.

  19. sebastian on December 14, 2022 at 11:11 AM

    This review sucks (as does the card)!
    1) no mentioning of the 2.5% forex fee which is downright brazen (given the annual fee of the card)
    2) It gets you in many lounges BUT NOT in Air Canada Maple leaf lounges – which might be interesting for Canadians…

    • Barry Choi on December 14, 2022 at 1:06 PM

      Sebastian,

      So what you’re looking for is a credit card in Canada with no foreign exchange fees, and access to EVERY lounge network?

      No such thing exists.

  20. sebastian on December 14, 2022 at 1:33 PM

    Nice try.
    Both factors are significant disadvantages for travelling Canadians. And these need to be mentioned.
    And there are cards that do better in this field.
    So, do your research and don’t try to blame me.

    • Barry Choi on December 14, 2022 at 1:47 PM

      Okay,

      But credit cards that give you Maple Leaf Lounge Access have an annual fee of $599 and only a few visits other lounges, so you get less lounge access.

      As for the no fx fee business card, there’s only the Scotiabank Passport Visa Infinite Business Card which gives you just 6 lounge visits.

      • sebastian on December 14, 2022 at 2:37 PM

        dig deeper. both times you are wrong.

        • Sebasstian on February 7, 2023 at 12:25 PM

          Lol, Sebastian. Claiming someone is wrong and saying to “dig deeper” while not providing a single example of card with no forex fees and greater lounge access (let alone unlimited access).

          Quit being a troll and go start your own blog in the land of make belief.

Leave a Comment





Get a FREE copy of Travel Hacking for Lazy People

Subscribe now to get your FREE eBook and learn how to travel in luxury for less